Failed to create toolpath error

Moderators: Jason Susnjara, Larry Epplin, Clint Buechlein, Scott G Vaal

User avatar
Nick Sollecito
Junior Member
Posts: 51
Joined: Sun, Mar 05 2006, 11:03AM
Location: Swansea, MA
Contact:

Failed to create toolpath error

Postby Nick Sollecito » Tue, Mar 01 2011, 9:54AM

I created a 3/4" X 48" X 96" panel with (94) 1/8" wide pockets 1/2" deep running the width of the panel. (See attached job file)
It will nest in eCabinets but when I nest on the machine I get the error message: "Failed to create toolpath for pocket operation 1" the error continues for all 94 pockets. I believe my tooling is set up correctly. I am using an 1/8" ball cutter and I checked the pocketing, rout and dado option.\Any ideas?
Thanks!
nick
Attachments
Wacky.esj
(546.02 KiB) Downloaded 216 times
Nick Sollecito
Home Genius
http://www.MyHomeGenius.com
ynd@comcast.net

User avatar
Josh Rayburn
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 1263
Joined: Wed, Jul 01 2009, 2:19PM
Company Name: Halls Edge Inc
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Stamford, CT USA
Contact:

Re: Failed to create toolpath error

Postby Josh Rayburn » Tue, Mar 01 2011, 1:08PM

Nick, you just need a little clearance. 0.001" would be enough. So, the easy way is to lit about the diameter of your 1/8" tool in tooling setup. Make it 0.124" diameter and you should be fine.
jnr
Josh Rayburn
Hall's Edge, Inc.
CNC Machining Service


Dell Precision T3400
Win7 Professional 64 Bit/Core2Duo E8400 3ghz/4 GB Ram/NVIDIA Quadro FX570

User avatar
Nick Sollecito
Junior Member
Posts: 51
Joined: Sun, Mar 05 2006, 11:03AM
Location: Swansea, MA
Contact:

Re: Failed to create toolpath error

Postby Nick Sollecito » Tue, Mar 01 2011, 2:32PM

Hi Josh,
Gave it a try but it didn't work. It has to be something with the tooling because I doubled the size of the pocket and it used the next size tool and I didn't get the error. :wall:

User avatar
Scott G Vaal
Thermwood Team
Posts: 1740
Joined: Tue, May 17 2005, 12:44PM
Company Name: Thermwood Corporation
Location: Thermwood Corp: Dale, Indiana
Contact:

Re: Failed to create toolpath error

Postby Scott G Vaal » Wed, Mar 02 2011, 9:43AM

Nick,

Send me an export from Control Nesting and I will try to see what you have going on. The export button is on the main screen of Control Nesting.
Regards,

Scott Vaal
-Thermwood/eCabinet Systems-
Dell Precision / Xeon E3-1240 / 8GB RAM /NVIDIA Quadro K2000

User avatar
Nick Sollecito
Junior Member
Posts: 51
Joined: Sun, Mar 05 2006, 11:03AM
Location: Swansea, MA
Contact:

Re: Failed to create toolpath error

Postby Nick Sollecito » Wed, Mar 02 2011, 12:33PM

Hi Scott,
I tried to attach the export file but it says "the extension CAB is not allowed".
Thanks
Nick

User avatar
Scott G Vaal
Thermwood Team
Posts: 1740
Joined: Tue, May 17 2005, 12:44PM
Company Name: Thermwood Corporation
Location: Thermwood Corp: Dale, Indiana
Contact:

Re: Failed to create toolpath error

Postby Scott G Vaal » Wed, Mar 02 2011, 12:48PM

Nick,
You can either zip it or just rename the extension to .txt then attach it. You could also email the file to cabinets@thermwood.com as well.
Regards,

Scott Vaal
-Thermwood/eCabinet Systems-
Dell Precision / Xeon E3-1240 / 8GB RAM /NVIDIA Quadro K2000

User avatar
Scott G Vaal
Thermwood Team
Posts: 1740
Joined: Tue, May 17 2005, 12:44PM
Company Name: Thermwood Corporation
Location: Thermwood Corp: Dale, Indiana
Contact:

Re: Failed to create toolpath error

Postby Scott G Vaal » Wed, Mar 02 2011, 2:15PM

Nick,

I got your email and loaded your export. What is happening is that your operation tool 6 (the .125" pocket tool ) has a space in the Tool Name field. If there is a name at all in this field (spaces included), then this tool will ONLY be used for operations with this name designated. Currently the only naming that you would ever want to do/use for eCabinet Systems is adding {Barb} if you are using and machining Barb Dados. This field is otherwise only used for files (such as Job Level Links) coming from other software applications. So, remove the space and it will recognize this tool. It is still a good idea though to have your slots slightly larger than the tool that will be used to machine it.
Regards,

Scott Vaal
-Thermwood/eCabinet Systems-
Dell Precision / Xeon E3-1240 / 8GB RAM /NVIDIA Quadro K2000

User avatar
Nick Sollecito
Junior Member
Posts: 51
Joined: Sun, Mar 05 2006, 11:03AM
Location: Swansea, MA
Contact:

Re: Failed to create toolpath error

Postby Nick Sollecito » Wed, Mar 02 2011, 2:21PM

You got to be kidding me! How did you even find it?
No Problem, I can make the slot wider.
Thanks again!
Nick

User avatar
Scott G Vaal
Thermwood Team
Posts: 1740
Joined: Tue, May 17 2005, 12:44PM
Company Name: Thermwood Corporation
Location: Thermwood Corp: Dale, Indiana
Contact:

Re: Failed to create toolpath error

Postby Scott G Vaal » Wed, Mar 02 2011, 2:27PM

I found it because I use a drug called "Charlie Sheen"! LOL :lol: . Just kidding... I've been doing this for a long time. You learn to look for anything and everything.
Regards,

Scott Vaal
-Thermwood/eCabinet Systems-
Dell Precision / Xeon E3-1240 / 8GB RAM /NVIDIA Quadro K2000

Michael S Murray
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 933
Joined: Tue, May 17 2005, 2:48PM
Location: Logansport, In
Contact:

Re: Failed to create toolpath error

Postby Michael S Murray » Wed, Mar 02 2011, 2:49PM

OH NO, I tried to read the paper at noon and got tired of seeing his name, now he is on the thermwood forum.......

Nick, he found it cause at least a couple of them guys are real smart.........
Mike Murray
Versatile Cabinet & Solid Surface
mike@versatilecabinet.com
http://www.versatilecabinet.com

User avatar
Nick Sollecito
Junior Member
Posts: 51
Joined: Sun, Mar 05 2006, 11:03AM
Location: Swansea, MA
Contact:

Re: Failed to create toolpath error

Postby Nick Sollecito » Thu, Mar 03 2011, 7:52AM

You deserve at least two goddess' for that! :lol:

User avatar
Kerry Fullington
Wizard Member
Posts: 4624
Joined: Mon, May 09 2005, 7:33PM
Company Name: Double E Cabinets
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Amarillo, TX

Re: Failed to create toolpath error

Postby Kerry Fullington » Thu, Mar 03 2011, 8:58AM

Watching all of the stuff with Charlie sheen I was reminded of the line in the movie Animal House

"Fat, drunk and stupid is no way to go through life son"

At least Charlie isn't fat. :lol:

Michael S Murray
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 933
Joined: Tue, May 17 2005, 2:48PM
Location: Logansport, In
Contact:

Re: Failed to create toolpath error

Postby Michael S Murray » Thu, Mar 03 2011, 9:12AM

What sickens me is that guys like Charlie Sheen and most of the other hollywood freaks are rewarded with millions of dollars for their antics,
then guys like all of us bust our butts for mediocre monetary reward, something wrong somewhere...........
My Son has two very young Daughters and he has made the decesion to disconnect his TV form cable and only let his girls watch appropriate videos.
Even Cartoons are full of violence and mean spirited characters.
Maybe we should all turn our tv's off for a couple months and read books instead.......
I know I got a couple I need to get caught up on.............
what would the Charlie Sheens and the LIndsey Lohans of the world do then?

Ok, Rant off.......
Mike Murray

Versatile Cabinet & Solid Surface

mike@versatilecabinet.com

http://www.versatilecabinet.com


Return to “eCabinet Systems Software”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 29 guests