macbook pro and ecabinets

Moderators: Jason Susnjara, Larry Epplin, Clint Buechlein, Scott G Vaal

Don Nichelson
Junior Member
Posts: 65
Joined: Thu, Aug 24 2006, 1:49AM

macbook pro and ecabinets

Postby Don Nichelson » Sun, Feb 28 2010, 11:44PM

I am running on v5.2 right now on my Vista Gateway laptop and am told that the software will expire in 3 days. Now I am forced to upgrade but have been considering a mac for the last several years and am wondering if the software is compatible with macs. I've searched but can't seem to find a definitive answer. Should I get a mac to run the eCabinet Systems software?

Leo Graywacz
Guru Member
Posts: 572
Joined: Tue, Jan 16 2007, 7:56PM
Company Name: LRG WoodCrafting
Location: Windsor Locks, CT
Contact:

Re: macbook pro and ecabinets

Postby Leo Graywacz » Mon, Mar 01 2010, 12:05AM

Go here to upgrade to v5.3 at the bottom of the page.
http://www.ecabinetsystems.com/ecabinet ... pdates.htm

I don't think eCabs will directly run on a Mac. If you have a windows emulation program it will work though.
Dell Precision 7710
Intel Core i7-6820HQ @ 2.70GHz 16.00 GB RAM
NVIDIA Quadro M3000M
256 GB PCIe NVMe - M.2 SSD
Win 7 Pro 64-bit

http://lrgwood.com

Don Nichelson
Junior Member
Posts: 65
Joined: Thu, Aug 24 2006, 1:49AM

Re: macbook pro and ecabinets

Postby Don Nichelson » Mon, Mar 01 2010, 12:26AM

Will upgrade to version 5.3 cause any problems I experienced when I upgraded to 6.0? I had to revert back to 5.2 because my computer couldn't handle the software. Also, what is an emulation program and what is the cost?

BEN HOLM
Junior Member
Posts: 42
Joined: Wed, Nov 19 2008, 1:05AM

Re: macbook pro and ecabinets

Postby BEN HOLM » Mon, Mar 01 2010, 12:32AM

If you are looking at new Mac with mac os x 10.6 it has already part of the os whats called Boot Camp it gives you the ability to have both Mac OS x 10.6 (snow leopard) and Windows (you will need to buy a copy of windows). This is true dual boot no emulator, much much better. When you boot up to windows you will not be able to tell that is a mac. the only thing is that to go from mac to windows you have to shutdown and start up. And I dont think that the new apple magic mouse works with windows yet. but any other mouse works no problem.
I buying the iPad when it comes out for my presentations. Do a slide show of your rendered drawings and put it on there.
Come on Thermwood forget this windows crap start writing eCabs for Mac. Much less problems. :D
Dell Precision M6400
Core 2 Duo T9600 2.8GHz
4GB Ram
NVIDIA Quadro FX 2700M (6.14.11.9562)
Windows XP Pro 32bit

Bryan J Tanner
Guru Member
Posts: 270
Joined: Wed, Mar 18 2009, 4:51AM
Company Name: Decor Designz
Location: Paeroa NZ
Contact:

Re: macbook pro and ecabinets

Postby Bryan J Tanner » Mon, Mar 01 2010, 1:13AM

I agree with your sentiments Ben.

Get rid of windows, but I don't agree with Mac either. I don't have any thing against Macs at all. But how about a Linux distro set up specifically for E-cabinets???
Running only an email client and Open office. That could be installed on either PC or Mac.

And freely available.

Lets see how the post below grows

http://www.thermwood.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=10841&p=58570#p58570
HP Pavilion DV6
2.27 gigahertz Intel Core i5 M 430
3064 Megabytes Usable Installed Memory
NVIDIA GeForce GT 230M
Windows 7 Home Premium

User avatar
Dean Fehribach
Site Admin
Posts: 482
Joined: Mon, May 09 2005, 2:10PM
Company Name: Thermwood Corporation
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Thermwood

Re: macbook pro and ecabinets

Postby Dean Fehribach » Mon, Mar 01 2010, 9:59AM

BEN HOLM wrote:<snip>Come on Thermwood forget this windows crap start writing eCabs for Mac. Much less problems. :D
Ben,

Apple hasn't been very courteous to developers over the years and continues to be a real pain. To my knowledge, Apple has ditched further development of C and C++ libraries (Carbon, I believe) for Mac OS X in favor of Objective-C (Cocoa) to be written and compiled in X-Code. While not too different from Microsoft's ideas of late to move to C#, Microsoft still supports C++ development and libraries. Two major companies had difficulty migrating their major products to Objective-C: Adobe (Photoshop) and Microsoft (Office). There were serious delays in delivering updates for these programs because these apps had previously been written in C++ and found that to keep moving forward on the Mac platform, they had to adopt Apple's silly demands of using their not-so-familiar favorite, Objective-C.

So, I don't see Thermwood moving to a Mac-native eCabinet Systems on the radar at all. To have two dedicated development teams--C++ in Visual Studio for Windows and Objective-C in X-Code for Mac--just wouldn't be worthwhile.

My 2¢.

-Dean
Dean Fehribach
I.S. Mgr., Thermwood
Dell Workstation T1650 / XEON E3 / 8GB RAM / 1GB nVidia Quadro 600 / Windows 8 Pro x64

Jim Chilta
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat, Jan 23 2010, 3:48PM
Company Name: Exhibits Southwest

Re: macbook pro and ecabinets

Postby Jim Chilta » Mon, Mar 01 2010, 10:09AM

Here is an answer from someone that uses ecab on a mac:

I have v5.2 running on a macbook (not a macbook pro).
I have it installed using bootcamp. I also installed parallels to run ecab.
I have a library of cabinets that I pull from and sometimes need to edit. Then I batch the job. I do not use the rendering / room layout functions
These are my findings:

With bootcamp: graphically it is faster, the cursor moves better. However when editing or batching (resizing cabinets) a job, it is not any faster
( I timed it)

With Parallels, the #1 advantage is I can have all my other apps open as well as ecab. With bootcamp, I need to restart the computer which, during the course of a day is a real pain.

Don Nichelson
Junior Member
Posts: 65
Joined: Thu, Aug 24 2006, 1:49AM

Re: macbook pro and ecabinets

Postby Don Nichelson » Mon, Mar 01 2010, 12:49PM

THanks for all the info. I went to the website for the build 7 for version5 and now can't open ecabinets. I keep getting the error message that the software has expired and to call technical support. I did call and had to leave a message so now I am posting here to see if I can resolve the issue faster. On the website it did state that downloading build 7 will extend the old version until June 2010. I know there is probably a simple fix but can't seem to figure it out. Please help. THank you.

Jason Rains
New Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue, Mar 18 2008, 1:08PM

Re: macbook pro and ecabinets

Postby Jason Rains » Tue, Mar 02 2010, 10:41AM

We are using iMac's running Ecabinets and have no problems what so ever. You will need to purchase and install a Windows OS (we are running Windows XP) in Boot Camp and run in the Windows OS for it to run smoothly but you should not have any issues. Our Macs are the best Windows machines we have. In fact we just purchased another bringing the total up to 3. We are Macaholics and will never buy another windows machine. EVER!
Jason

User avatar
Ryan Callahan
Thermwood Team
Posts: 586
Joined: Tue, Jul 14 2009, 11:05AM
Company Name: Thermwood Corporation
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Thermwood
Contact:

Re: macbook pro and ecabinets

Postby Ryan Callahan » Tue, Mar 02 2010, 3:27PM

Don,

If you are running Windows Vista or Windows 7 to run your eCabinet5.2, be sure to install the update with the "Run as Administrator" option. Forgetting this step will cause your issue with or without a Mac.

Hope this is your solution.
Ryan Callahan
Thermwood
Dell Precision T3400 / Core 2 Quad Q9400 / 2.4GHz / 8GB RAM / 256MB NVIDIA Quadro FX3450 / Windows 7 x64

Jim Carter
Junior Member
Posts: 60
Joined: Mon, Nov 30 2009, 3:51PM
Company Name: Jim Carter Corp.

Re: macbook pro and ecabinets

Postby Jim Carter » Mon, Jun 14 2010, 6:37PM

HI Jason
I read your post regarding your use of apple computers.
I a trying to get MacBook Pro to run e-cabinets with small glimmers of success.
I too am using boot camp running windows 7 and Ecabinets vs 6 build 4. but I am having trouble moving things around, and in the drawomg editer every things all but stops.
I heard abouit virtual memory, I am not sure how to find out what memory I have or how much I need. Any body else know?
any body I can call for guidance.
thanks
JIm
jim@jimcartercorp.com
973-224-0221
Ringwood, New Jersey

Jim Carter
Junior Member
Posts: 60
Joined: Mon, Nov 30 2009, 3:51PM
Company Name: Jim Carter Corp.

Re: macbook pro and ecabinets

Postby Jim Carter » Tue, Jun 15 2010, 5:54AM

last night I gathered more information.
MacBook Pro lap top
4 GB ram.
NVIDIA Geforce 9600m GT w/ 512 MB VRAM
NVIDIA Geforce 9400m w/256 MB VRAM

Maybe my drawings are slow because of the video card? a tech toold me that no lap top will have a good enough card to support this type of use?
I think I have two graphics cards because one is used to save power when on bat. I wonder which one boot camp is using for windows?
Any body have answers ?
thanks Jim
jim@jimcartercorp.com
973-224-0221
Ringwood, New Jersey

Jim Carter
Junior Member
Posts: 60
Joined: Mon, Nov 30 2009, 3:51PM
Company Name: Jim Carter Corp.

Re: macbook pro and ecabinets

Postby Jim Carter » Thu, Jun 17 2010, 9:56PM

for those of you rivited each night to the tales of woes from the life of Jim carter I will make yet another update :-)
I took pc to a second tech. he noticed that I was only using 2.34 gb ram out of 4. He also noticed that My windows 7 was a 32 bit operating system.
three days earliery I paid a different tech to come out to up date my windows operating system. ($ 540.00) the second tech charged me $ 100 bucks to reinstall windows 7 64 bit version, which was in the same package the first teck opened.
any how it running better, faster. But bog complicated rooms still choppy in moving about. So tonight I broke one custom layout in to three sections. to do the detailed work. much better.
JIm.
jim@jimcartercorp.com
973-224-0221
Ringwood, New Jersey

Jim Carter
Junior Member
Posts: 60
Joined: Mon, Nov 30 2009, 3:51PM
Company Name: Jim Carter Corp.

Re: macbook pro and ecabinets

Postby Jim Carter » Thu, Jun 17 2010, 10:01PM

Please excuse all the typo's. I just re-read my posts and am more then a little embarased. Half asleep when writing these things.
jim@jimcartercorp.com
973-224-0221
Ringwood, New Jersey

Leo Graywacz
Guru Member
Posts: 572
Joined: Tue, Jan 16 2007, 7:56PM
Company Name: LRG WoodCrafting
Location: Windsor Locks, CT
Contact:

Re: macbook pro and ecabinets

Postby Leo Graywacz » Thu, Jun 17 2010, 10:43PM

Edit button should be available. :beer:
Dell Precision 7710
Intel Core i7-6820HQ @ 2.70GHz 16.00 GB RAM
NVIDIA Quadro M3000M
256 GB PCIe NVMe - M.2 SSD
Win 7 Pro 64-bit

http://lrgwood.com


Return to “eCabinet Systems Software”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests