Eclipse DXF file ?

Moderators: Jason Susnjara, Larry Epplin, Clint Buechlein, Scott G Vaal

User avatar
Dale Wills
Senior Member
Posts: 190
Joined: Mon, Oct 10 2005, 11:09PM
Company Name: none
Country: AUSTRALIA
Location: Camperdown, Victoria, Australia

Eclipse DXF file ?

Postby Dale Wills » Wed, May 05 2010, 8:15PM

Hi,

I have created an eclipse in AutoCad and want to load it into eCabs to apply to a part. The arc of the eclipse comes out in eCabs as a series of short straight lines to form the arc and not a nice curved arc. In AutoCad it's definately a smooth shaped eclispe but once loading in eCabs it's different. Can anyone shed some light on this problem?

Dale
Attachments
Eclipse.jpg
Eclipse.jpg (5.27 KiB) Viewed 2114 times
Eclipse.hsf
(316.02 KiB) Downloaded 55 times

User avatar
Kerry Fullington
Wizard Member
Posts: 4566
Joined: Mon, May 09 2005, 7:33PM
Company Name: ProSource of Amarillo
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Amarillo, TX

Re: Eclipse DXF file ?

Postby Kerry Fullington » Wed, May 05 2010, 8:29PM

Dale,

I could be wrong but I think it is the Cad program that draws curves as segments. I know in Intellicad I can choose how many segments. The more segments the smoother the curve looks but a bunch of segments really bogs eCabinets down.

You can use the Tesselation setting in eCabinets to smooth the lines.



Kerry

Kenneth Rychlik
Senior Member
Posts: 161
Joined: Thu, May 04 2006, 11:09AM
Location: Southwest Houston
Contact:

Re: Eclipse DXF file ?

Postby Kenneth Rychlik » Wed, May 05 2010, 8:56PM

I agree, it's an autocad thing.

If you pm me with your email and tell me what size you need, i will make you one and email the dxf to you.

Kenneth

Sean Jakob
Junior Member
Posts: 75
Joined: Tue, Feb 16 2010, 2:39PM
Company Name: Sean Jakob Cabinets

Re: Eclipse DXF file ?

Postby Sean Jakob » Fri, May 07 2010, 3:43PM

Dale
Have you actually tried to cut it anyway?

I have seen things like this in the past with a variety of other systems and sometimes despite the graphics, they actually do cut properly.

Would you let me know.

User avatar
Dale Wills
Senior Member
Posts: 190
Joined: Mon, Oct 10 2005, 11:09PM
Company Name: none
Country: AUSTRALIA
Location: Camperdown, Victoria, Australia

Re: Eclipse DXF file ?

Postby Dale Wills » Fri, May 07 2010, 8:24PM

Sean,

Initially I also thought it was simply a graphical thing and did do a test cut just in case. The test piece came out as represented by the graphical display in eCabs and was a series of approx. 100mm long straight lines formed in an arc to create the eclipse. Kenneth was nice enough to create the eclipse for me in an alternative CAD program he uses and it has since cut perfectly. I'm sure I could tweak my AutoCad settings to get it to work myself next time. It is an eclipse shaped benchtop template for the construction company we are doing a job for. They are using it to shoot lines up to the ceiling to create a drop down bulkhead to match the benchtop below.
Dale

jason galbraith
Senior Member
Posts: 249
Joined: Wed, Dec 10 2008, 3:29PM
Company Name: Eastcoast Ultimate
Country: AUSTRALIA
Contact:

Re: Eclipse DXF file ?

Postby jason galbraith » Sun, May 09 2010, 5:12PM

Elipse? :P
Core i7-2600 @ 3.70Ghz - 8 GB ram - Win 7 Ultimate 64bit - 2 x 24" ASUS monitors - Nvidia 600 Quadro 1GB graphics
www.eastcoastultimate.com.au

Forrest Chapman
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 1078
Joined: Mon, May 30 2005, 2:26PM
Location: Anderson SC.
Contact:

Re: Eclipse DXF file ?

Postby Forrest Chapman » Sun, May 09 2010, 9:09PM

Maybe Thermwood guys can weight in on why most cabinet design programs including ecabinets do not have the ability to do an elipse. Is it that much more difficult to program than an arch?

Forrest

Matt Snowball
Junior Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed, Jun 04 2008, 5:00AM

Re: Eclipse DXF file ?

Postby Matt Snowball » Mon, May 10 2010, 3:46AM

it's 'Ellipse' actually .

Kenneth Rychlik
Senior Member
Posts: 161
Joined: Thu, May 04 2006, 11:09AM
Location: Southwest Houston
Contact:

Re: Eclipse DXF file ?

Postby Kenneth Rychlik » Mon, May 10 2010, 7:23AM

Give it a rest guys. I knew it was not speellled correctly as well.

However, I knew what he meant and helped him out. Isn't that enough?

Kenneth

Tom Goodman
New Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon, Apr 26 2010, 11:22AM
Company Name: Stephenson Millwork

Re: Eclipse DXF file ?

Postby Tom Goodman » Fri, May 21 2010, 11:25AM

Hello, In Autocad, an ellipse is composed of short arc segments that can not be exploded. An elliptical arc can be exploded but you wind up with LOTS of small arcs. We do a fair amount of elliptical transoms for fancy entrances. To run the elliptical pattern on our point to point, we have to change the ellipse to arcs. We have developed a little DOS program to approximate the elliptical shape with 2 radii. There may be some others on the web. Let me know and I'll send you a copy. Technically, an ellipse is an isometric circle. If you were to slice a cylinder at an angle (not 90) the resulting shape would be a true ellipse.

Best,
Tom Goodman

Will Williamson
Guru Member
Posts: 396
Joined: Thu, Dec 08 2005, 6:10PM
Company Name: Williamson Finewoodwork
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Capac MI
Contact:

Re: Eclipse DXF file ?

Postby Will Williamson » Fri, May 21 2010, 2:30PM

When you export a DXF from Corel Draw it produces a smooth Ellipse. I spent a lot of time on this same problem. I never did solve it in Auto Cad.
Will

http://www.willmade.com

KEG/Intel Core i 7 CPU K875 @ 2.93 GHZ/12G Ram
Dual boot XP PRO/Windows 7 Nvidia Quatro 600 1Gig Ram

User avatar
Dale Wills
Senior Member
Posts: 190
Joined: Mon, Oct 10 2005, 11:09PM
Company Name: none
Country: AUSTRALIA
Location: Camperdown, Victoria, Australia

Re: Eclipse DXF file ?

Postby Dale Wills » Mon, May 24 2010, 5:05AM

Hi,

Thanks for your input guys. I found that there is a setting in AutoCad that you can alter how 'ellipses' are created. By default AutoCad creates an ellipse as a 'true ellipse object' but you can elect to create them also as polyline representations of an ellipse which works as expected when importing into eCabs. For those using AutoCad and want to try this, type pellipse and then enter 1.

Dale


Return to “eCabinet Systems Software”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests