Ecabinets with Win 7?

Moderators: Jason Susnjara, Larry Epplin, Clint Buechlein, Scott G Vaal

markvan
Junior Member
Posts: 63
Joined: Fri, Aug 31 2007, 10:13AM

Ecabinets with Win 7?

Postby markvan » Mon, Apr 12 2010, 3:14PM

I was just considering upgrading from XP to Windows 7. How does ecabinets run in Win 7? Would it have to be run in 'xp mode'?

Is it worth upgrading? I have to re-install windows anyway, as things are getting slow....time for a fresh install, also thought win 7 may work better with my I7 processor, in some other applications (like HD video editing....)

Forrest Chapman
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 1079
Joined: Mon, May 30 2005, 2:26PM
Location: Anderson SC.
Contact:

Re: Ecabinets with Win 7?

Postby Forrest Chapman » Mon, Apr 12 2010, 6:25PM

Mark,

I've heard that 7 runs faster than XP from a few of Thermwoods Ecab guys. I plan on doing an upgrade as well. If you go with Pro or Ultimate you can run in XP mode if necessary.

Forrest

Bryan J Tanner
Guru Member
Posts: 270
Joined: Wed, Mar 18 2009, 4:51AM
Company Name: Decor Designz
Location: Paeroa NZ
Contact:

Re: Ecabinets with Win 7?

Postby Bryan J Tanner » Mon, Apr 12 2010, 7:30PM

I run Win 7 Home Premium and it works great!!!
HP Pavilion DV6
2.27 gigahertz Intel Core i5 M 430
3064 Megabytes Usable Installed Memory
NVIDIA GeForce GT 230M
Windows 7 Home Premium

Donald Thomson
Guru Member
Posts: 666
Joined: Thu, May 14 2009, 11:41PM
Company Name: Diamond Lake Custom Woodworks
Location: Newport, WA
Contact:

Re: Ecabinets with Win 7?

Postby Donald Thomson » Mon, Apr 12 2010, 7:55PM

I'm running V6B3 on Windows 7 Pro (64-bit) and it runs fine. It's not much faster then when I ran on Windows XP Pro (32-bit). I still get occasional crashing. I've just gotten used to saving a job each time I make a change. That way when it does crash I haven't lost much work.
Sincerely,

Don Thomson
Diamond Lake Custom Woodworks, LLC
509-671-6230
Newport, WA
http://www.dlwoodworks.com

Donald Thomson
Guru Member
Posts: 666
Joined: Thu, May 14 2009, 11:41PM
Company Name: Diamond Lake Custom Woodworks
Location: Newport, WA
Contact:

Re: Ecabinets with Win 7?

Postby Donald Thomson » Mon, Apr 12 2010, 7:57PM

One other thing - many other applications, I use regularly, run much faster with Win 7. I've not had any system crashes since I upgraded about 3 months ago. Well worth the upgrade!
Sincerely,

Don Thomson
Diamond Lake Custom Woodworks, LLC
509-671-6230
Newport, WA
http://www.dlwoodworks.com

User avatar
Kerry Fullington
Wizard Member
Posts: 4566
Joined: Mon, May 09 2005, 7:33PM
Company Name: ProSource of Amarillo
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Amarillo, TX

Re: Ecabinets with Win 7?

Postby Kerry Fullington » Mon, Apr 12 2010, 8:18PM

Don,

Another thing I have learned to do using eCabinets is incremental saves. Create a folder for each customer then at important intervals save kitchen_01 then kitchen_02 and on. I usually have around 12 different versions of the same job. This way if a disaster happens you can go one step back to start over instead of the beginning.

Kerry

Rick Deskins
Thermwood Team
Posts: 828
Joined: Tue, May 17 2005, 12:47PM
Company Name: Thermwood
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Thermwood

Re: Ecabinets with Win 7?

Postby Rick Deskins » Mon, Apr 12 2010, 8:19PM

Donald Thomson wrote:I still get occasional crashing.



Please explain more in detail.
Rick Deskins
eCabinet Systems Programmer
Dell Precision / Xeon E3-1240 / 8GB RAM/ AMD FirePro V4900

Donald Thomson
Guru Member
Posts: 666
Joined: Thu, May 14 2009, 11:41PM
Company Name: Diamond Lake Custom Woodworks
Location: Newport, WA
Contact:

Re: Ecabinets with Win 7?

Postby Donald Thomson » Mon, Apr 12 2010, 10:21PM

Rick,

It happens at random times when I'm working with hardware items, for example Drawer Slides for a cabinet. When I select the medium blue tab for Drawer slides (also happens in Hinges) under either one of the items - Drawer Front Slide or Drawer Front Slide Mount, I will click on the the little down pointing icon below where it says Hole Pattern. I then click on Clear From Selected Parts (and I don't have any parts selected) it will crash. This has happened on several occasions. I just can't get a repeatable set of conditions that I can definitively say "Do these steps and it will happen". I've been trying for a couple of months to get to that point. I'll keep plugging away at it to see if I can get it to be repeatable.
Sincerely,

Don Thomson
Diamond Lake Custom Woodworks, LLC
509-671-6230
Newport, WA
http://www.dlwoodworks.com

Donald Thomson
Guru Member
Posts: 666
Joined: Thu, May 14 2009, 11:41PM
Company Name: Diamond Lake Custom Woodworks
Location: Newport, WA
Contact:

Re: Ecabinets with Win 7?

Postby Donald Thomson » Mon, Apr 12 2010, 10:23PM

Kerry,

It looks like you work the same way I do. I have a directory for each customer (whether it's an eCabs proejct or furniture). Everything I do for this customer gets put into this directory. I also keep multiple versions so I can backtrack if I need to. Works very well.
Sincerely,

Don Thomson
Diamond Lake Custom Woodworks, LLC
509-671-6230
Newport, WA
http://www.dlwoodworks.com

Rick Deskins
Thermwood Team
Posts: 828
Joined: Tue, May 17 2005, 12:47PM
Company Name: Thermwood
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Thermwood

Re: Ecabinets with Win 7?

Postby Rick Deskins » Tue, Apr 13 2010, 4:24AM

Donald Thomson wrote:Rick,

It happens at random times when I'm working with hardware items, for example Drawer Slides for a cabinet. When I select the medium blue tab for Drawer slides (also happens in Hinges) under either one of the items - Drawer Front Slide or Drawer Front Slide Mount, I will click on the the little down pointing icon below where it says Hole Pattern. I then click on Clear From Selected Parts (and I don't have any parts selected) it will crash. This has happened on several occasions. I just can't get a repeatable set of conditions that I can definitively say "Do these steps and it will happen". I've been trying for a couple of months to get to that point. I'll keep plugging away at it to see if I can get it to be repeatable.


Well, even if you can’t reproduce it repeatable, at least this give me a place to starting looking for something that might me wrong. Bugs are one thing. Usually, eCabinets is flexible enough to work around it. However please by all means, report all crash scenarios. Any another other examples of areas that you have had crashes when working with the hardware?
Rick Deskins
eCabinet Systems Programmer
Dell Precision / Xeon E3-1240 / 8GB RAM/ AMD FirePro V4900

Donald Thomson
Guru Member
Posts: 666
Joined: Thu, May 14 2009, 11:41PM
Company Name: Diamond Lake Custom Woodworks
Location: Newport, WA
Contact:

Re: Ecabinets with Win 7?

Postby Donald Thomson » Tue, Apr 13 2010, 1:30PM

Rick,

So far that's the only hardware place I've had crashing take place. I had a lock up (not a crash that Windows could catch) occur a while back and I've been trying to rack my brain to remember what I was doing when it happened. If it happens again, I will report it to you right away.
Sincerely,

Don Thomson
Diamond Lake Custom Woodworks, LLC
509-671-6230
Newport, WA
http://www.dlwoodworks.com


Return to “eCabinet Systems Software”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests