Messy data placement on upgrade to V6

Moderators: Jason Susnjara, Larry Epplin, Clint Buechlein, Scott G Vaal

User avatar
Peter Walsh
Guru Member
Posts: 460
Joined: Thu, May 19 2005, 3:15PM
Location: Palm Springs, Ca
Contact:

Messy data placement on upgrade to V6

Postby Peter Walsh » Sat, Jan 16 2010, 1:38PM

I upgraded to V6.
My computer is organized with multiple drives and all my programs are on Drive D including the recent upgrade. Only my operating system is on Drive C.
I always direct program installs to go to drive D. It appears all the programs went where they were supposed to go.
However, I discovered in looking at my eCab "Settings and Preferences" that my User Data Path got loaded to:
c:\documents and settings\all users\documents\thermwood\ecabinet systems. Not cool.
Can I just move all this stuff over to where it belongs and overwrite what is on my Drive D without losing anything, as well as just change the address in my settings?
regards,

Glenn Warner
Senior Member
Posts: 151
Joined: Wed, May 18 2005, 10:00AM
Company Name: Expressions in Wood
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: FLEMINGTON

Re: Messy data placement on upgrade to V6

Postby Glenn Warner » Sun, Jan 17 2010, 12:10PM

There is a new option in the preferences/ settings tab that allows you to specify where your user files are located. Shouldn't have to move anything, just point to the existing folder. If you want to merge the new stuff a move may be required.

User avatar
Peter Walsh
Guru Member
Posts: 460
Joined: Thu, May 19 2005, 3:15PM
Location: Palm Springs, Ca
Contact:

Re: Messy data placement on upgrade to V6

Postby Peter Walsh » Sun, Jan 17 2010, 1:16PM

Glenn,
This all happened as a result of the upgrade, and I never got asked during that process about where I wanted data files to go. I assumed the upgrade would copy these onto the drive I specified for the upgrade, but it did so only partially, putting the datafiles on Drive C as a default. That's a messy upgrade. I found the option you mention, but that appears after all the upgrade has finished loading the new V6 cab files on the wrong drive.

I will move the files manually and write over after backing up.


Return to “eCabinet Systems Software”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests