V6-4 Running slow very slow

Moderators: Jason Susnjara, Larry Epplin, Clint Buechlein, Scott G Vaal

User avatar
Gary Puckett
Wizard Member
Posts: 1324
Joined: Mon, May 19 2008, 1:39PM
Company Name: The Woodworkery
Location: Saint Charles, Missouri
Contact:

V6-4 Running slow very slow

Postby Gary Puckett » Thu, May 06 2010, 7:59AM

Is anyone else have a problem with the speed of calculating items for a cabinet?

It is taking about 4 min. to take a cabinet from the room and add drawer slides and hinges then put it back into the room. COME ON

It then took about for ever to calculate a cost list. Why does eCab always have this problem none of my other programs run this slow. I don't meen when the program is generating a cabinet, just adding hardware or calculating a buy list schould not take 4-5 min.

Is it my system, I don't think it's weak ( see specks)


Gary
HP Pavilion
Vista home Premium 64bit S. pack 2
AMD Phenom-X4
9850 Quad-Core Processor
6.0GB/Go Memory
1 TB/To Hard Drive
Nividia GeForce 9800 GT

Dan Calvert
New Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue, May 09 2006, 1:43AM
Company Name: Calvert Custom Cabinetry
Location: Hale, MO
Contact:

Re: V6-4 Running slow very slow

Postby Dan Calvert » Thu, May 06 2010, 4:20PM

I just update to version 4 and removed a cabinet from custom layout created this morning in version 3, changed a door and returned it to custom layout in less than a minute. My system is as follows:

AMD 9500 Quad-Core 2.20 GHz
3 Gig of Ram
Vista Home Premium
NVIDIA Quadro FX 570 Video Adaptor

Rick Deskins
Thermwood Team
Posts: 828
Joined: Tue, May 17 2005, 12:47PM
Company Name: Thermwood
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Thermwood

Re: V6-4 Running slow very slow

Postby Rick Deskins » Fri, May 07 2010, 9:33AM

Gary Puckett wrote:It is taking about 4 min. to take a cabinet from the room and add drawer slides and hinges then put it back into the room. COME ON
Gary


Can you post the job and cabinet files? Does this only happen when working with a large room? Does it happen if you have a room only with the single cabient?
Rick Deskins
eCabinet Systems Programmer
Dell Precision / Xeon E3-1240 / 8GB RAM/ AMD FirePro V4900

Tom Nienow
Junior Member
Posts: 52
Joined: Mon, Jan 11 2010, 11:49PM
Company Name: Nienow Woodwork
Location: Pewaukee, WI

Re: V6-4 Running slow very slow

Postby Tom Nienow » Mon, May 10 2010, 8:02AM

Slow to the point of frustration. While working in the Layout Editor editing cabinets takes about 5 minutes, generally the program freezes up & I have to re-start not accomplishing anything, I could let the program run it's course but it takes too long, I could cut my lawn while waiting for cabinet edits come back and edit another cabinet, by then the grass needs cutting again, it's brutally slow. Version 5 worked great on this system, I plan on upgrading my graghics card, but I see the systems others are using and still having trouble so I'm holding off on spending $400 on a new card for now
My system is as follows:
Dell Vostro 220
Intell Dual Processor
E7300@2.66 GHz
3 Gig Ram
ATI Radeon HD3450

Lorin Ylioja
Junior Member
Posts: 39
Joined: Tue, Apr 14 2009, 10:25PM
Company Name: Heritage Woodcraft
Location: Conquest Saskatchewan

Re: V6-4 Running slow very slow

Postby Lorin Ylioja » Thu, May 13 2010, 1:33PM

I don't even know the specifics of my ststem. I had it put together by a friend using surplus workstation. I am very impressed by the speed of 6.4. Everything seems to finish up in seconds as compared to minutes with 5xx and old computer.
Lorin

User avatar
Ken Susnjara
Thermwood Team
Posts: 208
Joined: Wed, May 18 2005, 7:45AM
Location: Thermwood

Re: V6-4 Running slow very slow

Postby Ken Susnjara » Wed, May 19 2010, 8:21AM

6.4 is faster than the previous release. We didn't say anything about it because we still believe the system is way too slow. Speeding up the software is THE major task we are working on. We feel that our users will benefit more from a really fast system than from any additions we could add at this point. Dramatically improving performance is not a trivial task. It will take some real time and effort but in the long run it will likely have a greater impact on users than anything else we could do. It is possible that some of the new releases will have no other feature than it runs certain functions faster.

User avatar
Jeremy Schiffer
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 944
Joined: Tue, May 10 2005, 9:36PM
Location: Carnesville, GA
Contact:

Re: V6-4 Running slow very slow

Postby Jeremy Schiffer » Wed, May 19 2010, 9:08AM

This is most odd. Our computer is certainly not the biggest and best, but all in all V6 runs just fine. Not noticeably faster or slower. Seems to me if it were a problem with the program, it would run slow on everyone's computer, but some folks say it's faster, some say it's slower.
http://www.corlanecabinetry.com

Intel Core i7-5820 3.3GHz, 16GB RAM, NVidia Quadro K2200 4GB, Windows 8.1 Pro 64 bit

Tom Nienow
Junior Member
Posts: 52
Joined: Mon, Jan 11 2010, 11:49PM
Company Name: Nienow Woodwork
Location: Pewaukee, WI

Re: V6-4 Running slow very slow

Postby Tom Nienow » Wed, May 19 2010, 9:11AM

Speed is my biggest issue,I've been spending way to much time designing and not enough time constructing, the design aspect gets the job but construcion pays.I really appreciate the efforts to get me back in the shop


Return to “eCabinet Systems Software”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests