Engraving .dxf

Place to discuss only the "Design Sharing" aspects of the eCabinet Systems software.

Moderators: Jason Susnjara, Clint Buechlein

Chayne Stallbaumer
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri, May 30 2008, 9:47AM

Engraving .dxf

Postby Chayne Stallbaumer » Mon, Aug 02 2010, 10:17AM

I'm trying to route a headstone for a fellow co-worker. Since there is so much information in the ecabs file, it locks the cnc up everytime I try and load it. We have had this problem before and have left the machine trying to load and it eventually does load, hours later. How can we make this quicker? I know that you can load a .dxf file straight to the machine and run it that way. I don't know everything about it though. I have a .dxf I made in AutoCad, but I don't really know how to take it straight to the machine and run it. The other problem is that the piece of wood we are going to put it on is 5" thick. We are not trying to cut it out, simply just trying to engrave it. Any help and ideas would be greatly appreciated! Thanks for you time.
Chayne Stallbaumer
Cabinets, Counters & More
St. Joseph, MO 64506
(816)233-4830

User avatar
George Davidson
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 1585
Joined: Tue, May 17 2005, 1:16PM
Location: Norwood Pa.

Re: Engraving .dxf

Postby George Davidson » Mon, Aug 02 2010, 2:17PM

Hi Chayne
Could you post the DXF from AutoCad I would like to look at it

Chayne Stallbaumer
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri, May 30 2008, 9:47AM

Re: Engraving .dxf

Postby Chayne Stallbaumer » Tue, Aug 03 2010, 9:03AM

George,
How do I upload it? Everytime I try to attach it, it tells me "The extension dxf is not allowed".
Thanks
Chayne

User avatar
George Davidson
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 1585
Joined: Tue, May 17 2005, 1:16PM
Location: Norwood Pa.

Re: Engraving .dxf

Postby George Davidson » Tue, Aug 03 2010, 1:24PM

What you would need to do is put the DXFin a Zip File then it will work.


Return to “Design Sharing”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 1 guest