Saving in Custom Layout

Moderators: Jason Susnjara, Larry Epplin, Clint Buechlein, Scott G Vaal

ScotAcree
Senior Member
Posts: 101
Joined: Mon, Aug 08 2005, 6:06PM
Company Name: Scot Acree Woodworkig LLC
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Ohio

Saving in Custom Layout

Postby ScotAcree » Wed, Oct 27 2010, 1:45PM

I have a job in Custom Layout.The size with the cabinets is about 120,805 KB.
If I select all cabinets and delete them,then re save the job,should not the file size get reduced back to the original 165 KB when I created the walls?
That means I have no cabinets,assemblies,or appliances in the room.Though it still saves it at the 120,805 KB.

Just wondering,

Scot

User avatar
DanEpps
Wizard Member
Posts: 5852
Joined: Thu, Jul 28 2005, 10:18AM
Company Name: Dan Epps
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Rocky Face GA

Re: Saving in Custom Layout

Postby DanEpps » Wed, Oct 27 2010, 6:08PM

If you saved with the same filename, the space already allocated would not necessarily be reclaimed by Windows until the file is defragmented (either by defragging or deleting the file). Look at the file properties and see what the actual size is (you will see "size" and "size on disk").

Try it again but this time, use a different filename when you save the job (after deleting the cabinets). Then compare the size of both files and you will see the difference.


Return to “eCabinet Systems Software”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest