changing material size and thickness on drawers

Moderators: Jason Susnjara, Larry Epplin, Clint Buechlein, Scott G Vaal

Michael S Murray
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 933
Joined: Tue, May 17 2005, 2:48PM
Location: Logansport, In
Contact:

changing material size and thickness on drawers

Postby Michael S Murray » Thu, Jun 10 2010, 8:33AM

Hi Every one,
I have been using 4'x8' baltic birch for drawers in residential for quite a while.
My supply of 4x8 dried up on me and I now have gone back to the standard 5x5 that is common.
So now I have a material size and thickness to deal with.

I fooled with this some in v-6 but seem to be hitting a brick wall.
I can change the thickness at twd file write, and I can add sheets at the router at 5x5, all cheating and extra work...........

I have Hundreds of library cabinets using the dovetail drawer with the 4x8 material at .6 thickness. I cant seem to get the new drawer material to take.If I just change the size and thickness of existing material in drawers, I get a mat not found screen, and it has a replacement material option, but there is nothing there to choose from?

I have created a new material with correct size and thickness . I go into the drawer editor and take my standard wood drawer using the old material, change the material to new material and then save it.
This still leaves my current jobs and all my librarys with the old materials.

Does any one know how to get the drawers with new material into my librarys without doing it one at a time?
Mike Murray
Versatile Cabinet & Solid Surface
mike@versatilecabinet.com
http://www.versatilecabinet.com

User avatar
Josh Rayburn
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 1263
Joined: Wed, Jul 01 2009, 2:19PM
Company Name: Halls Edge Inc
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Stamford, CT USA
Contact:

Re: changing material size and thickness on drawers

Postby Josh Rayburn » Thu, Jun 10 2010, 9:01AM

You can put them all in a batch then check the boxes, go to features, change drawer boxes.
use a new drawer box that you create with your new material, done. only bad news is you have to drag each cab back into the cabinet editor to save it individually, but I don't know any way around that anyway....
Hope that helps,
jnr
Josh Rayburn
Hall's Edge, Inc.
CNC Machining Service


Dell Precision T3400
Win7 Professional 64 Bit/Core2Duo E8400 3ghz/4 GB Ram/NVIDIA Quadro FX570

Michael S Murray
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 933
Joined: Tue, May 17 2005, 2:48PM
Location: Logansport, In
Contact:

Re: changing material size and thickness on drawers

Postby Michael S Murray » Thu, Jun 10 2010, 9:23AM

Thanks Josh, I had not thought of that, probably not that painful I guess....
I was hoping to just do a material change on the drawer box and then pulling each cab into ce and doing a regenerate, but it does not seem to look back at the material change(keeps the same material)
Mike Murray

Versatile Cabinet & Solid Surface

mike@versatilecabinet.com

http://www.versatilecabinet.com

User avatar
Josh Rayburn
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 1263
Joined: Wed, Jul 01 2009, 2:19PM
Company Name: Halls Edge Inc
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Stamford, CT USA
Contact:

Re: changing material size and thickness on drawers

Postby Josh Rayburn » Thu, Jun 10 2010, 10:20AM

Can you post a cabinet or job that you're having trouble with?
Josh Rayburn
Hall's Edge, Inc.
CNC Machining Service


Dell Precision T3400
Win7 Professional 64 Bit/Core2Duo E8400 3ghz/4 GB Ram/NVIDIA Quadro FX570

Michael S Murray
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 933
Joined: Tue, May 17 2005, 2:48PM
Location: Logansport, In
Contact:

Re: changing material size and thickness on drawers

Postby Michael S Murray » Thu, Jun 10 2010, 2:43PM

Josh,
what you suggested does work.
I was just hoping if I went in to the drawer editor and changed the drawer material on the default drawer, that regenerating the cabinet might update the material, it does not..
Thanks, I will do as you suggested. I can also do a material change on the jobs I have drawn without to much trouble.What the heck, who wants to go home at night anyway!
Mike Murray

Versatile Cabinet & Solid Surface

mike@versatilecabinet.com

http://www.versatilecabinet.com

User avatar
Josh Rayburn
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 1263
Joined: Wed, Jul 01 2009, 2:19PM
Company Name: Halls Edge Inc
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Stamford, CT USA
Contact:

Re: changing material size and thickness on drawers

Postby Josh Rayburn » Thu, Jun 10 2010, 3:54PM

Changing the default does not change what is already placed, only what will be placed next.
For example, if you wanted to make a pedestal with two 1/2" drawers on top and a 3/4" file drawer below, you could add the two top drawers first, then change the default to a 3/4" dbx, then add the bottom drawer. If changing the default modified the existing boxes, you can see that my scenario would become impossible. Thus we have more flexibility the way it currently works, however cumbersome it may be.
In fact, any change to a library is cumbersome and takes lots of time no matter what!
All the best,
jnr
Josh Rayburn
Hall's Edge, Inc.
CNC Machining Service


Dell Precision T3400
Win7 Professional 64 Bit/Core2Duo E8400 3ghz/4 GB Ram/NVIDIA Quadro FX570

Michael S Murray
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 933
Joined: Tue, May 17 2005, 2:48PM
Location: Logansport, In
Contact:

Re: changing material size and thickness on drawers

Postby Michael S Murray » Thu, Jun 10 2010, 3:57PM

When will thermwood add the "read my mind feature"??????
Mike Murray

Versatile Cabinet & Solid Surface

mike@versatilecabinet.com

http://www.versatilecabinet.com

User avatar
Jody Wilmes
Senior Member
Posts: 248
Joined: Tue, May 17 2005, 2:06PM
Company Name: Thermwood
Country: UNITED STATES
Contact:

Re: changing material size and thickness on drawers

Postby Jody Wilmes » Fri, Jun 11 2010, 1:42PM

Michael S Murray wrote:When will thermwood add the "read my mind feature"??????

I knew you were gonna say that before you did. :shock: (This feature needs a little more testing yet.)
Image

Michael S Murray
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 933
Joined: Tue, May 17 2005, 2:48PM
Location: Logansport, In
Contact:

Re: changing material size and thickness on drawers

Postby Michael S Murray » Fri, Jun 11 2010, 2:05PM

Hey Jody, good to hear from you, did u get the freezer full off bluegill fillets this spring?
Makes my mouth water to think of a pile of them on my plate...........
Mike Murray

Versatile Cabinet & Solid Surface

mike@versatilecabinet.com

http://www.versatilecabinet.com

Michael S Murray
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 933
Joined: Tue, May 17 2005, 2:48PM
Location: Logansport, In
Contact:

Re: changing material size and thickness on drawers

Postby Michael S Murray » Fri, Jun 11 2010, 2:05PM

Oh yeah, so when can we expect that feature added?
Mike Murray

Versatile Cabinet & Solid Surface

mike@versatilecabinet.com

http://www.versatilecabinet.com


Return to “eCabinet Systems Software”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests