Windows 7 and Me!

Moderators: Jason Susnjara, Larry Epplin, Clint Buechlein, Scott G Vaal

David Norton
Guru Member
Posts: 710
Joined: Thu, May 19 2005, 11:01AM
Company Name: Custom Trim and Millwork
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Lawrenceburg,Tennessee

Windows 7 and Me!

Postby David Norton » Sat, Oct 31 2009, 12:54PM

Yesterday I installed Windows 7 on my main P/C. I reinstalled ECabs, downloaded and installed the latest update for Ecabs.
For some reason though Ecabs will not open. It says " This version of Ecabinets has expired." I have tried uninstalling and reinstalling the update to no avail.
Can anyone shed some light as to what I am doing wrong?
Dave Norton

User avatar
DanEpps
Wizard Member
Posts: 5852
Joined: Thu, Jul 28 2005, 10:18AM
Company Name: Dan Epps
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Rocky Face GA

Re: Windows 7 and Me!

Postby DanEpps » Sat, Oct 31 2009, 1:02PM

Did you save the update to the computer before installing it? Running the updates from the download process sometimes causes problems like this.

David Norton
Guru Member
Posts: 710
Joined: Thu, May 19 2005, 11:01AM
Company Name: Custom Trim and Millwork
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Lawrenceburg,Tennessee

Re: Windows 7 and Me!

Postby David Norton » Sat, Oct 31 2009, 1:21PM

The update was saved to my downloads folder and run from there. I even tried copying to Ecabs root directory . I just tried redownloading the update. Nothing seems to work.
Dave Norton

User avatar
DanEpps
Wizard Member
Posts: 5852
Joined: Thu, Jul 28 2005, 10:18AM
Company Name: Dan Epps
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Rocky Face GA

Re: Windows 7 and Me!

Postby DanEpps » Sat, Oct 31 2009, 2:31PM

If Windows 7 is anything like Vista, you have to run the installs (eCabinets and updates) as Administrator and set the exe to always run as Administrator.

David Norton
Guru Member
Posts: 710
Joined: Thu, May 19 2005, 11:01AM
Company Name: Custom Trim and Millwork
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Lawrenceburg,Tennessee

Re: Windows 7 and Me!

Postby David Norton » Sat, Oct 31 2009, 2:47PM

Ok Dan, you got me. I am only one that uses this P/C, so I (assume) that I am administrator. If not how do I make sure programs install that way?
Should I uninstall Ecabs and reinstall? :wall:
Dave Norton

David Norton
Guru Member
Posts: 710
Joined: Thu, May 19 2005, 11:01AM
Company Name: Custom Trim and Millwork
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Lawrenceburg,Tennessee

Re: Windows 7 and Me!

Postby David Norton » Sat, Oct 31 2009, 3:13PM

Well I'll be dipped. I uninstalled the upgrade, then right-clicked and clicked on run as administrator. This time it took.
Thanks Dan :beer:
Dave Norton

User avatar
DanEpps
Wizard Member
Posts: 5852
Joined: Thu, Jul 28 2005, 10:18AM
Company Name: Dan Epps
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Rocky Face GA

Re: Windows 7 and Me!

Postby DanEpps » Sat, Oct 31 2009, 3:18PM

Starting with Vista, admin rights are removed from actual users so you have to explicitly tell programs to "run as administrator." Right-click on the installer file and choose "Run as Administrator." Do this for both the program and the update.

After installing, right-click on ecabinets.exe and set it to always run as administrator.

Here is a link to the post that describes the whole process: http://www.thermwood.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=9294. Be sure to read the PDF from the link in that post.

Ah...I see you found it before I could finish my post. :beer:

David Norton
Guru Member
Posts: 710
Joined: Thu, May 19 2005, 11:01AM
Company Name: Custom Trim and Millwork
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Lawrenceburg,Tennessee

Re: Windows 7 and Me!

Postby David Norton » Sat, Oct 31 2009, 5:56PM

Everything is working fine now thanks again Dan!
Dave Norton


Return to “eCabinet Systems Software”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 12 guests