Offsetting hinges

Moderators: Jason Susnjara, Larry Epplin, Clint Buechlein, Scott G Vaal

JohnLashuay
Guru Member
Posts: 645
Joined: Mon, Nov 20 2006, 3:39PM
Company Name: Rylex Custom Cabinetry-Close
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Pine Island, New York
Contact:

Re: Offsetting hinges

Postby JohnLashuay » Thu, Jul 22 2010, 8:19AM

FredHirsch wrote:On a slab door with the edgebander, we have some thin laminate pieces that we will just send through the bander with the door covering the hinge holes. The trimmer will ride up where the laminate is, but on the thintape, a razor blade knocks it off pretty quick.
Fred

Great idea Fred!

Michael, we have have found what you are doing to be true as well. We have always been rigid 32mm with the whole line bores until we brought in the cnc. Now it doesn't make any sense when building cabinets.

-John
Rylex Custom Cabinetry & Closets
http://www.rylexonline.com
Thermwood CS 43

Sean Jakob
Junior Member
Posts: 75
Joined: Tue, Feb 16 2010, 2:39PM
Company Name: Sean Jakob Cabinets

Re: Offsetting hinges

Postby Sean Jakob » Sun, Aug 22 2010, 5:28PM

Jason, the simple answer you are looking for is NO. You can't manually alter the hinge positions.

You can eother:
a) Increase the distance from the bottom edge of the door to the bottom hinge. This will slightly vary the spacing and in some case may help.
b) manually add the boring via the part editor, constrain the holes and then save the cabinet for future use.
c) after creating the manually added hinges, save the entire group pattern via the contour line manager so that all of the hinge holes can be added to a tall door at whim (same also for the plate holes in the cabinet end)
d) follow the advise offered by others in this forum

SJ


Return to “eCabinet Systems Software”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests