Problem with size of back panel

Moderators: Jason Susnjara, Larry Epplin, Clint Buechlein, Scott G Vaal

David Bean
New Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed, Feb 23 2011, 2:30PM
Company Name: KGK Construction

Problem with size of back panel

Postby David Bean » Wed, Feb 23 2011, 2:46PM

I just recently purchased a cnc and have been using ecabs for quite some time. I sized down a very basic frameless upper (basically a box) and tried to cut it on the cnc with blind dados. Everything cut fine except the back was about 3/4 too wide. I tried a second cabinet and the same thing. I'm not sure if it is the shopbot link or ecabs. The back dimensions are correct in the part list in the shopbot link but it gets cut wrong.

Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated.

Rick Palechuk
Wizard Member
Posts: 1896
Joined: Wed, May 18 2005, 7:54PM
Company Name: Milltech Millworks Ltd.
Country: CANADA
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Contact:

Re: Problem with size of back panel

Postby Rick Palechuk » Wed, Feb 23 2011, 3:13PM

Welcome David. Can you post the job file (esj) and someone can have a look.

David Bean
New Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed, Feb 23 2011, 2:30PM
Company Name: KGK Construction

Re: Problem with size of back panel

Postby David Bean » Wed, Feb 23 2011, 3:45PM

I went with a full dado on this one and the back is still 3/4"+ too wide.
Attachments
cnc test upper 2.esj
(208.02 KiB) Downloaded 98 times

User avatar
Michael RA Greschuk
Senior Member
Posts: 109
Joined: Mon, Jun 20 2005, 9:00PM
Location: Calgary Alberta

Re: Problem with size of back panel

Postby Michael RA Greschuk » Wed, Feb 23 2011, 4:35PM

Hello David
I just cut your test cab on my machine and it cut fine. The back is 19mm too large because it has to fit into the dadoes on the sides of the cab. I believe you have a depth of 9.5mm which would make it appear 19mm too big. Hope this helps
Mike :D

David Bean
New Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed, Feb 23 2011, 2:30PM
Company Name: KGK Construction

Re: Problem with size of back panel

Postby David Bean » Wed, Feb 23 2011, 4:41PM

It is definately too wide. Whats strange is that its 7/8 which doesn't really corelate to anything(dado depth or side side thickness). In the shopbot link it is listed as the correct size, 9 1/4 x 10 1/2, but it cuts 10 1/8 x 10 1/2.

Thanks for the speedy reply!

User avatar
Michael RA Greschuk
Senior Member
Posts: 109
Joined: Mon, Jun 20 2005, 9:00PM
Location: Calgary Alberta

Re: Problem with size of back panel

Postby Michael RA Greschuk » Wed, Feb 23 2011, 4:47PM

Hi David,
When I cut your cabinet the finished back size 9.25 x 10.5. and like I said it went together well :? You might want to post something on the other forum. Maybe someone there knows whats up
Mike

David Bean
New Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed, Feb 23 2011, 2:30PM
Company Name: KGK Construction

Re: Problem with size of back panel

Postby David Bean » Wed, Feb 23 2011, 4:54PM

Thanks Michael. It seems like it is a problem in the shopbot link. I have cut 4 test cabinets and they all have the same results. All the other parts are dead on.

User avatar
Scott G Vaal
Thermwood Team
Posts: 1740
Joined: Tue, May 17 2005, 12:44PM
Company Name: Thermwood Corporation
Location: Thermwood Corp: Dale, Indiana
Contact:

Re: Problem with size of back panel

Postby Scott G Vaal » Wed, Feb 23 2011, 5:16PM

David,

In the ShopBot link, load the job {*.twd} in question, perform a nest, then do an export (found on the main screen of the SB-Link). Send the {*.cab} file that it creates to cabinets@thermwood.com along with a brief explanation of you problem. Someone will take a look at it and see if we can reproduce your issue.
Regards,

Scott Vaal
-Thermwood/eCabinet Systems-
Dell Precision / Xeon E3-1240 / 8GB RAM /NVIDIA Quadro K2000

David Bean
New Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed, Feb 23 2011, 2:30PM
Company Name: KGK Construction

Re: Problem with size of back panel

Postby David Bean » Wed, Feb 23 2011, 5:26PM

Thanks Scott, I just sent it over.

User avatar
Scott G Vaal
Thermwood Team
Posts: 1740
Joined: Tue, May 17 2005, 12:44PM
Company Name: Thermwood Corporation
Location: Thermwood Corp: Dale, Indiana
Contact:

Re: Problem with size of back panel

Postby Scott G Vaal » Thu, Feb 24 2011, 1:04PM

David,

I loaded your export into my ShopBot link (which makes mine identical to yours) and cannot find any problems with it. I did the math on the G-code produced by the link and it is accurate to what it should be for all parts. I reversed posted the G-Code into our Cad-Cam program here and all values measure out correctly. Daniel here at Thermwood has also been looking at it and cannot find anything incorrect. I'm not sure what to tell you to try, and I am not trying to push the blame to the machine, but at this point it seems like we should look there first before anything else. Maybe try to cut the parts at a different location on the machine to see if it matters. Or better yet, filter out the back so that a different part will get cut in that corner of the sheet (or that area of the machine) and see if the same issue happens to a diff part. Let us know your results.
Regards,

Scott Vaal
-Thermwood/eCabinet Systems-
Dell Precision / Xeon E3-1240 / 8GB RAM /NVIDIA Quadro K2000

David Bean
New Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed, Feb 23 2011, 2:30PM
Company Name: KGK Construction

Re: Problem with size of back panel

Postby David Bean » Thu, Feb 24 2011, 2:11PM

seems that one of the values had been changed causing the y axis to move disproportionately to the x axis. We changed the value and everything cuts great. Hopefully it stays that way. Thanks to all that responded especially the Thermwood people. Can't wait till I can get one of those shiny Cabinetshop 45's!


Return to “eCabinet Systems Software”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests