Part Editor

Moderators: Jason Susnjara, Larry Epplin, Clint Buechlein, Scott G Vaal

Brent Pister
Junior Member
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed, Sep 13 2006, 8:24AM
Company Name: Brelin Quality Builders
Location: Saskatoon, Canada
Contact:

Part Editor

Postby Brent Pister » Fri, Apr 02 2010, 11:13PM

Whenever I try to make a cutout in a countertop in the part editor it will only create the outline but will not remove any material. This only happens with countertops and only with cutouts, chamfer or fillet or any other material works fine. I'm not sure if I'm missing something or some other problem exists.

Brent

User avatar
Kerry Fullington
Wizard Member
Posts: 4566
Joined: Mon, May 09 2005, 7:33PM
Company Name: ProSource of Amarillo
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Amarillo, TX

Re: Part Editor

Postby Kerry Fullington » Sat, Apr 03 2010, 8:55AM

Brent,

It seems to be working fine for me using geometry and contour to make cutouts. Go to Preferences and increase the level of detail for Custom Layout and the Cabinet Editor. Maybe the cutout is there and it just isn't showing because to low a level of detail.

Kerry

User avatar
Jean G Voyer
Guru Member
Posts: 527
Joined: Tue, May 17 2005, 1:38PM
Company Name: Janot Interiors Ltd
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Contact:

Re: Part Editor

Postby Jean G Voyer » Sat, Apr 03 2010, 2:06PM

Brent,

Do you select it when you got the outline to give it that redish color and the right click 'Cut/pocket using geometric shape' choice?
Jean-Gabriel Voyer
Janot Interiors Ltd
www.customcabinetscalgary.com
Dell Precision PWS490, Intel Xeon CPU,3.00 GB Ram, Window XP Pro, Quadro Fx 3500

Brent Pister
Junior Member
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed, Sep 13 2006, 8:24AM
Company Name: Brelin Quality Builders
Location: Saskatoon, Canada
Contact:

Re: Part Editor

Postby Brent Pister » Sat, Apr 03 2010, 9:50PM

I've increased detail level to max and still no joy. Now the chamfer and fillet cuts don't work either. All I get is the outline of whatever shape I select but no material is removed.

Brent

Sean Jakob
Junior Member
Posts: 75
Joined: Tue, Feb 16 2010, 2:39PM
Company Name: Sean Jakob Cabinets

Re: Part Editor

Postby Sean Jakob » Sun, Apr 04 2010, 5:01PM

I have experienced similar things on parts many times. I think it has something to do with a programming memory leak.

I'd bet that you were working within ecabinets for quite some time without exiting eCabinets prior to this happening?

Try:
- remove part editor cuts from top
- Save job
- Close eCabinets
- reboot computer
- open job and try again

User avatar
Kerry Fullington
Wizard Member
Posts: 4566
Joined: Mon, May 09 2005, 7:33PM
Company Name: ProSource of Amarillo
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Amarillo, TX

Re: Part Editor

Postby Kerry Fullington » Sun, Apr 04 2010, 6:48PM

Brent,

Are you trying to create cutouts using geometric shapes or are you going to contour to create the outline then back to the part editor to make the cut out.

If you are using geometric shapes you must as Jean stated
Create the shape using a rectangle or circle etc
click the select tool
Click on the geometry to select it
Right click on the selected geometry and choose
Cut/Pocket using geometric shapes
Check the Cut Through box in Cutting Depths setting
Click OK

If you are going to contour to create your shape you must exit Contour
Right click and Choose
Cut Pocket using closed contour
Click on the Contour
Click Next
Check the cut through box in Cutting Depths settings
Click OK

Brent Pister
Junior Member
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed, Sep 13 2006, 8:24AM
Company Name: Brelin Quality Builders
Location: Saskatoon, Canada
Contact:

Re: Part Editor

Postby Brent Pister » Fri, Apr 16 2010, 11:06PM

Kerry,
I'm doing all the steps as required but still no resolution. I am running Ecabs on two different computers and am getting the same result on both. Maybe there was a problem when I downloaded V6?

Brent

Karin Sasse
Junior Member
Posts: 90
Joined: Sat, Mar 11 2006, 6:11AM
Location: Adelaide

Re: Part Editor

Postby Karin Sasse » Sat, Apr 17 2010, 9:53PM

Hi

I'm having the same problem since using 6.3 . When doing my sink cutouts it is not removing the material

karin


Return to “eCabinet Systems Software”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests