Can You

Moderators: Jason Susnjara, Larry Epplin, Clint Buechlein, Scott G Vaal

User avatar
Gary Puckett
Wizard Member
Posts: 1324
Joined: Mon, May 19 2008, 1:39PM
Company Name: The Woodworkery
Location: Saint Charles, Missouri
Contact:

Can You

Postby Gary Puckett » Sat, Oct 31 2009, 7:46AM

Is it possible to change the default setting for the depth of a dado and keep that as the new default setting? For instance the default setting for the depth of a dado is 3/8" all my cabinets are assembled using dados but I only go to a depth of 1/4". I have went in and changed the depth and applied it but when I check it when I do a new cabinet it is back to 3/8. Come on you can always change the default settings


Gary
HP Pavilion
Vista home Premium 64bit S. pack 2
AMD Phenom-X4
9850 Quad-Core Processor
6.0GB/Go Memory
1 TB/To Hard Drive
Nividia GeForce 9800 GT

Nick M Singer
Guru Member
Posts: 828
Joined: Fri, Jun 17 2005, 12:23AM
Location: South Africa

Re: Can You

Postby Nick M Singer » Sat, Oct 31 2009, 9:19AM

Gary effectively you can if you create a standard unit with those settings and then save it. Any cab created from it will have your standard dado settings from then on.

User avatar
Gary Puckett
Wizard Member
Posts: 1324
Joined: Mon, May 19 2008, 1:39PM
Company Name: The Woodworkery
Location: Saint Charles, Missouri
Contact:

Re: Can You

Postby Gary Puckett » Sat, Oct 31 2009, 9:39AM

Nick,

Thanks for the reply . Then why is there an apply button.

Gary
HP Pavilion
Vista home Premium 64bit S. pack 2
AMD Phenom-X4
9850 Quad-Core Processor
6.0GB/Go Memory
1 TB/To Hard Drive
Nividia GeForce 9800 GT

User avatar
Kerry Fullington
Wizard Member
Posts: 4566
Joined: Mon, May 09 2005, 7:33PM
Company Name: ProSource of Amarillo
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Amarillo, TX

Re: Can You

Postby Kerry Fullington » Sat, Oct 31 2009, 11:28AM

Gary,

Open your cabinet in the cab editor,
Open Construction settings and click on the global settings tab
Enter 1/4" in the Dado Settings Depth tab
Click OK to exit construction settings
Save your cabinet
Now when you open this cabinet and go to the construction parameters for any part the depth will be 1/4"

Repeat for all cabinets.

Kerry

User avatar
Dean Fehribach
Site Admin
Posts: 482
Joined: Mon, May 09 2005, 2:10PM
Company Name: Thermwood Corporation
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Thermwood

Re: Can You

Postby Dean Fehribach » Mon, Nov 02 2009, 9:48AM

Forum etiquette dictates a more descriptive Subject when starting a new thread. Not a requirement; more of a suggestion.
Dean Fehribach
I.S. Mgr., Thermwood
Dell Workstation T1650 / XEON E3 / 8GB RAM / 1GB nVidia Quadro 600 / Windows 8 Pro x64

Nick M Singer
Guru Member
Posts: 828
Joined: Fri, Jun 17 2005, 12:23AM
Location: South Africa

Re: Can You

Postby Nick M Singer » Mon, Nov 02 2009, 11:03AM

Ja but we knew what he meant Dean!!! " Can you " I mean how much clearer do you need to be, Phhhhtt!

User avatar
Gary Puckett
Wizard Member
Posts: 1324
Joined: Mon, May 19 2008, 1:39PM
Company Name: The Woodworkery
Location: Saint Charles, Missouri
Contact:

Re: Can You

Postby Gary Puckett » Mon, Nov 02 2009, 11:22AM

Dean,

I respecfully would like to know why you replied to a simple title of a post, rather than the question.


Gary
HP Pavilion
Vista home Premium 64bit S. pack 2
AMD Phenom-X4
9850 Quad-Core Processor
6.0GB/Go Memory
1 TB/To Hard Drive
Nividia GeForce 9800 GT

User avatar
Dean Fehribach
Site Admin
Posts: 482
Joined: Mon, May 09 2005, 2:10PM
Company Name: Thermwood Corporation
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Thermwood

Re: Can You

Postby Dean Fehribach » Mon, Nov 02 2009, 11:55AM

Gary Puckett wrote:I respecfully would like to know why you replied to a simple title of a post, rather than the question.

