Windows 7 & Ecabs

Moderators: Jason Susnjara, Larry Epplin, Clint Buechlein, Scott G Vaal

David Norton
Guru Member
Posts: 710
Joined: Thu, May 19 2005, 11:01AM
Company Name: Custom Trim and Millwork
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Lawrenceburg,Tennessee

Windows 7 & Ecabs

Postby David Norton » Fri, Oct 23 2009, 3:51PM

JUst received my copies of Win7 home. Apparently if you are upgrading from XP you have to do a clean install
of win 7. Which means reinstalling all of my software, including Ecabs. The question I have is will I need a
new registration code?
Dave Norton

Joe Harkin
Senior Member
Posts: 115
Joined: Wed, Oct 11 2006, 2:14PM
Location: w. CT

Re: Windows 7 & Ecabs

Postby Joe Harkin » Fri, Oct 23 2009, 7:19PM

A bigger question may be WILL ECAB RUN UNDER Win7 ? :? :?

User avatar
Dean Fehribach
Site Admin
Posts: 482
Joined: Mon, May 09 2005, 2:10PM
Company Name: Thermwood Corporation
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Thermwood

Re: Windows 7 & Ecabs

Postby Dean Fehribach » Sat, Oct 24 2009, 8:36AM

In testing, Windows 7 has been very positive, both for v5 and v6 Beta.
Dean Fehribach
I.S. Mgr., Thermwood
Dell Workstation T1650 / XEON E3 / 8GB RAM / 1GB nVidia Quadro 600 / Windows 8 Pro x64

David Norton
Guru Member
Posts: 710
Joined: Thu, May 19 2005, 11:01AM
Company Name: Custom Trim and Millwork
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Lawrenceburg,Tennessee

Re: Windows 7 & Ecabs

Postby David Norton » Sat, Oct 24 2009, 11:58AM

But will I need another registration code?
Dave Norton

User avatar
Dean Fehribach
Site Admin
Posts: 482
Joined: Mon, May 09 2005, 2:10PM
Company Name: Thermwood Corporation
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Thermwood

Re: Windows 7 & Ecabs

Postby Dean Fehribach » Sun, Oct 25 2009, 4:39PM

Yes. Changing the Operating System will force a new registration code.
Dean Fehribach
I.S. Mgr., Thermwood
Dell Workstation T1650 / XEON E3 / 8GB RAM / 1GB nVidia Quadro 600 / Windows 8 Pro x64

David Norton
Guru Member
Posts: 710
Joined: Thu, May 19 2005, 11:01AM
Company Name: Custom Trim and Millwork
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Lawrenceburg,Tennessee

Re: Windows 7 & Ecabs

Postby David Norton » Mon, Oct 26 2009, 8:15AM

Thx Dean.
Dave Norton

Wally Schneeberger
Guru Member
Posts: 473
Joined: Tue, May 17 2005, 1:55PM

Re: Windows 7 & Ecabs

Postby Wally Schneeberger » Mon, Oct 26 2009, 9:11AM

I see from the adverts that Win 7 Pro will run programs in Win XP mode. Also both 32 & 64 bit.
Image

User avatar
Georgi Baltov
Guru Member
Posts: 341
Joined: Sat, Mar 10 2007, 7:31PM
Company Name: Top Notch Cabinets
Country: CANADA
Location: Oakville, Ontario
Contact:

Re: Windows 7 & Ecabs

Postby Georgi Baltov » Mon, Oct 26 2009, 11:44AM

I've been running Windows 7 RC for about 4 months now and it is great. It's stable and probably as fast as not even faster than XP. Too bad that Microsoft released the Vista at all. It completely messed up their already shaky customer satisfaction. I wish I never bought my computer with Vista.

Rick Palechuk
Wizard Member
Posts: 1896
Joined: Wed, May 18 2005, 7:54PM
Company Name: Milltech Millworks Ltd.
Country: CANADA
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Contact:

Re: Windows 7 & Ecabs

Postby Rick Palechuk » Mon, Oct 26 2009, 10:15PM

Georgi, are you running V5 on W7RC?

User avatar
Georgi Baltov
Guru Member
Posts: 341
Joined: Sat, Mar 10 2007, 7:31PM
Company Name: Top Notch Cabinets
Country: CANADA
Location: Oakville, Ontario
Contact:

Re: Windows 7 & Ecabs

Postby Georgi Baltov » Tue, Oct 27 2009, 12:31PM

Rick, I haven't tried it yet. But considering my boss wants to upgrade to W7 I will try it. Windows 7 64 runs both 32 and 64 bit programs and I haven't had trouble with anything that runs on XP and doesn't run on 7. I will try and let you know.

Rick Palechuk
Wizard Member
Posts: 1896
Joined: Wed, May 18 2005, 7:54PM
Company Name: Milltech Millworks Ltd.
Country: CANADA
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Contact:

Re: Windows 7 & Ecabs

Postby Rick Palechuk » Tue, Oct 27 2009, 10:49PM

Georgi, I've been running RC for a while now, I like it too. So far it seems to be pretty solid. I'm running my 2006 cad program without any problems.

Robin Thompson
New Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun, Oct 09 2005, 1:39PM

Re: Windows 7 & Ecabs

Postby Robin Thompson » Thu, Nov 26 2009, 2:39AM

I have been running Ecabs on W7 Pro and not one problem has reared its ugly head. :D

User avatar
Peter Walsh
Guru Member
Posts: 460
Joined: Thu, May 19 2005, 3:15PM
Location: Palm Springs, Ca
Contact:

Re: Windows 7 & Ecabs

Postby Peter Walsh » Thu, Nov 26 2009, 3:28PM

Robin,
Did install the 64 bit version?
regards,


Return to “eCabinet Systems Software”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 15 guests