How do I stop being thick?

Moderators: Jason Susnjara, Larry Epplin, Clint Buechlein, Scott G Vaal

User avatar
Neville Bastian
Guru Member
Posts: 598
Joined: Fri, May 20 2005, 6:48PM
Company Name: Classic Cabinetry
Location: Albany Western Australia
Contact:

How do I stop being thick?

Postby Neville Bastian » Wed, Jun 06 2018, 7:15PM

With Dimesions display could the need for inches or metric symbols (" or mm) be a option toggle in settings. I think you are either a inch person or a mm person then there maybe some with a foot in each camp. The reason being is its pretty crowded with all those sizes happening so dumbing it down without the mm or " would be a advantage in many cases.

Is there a setting where you can pick the colours on the dimesions? I mean the arrow,line and dimension? Can you adjust the arrow line thickness?
There is no title block option yet is there? This would be an advantage for many people.

Hope all is well in the land of the free.

Regards


Neville
Neville Australia

Donald Thomson
Guru Member
Posts: 718
Joined: Thu, May 14 2009, 11:41PM
Company Name: Diamond Lake Custom Woodworks
Location: Newport, WA
Contact:

Re: How do I stop being thick?

Postby Donald Thomson » Thu, Jun 07 2018, 9:42AM

I switch back and forth between inches (my native measurement) and metric all the time in the settings dialog. Many hardware settings are done in metric. Other things are done in inches. It would be nice to have a "toggle" to switch back and forth no matter where you are in the program. Yes the "mm" after a number is very convenient.

Things are ok in the land of the free. However, those freedoms are being picked away a little at a time. In some states, freedoms are being lost at an alarming rate. :(
Sincerely,

Don Thomson
Diamond Lake Custom Woodworks, LLC
509-671-6230
Newport, WA
http://www.dlwoodworks.com

User avatar
Neville Bastian
Guru Member
Posts: 598
Joined: Fri, May 20 2005, 6:48PM
Company Name: Classic Cabinetry
Location: Albany Western Australia
Contact:

Re: How do I stop being thick?

Postby Neville Bastian » Thu, Jun 07 2018, 10:31PM

Thanks Donald. Looks like I wont climb that wall then.
I was hoping to have MM toggle off or on in settings. The long wall lengths go to Meters which we don't use here in Oz. No big deal but no advantage.

Thanks to the programmers for this feature. It must have been a difficult one to do.

Regards Neville
Neville Australia

User avatar
Jeremy Schiffer
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 992
Joined: Tue, May 10 2005, 9:36PM
Location: Carnesville, GA
Contact:

Re: How do I stop being thick?

Postby Jeremy Schiffer » Fri, Jun 08 2018, 8:00AM

Hi Neville! If you right-click in the custom layout and click Custom Layout Parameters, there is a checkbox for "Show Dimensions in MM Only"... that was pretty recently added. This applies to the Custom Layout and the Line Drawing areas. It then won't display large dimensions in meters. :wink:
http://www.corlanecabinetry.com

Intel Core i7-5820 3.3GHz, 16GB RAM, NVidia Quadro K2200 4GB, Windows 8.1 Pro 64 bit

User avatar
Brad McIntosh
Guru Member
Posts: 510
Joined: Wed, May 18 2005, 6:59PM
Company Name: CNC Automation
Location: St. Zotique, Québec, Canada
Contact:

Re: How do I stop being thick?

Postby Brad McIntosh » Fri, Jun 08 2018, 8:34AM

Neville asked: "How do I stop being thick?"

Well it depends on what you mean by "thick".

Either:
  • Interpretation #1: You go on a diet.
  • Interpretation #2: You read more and perhaps go back to school.

:joker:

User avatar
Neville Bastian
Guru Member
Posts: 598
Joined: Fri, May 20 2005, 6:48PM
Company Name: Classic Cabinetry
Location: Albany Western Australia
Contact:

Re: How do I stop being thick?

Postby Neville Bastian » Mon, Jun 11 2018, 4:47AM

Thanks Brad, I apprecate those words of encouragement and wonder how you hacked my computer cam. I do indeed need to go on a diet but easier said than done. I do need to keep on learning and thats the advantage of this forum.
Looks like I cant get around changing the dimension line density so I will have to remain thick.

I hope the programmers have some tweaks coming up. You probably know what they have on their white board in the skunk works room. Are you willing to spill the beans?


Regards


Neville
Neville Australia

Clint Buechlein
Thermwood Team
Posts: 297
Joined: Fri, May 15 2015, 1:21PM
Company Name: Thermwood Corp
Country: UNITED STATES

Re: How do I stop being thick?

Postby Clint Buechlein » Wed, Jun 13 2018, 11:19AM

Neville Bastian wrote:Thanks Brad, I apprecate those words of encouragement and wonder how you hacked my computer cam. I do indeed need to go on a diet but easier said than done. I do need to keep on learning and thats the advantage of this forum.
Looks like I cant get around changing the dimension line density so I will have to remain thick.

I hope the programmers have some tweaks coming up. You probably know what they have on their white board in the skunk works room. Are you willing to spill the beans?


Regards


Neville


Brad knows what happened the last time he let the world know....And he knows better now.

:joker:

Kidding aside I'll add your requests to the list.

-Clint-

Mark McCallum
Guru Member
Posts: 282
Joined: Thu, Jun 16 2005, 7:53PM
Location: Sydney Aust

Re: How do I stop being thick?

Postby Mark McCallum » Tue, Jun 19 2018, 7:53AM

Yes. We are a plus 1on this as well.
There is no need for mm or m symbols and no need for coma's or decimal points for anything over a meter.

Just a question is anyone else getting the error as in the drawing below? The 1.0407 should read 1040 and the 1.2102 should read 1210
I think it is including the rounding as well.

cabinet sizes.JPG

We are try to convert over to use ecabs as our one stop shop drawing program, but we are still undecided
Below is the type of drawing we put into the shop at the moment, Its a lot of drawing time and yet on custom stuff it really helps to cut down on errors.
Clear easy to read drawings save money

Sizing.jpg


Hey Neville
Move to NSW. 8) I'm sure I am smarter than i was before. I'm telling you I have a 10% higher IQ because I moved here, it went from 45 to 55............ hmmmmm I got that wrong as well didn't I? :lol: :lol:

Thomas strembitsky
Senior Member
Posts: 228
Joined: Fri, Jul 27 2012, 12:30PM
Company Name: true form cabinets
Country: CANADA
Contact:

Re: How do I stop being thick?

Postby Thomas strembitsky » Tue, Jun 19 2018, 11:02AM

I cant help with getting rid of decimals but inside the custom layout area if you right click and go to custom layout parameters you can check a box to have it show dimension in mm only
mm.PNG
Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6400 @ 2.70GHz 8.00 GB RAM
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 950
Windows 10 Professional 64-bit
http://www.trueform.ca
CS43 cnc

User avatar
Neville Bastian
Guru Member
Posts: 598
Joined: Fri, May 20 2005, 6:48PM
Company Name: Classic Cabinetry
Location: Albany Western Australia
Contact:

Re: How do I stop being thick?

Postby Neville Bastian » Tue, Jun 19 2018, 10:23PM

Hi Mark,
Thanks for your input.
I do like your example print. Does seem less cluttered than Ecabinets. I am sure my request has made to the white board or on the wall under the white board. Mark I am not sure your drawing would be much good at my shop. Everyone would have to lay on their side to read it. :D
Thanks for the right click trick with Ecabinets Thomas.
Neville Australia

Mark McCallum
Guru Member
Posts: 282
Joined: Thu, Jun 16 2005, 7:53PM
Location: Sydney Aust

Re: How do I stop being thick?

Postby Mark McCallum » Wed, Jun 20 2018, 4:46AM

Thanks Thomas, good tip,
For metric users though, if I was using meters it still reads wrong.
If you wish to display comas, 12102 should be 1210.2 or even 1,210.2

Al dedenus
Guru Member
Posts: 269
Joined: Sun, Apr 29 2007, 8:53PM
Company Name: Creative Kitchens and Interior
Country: NEW ZEALAND
Location: Tauranga New Zealand

Re: How do I stop being thick?

Postby Al dedenus » Fri, Jun 22 2018, 7:47PM

hey Mark ,how did you change the arrows to a 45degree tick mark ? Cant find it anywhere in drafting parameters

Mark McCallum
Guru Member
Posts: 282
Joined: Thu, Jun 16 2005, 7:53PM
Location: Sydney Aust

Re: How do I stop being thick?

Postby Mark McCallum » Wed, Jun 27 2018, 7:09PM

Hi Al
I wish I had special knowledge on how to do that.
As far as I know, it just came out of the box set that way.
Perhaps its a default setting depending on which version of windows we are using?
Dimension settings.JPG

The only settings I can think of that affect arrows, is in the line drawing editor as per the above image
Perhaps someone else can shed a light on it. :?

Al dedenus
Guru Member
Posts: 269
Joined: Sun, Apr 29 2007, 8:53PM
Company Name: Creative Kitchens and Interior
Country: NEW ZEALAND
Location: Tauranga New Zealand

Re: How do I stop being thick?

Postby Al dedenus » Sat, Jun 30 2018, 3:23PM

thanks Mark
Just realized your drawing was auto dimension in custom layout
I was referring to the LDE. Shame we don't have the option of tick lines rather than arrows there...


Return to “eCabinet Systems Software”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 20 guests