Because I didn't even bother to read the O.P. (and still haven't) without a better subject description.
Dean Fehribach
I.S. Mgr., Thermwood
Dell Workstation T1650 / XEON E3 / 8GB RAM / 1GB nVidia Quadro 600 / Windows 8 Pro x64

User avatar
DanEpps
Wizard Member
Posts: 5852
Joined: Thu, Jul 28 2005, 10:18AM
Company Name: Dan Epps
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Rocky Face GA

Re: Can You

Postby DanEpps » Mon, Nov 02 2009, 12:28PM

Take a look at this PDF from an old thread in the forum Gary. It is a copy of an article I wrote for the eCabinets Member Magazine some time ago. It applies to ALL forums, not just eCabinets. If you want folks to help, you have to give a subject that makes others want to readyour post and provide enough information so others CAN help.

User avatar
Gary Puckett
Wizard Member
Posts: 1324
Joined: Mon, May 19 2008, 1:39PM
Company Name: The Woodworkery
Location: Saint Charles, Missouri
Contact:

Re: Can You

Postby Gary Puckett » Mon, Nov 02 2009, 9:06PM

Dan,


Thanks for the reply, and thanks to everyone who contributed to the solution to my question. 149 hits minus 4-5 that are mine is not to shabby. How else was I to title the post without writing the whole topic. So I just asked a question in it's simplest form. Dean, I am not trying to beat a dead horse here I just think I was criticized unjustly. Also I thought it was very rude that you stated that you did't even take the time to read the post, based on the title.

Gary
HP Pavilion
Vista home Premium 64bit S. pack 2
AMD Phenom-X4
9850 Quad-Core Processor
6.0GB/Go Memory
1 TB/To Hard Drive
Nividia GeForce 9800 GT

Rick Palechuk
Wizard Member
Posts: 1896
Joined: Wed, May 18 2005, 7:54PM
Company Name: Milltech Millworks Ltd.
Country: CANADA
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Contact:

Re: Can You

Postby Rick Palechuk » Mon, Nov 02 2009, 11:57PM

How bout "Dado Depth" :beer:

User avatar
DanEpps
Wizard Member
Posts: 5852
Joined: Thu, Jul 28 2005, 10:18AM
Company Name: Dan Epps
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Rocky Face GA

Re: Can You

Postby DanEpps » Tue, Nov 03 2009, 6:11AM

Rick Palechuk wrote:How bout "Dado Depth" :beer:


Yep, or "Default Setting for Dado Depth"...anything but "Can You." Can you what--go to the bathroom?

Okay, what does the word "subject" mean? Here is what the dictionary says (color emphasis mine):

sub-ject  /n., adj. ˈsʌbdʒɪkt; v. səbˈdʒɛkt/

–noun
1. that which forms a basic matter of thought, discussion, investigation, etc.: a subject of conversation.
2. a branch of knowledge as a course of study: He studied four subjects in his first year at college.
3. a motive, cause, or ground: a subject for complaint.
4. the theme of a sermon, book, story, etc.
...
Synonyms:
1, 4. Subject, theme, topic are often interchangeable to express the material being considered in a speech or written composition. Subject is a broad word for whatever is treated in writing, speech, art, etc.: the subject for discussion. Theme and topic are usually narrower and apply to some limited or specific part of a general subject. A theme is often the underlying conception of a discourse or composition, perhaps not put into words but easily recognizable: The theme of a need for reform runs throughout her work. A topic is the statement of what is to be treated in a section of a composition: The topic is treated fully in this section. 3. reason, rationale. 17. subordinate, subservient. 20. contingent.



Think about the question you are asking and summarize it in a few words...that is your subject. Its just like writing a short story for English class in middle school...a short summary of the story is the title.

User avatar
Gary Puckett
Wizard Member
Posts: 1324
Joined: Mon, May 19 2008, 1:39PM
Company Name: The Woodworkery
Location: Saint Charles, Missouri
Contact:

Re: Can You

Postby Gary Puckett » Tue, Nov 03 2009, 7:31AM

Dan,

We didn't have middle school, it was grade school and you went from kindergarten to 8th grade :joker: that was back in the day.

Anyway I will be more aware of how I title my post in the future.

Thanks
Gary
HP Pavilion
Vista home Premium 64bit S. pack 2
AMD Phenom-X4
9850 Quad-Core Processor
6.0GB/Go Memory
1 TB/To Hard Drive
Nividia GeForce 9800 GT


Return to “eCabinet Systems Software”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests