v6 is slower on my computer

Moderators: Jason Susnjara, Larry Epplin, Clint Buechlein, Scott G Vaal

Rick Deskins
Thermwood Team
Posts: 828
Joined: Tue, May 17 2005, 12:47PM
Company Name: Thermwood
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Thermwood

Re: v6 is slower on my computer

Postby Rick Deskins » Wed, Jan 27 2010, 4:55PM

"To anyone working on this problem, I implore you to please bring any solutions out quickly. Getting designs/proposals out is killing me. I can't get out to the shop floor to do any income producing work. Any suggestions for interim solutions is appreciated. Thanks, David"

If this is the case, you need to reinstall v52 and wait for the next build of V6. You can call support if you need help doing this. A lot has changed in V6 and it does take some time to learn the new features. Once you do learn the new features, your productivity will improve. Now, I'm not saying there is not some performance problems in Build1 that needs to be addresss.

Thanks
Rick Deskins
eCabinet Systems Programmer
Dell Precision / Xeon E3-1240 / 8GB RAM/ AMD FirePro V4900

David Yurk
New Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat, May 17 2008, 10:23AM

Re: v6 is slower on my computer

Postby David Yurk » Wed, Jan 27 2010, 6:40PM

Rick,

Please don't dismiss my issues by suggesting I'm simply not familiar with the features. The very same functions I performed in v5.2 take 2-3 times longer in v6. Simply moving a cabinet in Cabinet Editor takes longer. I will do whatever I can to optimize performance on my end, but some issues are beyond my control and seem to require tweaks to the new version. Please help to make the program perform as well as v5.2 did. Thanks, David
David Yurk
Crockett's Cabinetry and Woodworking
HP8760w, i7-2640M 2.8GHz, nVidia Quadro 3000M, Windows 7 (64 bit), 8GB ram

David Tuttle
New Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed, Jan 21 2009, 4:49PM
Company Name: The Kings Woodwright
Country: CANADA
Location: Brantford, ON
Contact:

Re: v6 is slower on my computer

Postby David Tuttle » Wed, Jan 27 2010, 6:43PM

Today I noticed that it seemed the cashe (SP?) did not to empty itself.
Tech today also told me to run the right fly out bar with display cubes NOT cabinets when working on the room and rendering, that helps some. This program is just one great big bad boy.

Rick Deskins
Thermwood Team
Posts: 828
Joined: Tue, May 17 2005, 12:47PM
Company Name: Thermwood
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Thermwood

Re: v6 is slower on my computer

Postby Rick Deskins » Wed, Jan 27 2010, 7:29PM

Breaking down your library into smaller subdirectories will also help. In preV6, you only could have folders 1 level deep under the cabinets folder. Some users have 400+ cabinets in one directory. Now, you are allowed to make subfolders as many levels deep as you want.

ex.
Cabients\Library 1\Corner Cabinets\Framed
Cabients\Library 1\Corner Cabinets\Frameless
Cabients\Library 1\Base Cabinets\Framed
Cabients\Library 1\Base Cabinets\Frameless
Rick Deskins
eCabinet Systems Programmer
Dell Precision / Xeon E3-1240 / 8GB RAM/ AMD FirePro V4900

David Yurk
New Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat, May 17 2008, 10:23AM

Re: v6 is slower on my computer

Postby David Yurk » Wed, Jan 27 2010, 9:15PM

Thanks Rick. I'll try setting up sub-directories.

David
David Yurk
Crockett's Cabinetry and Woodworking
HP8760w, i7-2640M 2.8GHz, nVidia Quadro 3000M, Windows 7 (64 bit), 8GB ram


Return to “eCabinet Systems Software”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 7 guests