Windows 7

Moderators: Jason Susnjara, Larry Epplin, Clint Buechlein, Scott G Vaal

Craig Teitsma
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue, Nov 03 2009, 6:43AM
Company Name: Craig Teitmsa Carpentry

Windows 7

Postby Craig Teitsma » Tue, Nov 03 2009, 9:25AM

Hi everyone, I just recieved my copy of Ecabinets in the mail and I am very excited to use it! Question though, I want to buy a new laptop for my wife as our desk top is getting old and slow, but the computers I am looking at run windows 7. I noticed that Ecabintes is "not fully compatible" with windows Vista, what does that mean for Windows 7? Will Ecabinets run? Also, can I print the 3D images off of Ecabints or do they stay on the computer? I would think they are printable.
Thanks,
Craig

User avatar
Dean Fehribach
Site Admin
Posts: 482
Joined: Mon, May 09 2005, 2:10PM
Company Name: Thermwood Corporation
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Thermwood

Re: Windows 7

Postby Dean Fehribach » Tue, Nov 03 2009, 9:27AM

Topic moved to eCabinet Systems forum.
Dean Fehribach
I.S. Mgr., Thermwood
Dell Workstation T1650 / XEON E3 / 8GB RAM / 1GB nVidia Quadro 600 / Windows 8 Pro x64

User avatar
Jason Susnjara
Thermwood Team
Posts: 1722
Joined: Tue, May 10 2005, 1:26PM
Location: Thermwood
Contact:

Re: Windows 7

Postby Jason Susnjara » Tue, Nov 03 2009, 1:55PM

Hi Craig,

Welcome to the eCabinets/Thermwood forum.

As of right now, eCabinets shouldn't have a problem with being installed on a Windows 7 pc. Some members have reported some minor issues with running eCabinets on Vista so the same will probably be the same for W7. We are diligently working on V6 of eCabinets which will be Vista compatible and we are not aware of any issues with W7 as of yet. From my understanding, Vista and W7 are basically the same with changes in the security areas and functionality. There are other members here that will correct me if I am wrong about the differences between Vista and W7. :)
Jason Susnjara
V.P., Marketing
Thermwood Corp.

On YouTube:
http://www.youtube.com/ThermwoodCNC
Thermwood Blog:
http://blog.thermwood.com

David Norton
Guru Member
Posts: 710
Joined: Thu, May 19 2005, 11:01AM
Company Name: Custom Trim and Millwork
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Lawrenceburg,Tennessee

Re: Windows 7

Postby David Norton » Tue, Nov 03 2009, 4:38PM

I have installed Windows 7 and Ecabs on my main P/C. After a minor glitch on the installation of the latest update everything has run just fine.
Make sure you install the update as administrator. Just right click on the excutable file and then from the drop down menu,left click on
"run as administrator". HTH
Dave Norton

martin kelinsky
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue, Nov 03 2009, 10:50PM
Company Name: Palomar

Re: Windows 7

Postby martin kelinsky » Thu, Nov 05 2009, 7:43PM

Well, I did a "clean install" to Windows 7 64 bit so I had to re-install eCabinets from by original eCab 2006 Ver 5 CD in the Administrator'ds account. I entered the new registration code as requested but then the error occured. I received an "ERROR: SEC1011, eCab could not read the window product ID in the Registry".

Since others have successfully installed with Win 7, I wonder if using my 3-year old original CD caused the problem. Perhaps a new/current installation CD might rectify the problem ?? I called Thermwood Support and left a voice message about the issue.

Any suggestions appreciated.

User avatar
DanEpps
Wizard Member
Posts: 5852
Joined: Thu, Jul 28 2005, 10:18AM
Company Name: Dan Epps
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Rocky Face GA

Re: Windows 7

Postby DanEpps » Fri, Nov 06 2009, 6:08AM

You MUST run the install and updates as Administrator and after the install, you MUST run eCabinets.exe as Administrator. Read the pinned post at the top of the forum about Vista installs.

User avatar
Dean Fehribach
Site Admin
Posts: 482
Joined: Mon, May 09 2005, 2:10PM
Company Name: Thermwood Corporation
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Thermwood

Re: Windows 7

Postby Dean Fehribach » Fri, Nov 06 2009, 9:18AM

Dan is correct, especially when using 64-bit Windows XP, 64-bit Windows Vista or 64-bit Windows 7. The Build 5 update of v5.2 takes care of the SEC1011 issue on these 64-bit O/S's.
Dean Fehribach
I.S. Mgr., Thermwood
Dell Workstation T1650 / XEON E3 / 8GB RAM / 1GB nVidia Quadro 600 / Windows 8 Pro x64

martin kelinsky
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue, Nov 03 2009, 10:50PM
Company Name: Palomar

Re: Windows 7

Postby martin kelinsky » Fri, Nov 06 2009, 3:36PM

Well gentlemen, as mentioned in my original post, I did the install from the Administrators account and then entered my replacement Registration Code.
Since I only have my original 2006 Ver 5 (Build 10) CD and since it wouldn't run without the SEC1011 error, I couldn't get any updates to a newer version.

I'll re-contact eCab support and request a newer installation CD.

User avatar
DanEpps
Wizard Member
Posts: 5852
Joined: Thu, Jul 28 2005, 10:18AM
Company Name: Dan Epps
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Rocky Face GA

Re: Windows 7

Postby DanEpps » Fri, Nov 06 2009, 4:21PM

martin kelinsky wrote:Well gentlemen, as mentioned in my original post, I did the install from the Administrators account and then entered my replacement Registration Code.
Since I only have my original 2006 Ver 5 (Build 10) CD and since it wouldn't run without the SEC1011 error, I couldn't get any updates to a newer version.

I'll re-contact eCab support and request a newer installation CD.


Did you right-click the installer and choose "Run as Administrator" and did you do the same thing for the latest update? Also, after installing, did you right-click ecabinets.exe and choose "Always run as Administrator?"

User avatar
Peter Walsh
Guru Member
Posts: 460
Joined: Thu, May 19 2005, 3:15PM
Location: Palm Springs, Ca
Contact:

Re: Windows 7

Postby Peter Walsh » Sat, Nov 07 2009, 2:00PM

Hey Dan,
How are you doing? Nice to see you back on the forum!
regards,

Daniel Vonderheide
Thermwood Team
Posts: 358
Joined: Wed, May 17 2006, 11:25AM
Location: Thermwood

Re: Windows 7

Postby Daniel Vonderheide » Mon, Nov 09 2009, 10:07AM

martin kelinsky wrote:Well gentlemen, as mentioned in my original post, I did the install from the Administrators account and then entered my replacement Registration Code.
Since I only have my original 2006 Ver 5 (Build 10) CD and since it wouldn't run without the SEC1011 error, I couldn't get any updates to a newer version.

I'll re-contact eCab support and request a newer installation CD.


If you are installing from an older cd onto a 64 bit system you must download and install the latest update BEFORE you try opening the software. The latest updates will have the 64 bit patch built into them. Basically you will install from the cd as an administrator, download the update from the website, run the update as an administrator, and then open the software to register it. Hope this helps.

martin kelinsky
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue, Nov 03 2009, 10:50PM
Company Name: Palomar

Re: Windows 7 FIXED

Postby martin kelinsky » Mon, Nov 09 2009, 1:14PM

Just to close the discussion as it may help others.

Support advised me of an Installing eCabinets in VISTA PDF that I was unaware of. eCabinets is now running perfectly in Windows 7 64 Bit after re-installing according to the detailed steps.


Return to “eCabinet Systems Software”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests