Unstable ecabs

Moderators: Jason Susnjara, Larry Epplin, Clint Buechlein, Scott G Vaal

Jason Rains
New Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue, Mar 18 2008, 1:08PM

Unstable ecabs

Postby Jason Rains » Tue, Jun 14 2011, 9:59AM

My ecabs software is becoming more & more unstable. I am unable to open previously saved jobs on a regular basis. Now today it is occasionally not allowing me to save cabs in cab editor. I have to save it under another name then resave as original. Any ideas or anyone else have this problem?
Thanks
Jason

jason galbraith
Senior Member
Posts: 249
Joined: Wed, Dec 10 2008, 3:29PM
Company Name: Eastcoast Ultimate
Country: AUSTRALIA
Contact:

Re: Unstable ecabs

Postby jason galbraith » Tue, Jun 14 2011, 4:35PM

It will get worse. Are you using XP? I had the same problem. Nobody knew how to fix it. Try turning off your antivirus.
Core i7-2600 @ 3.70Ghz - 8 GB ram - Win 7 Ultimate 64bit - 2 x 24" ASUS monitors - Nvidia 600 Quadro 1GB graphics
www.eastcoastultimate.com.au

User avatar
Kerry Fullington
Wizard Member
Posts: 4566
Joined: Mon, May 09 2005, 7:33PM
Company Name: ProSource of Amarillo
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Amarillo, TX

Re: Unstable ecabs

Postby Kerry Fullington » Tue, Jun 14 2011, 5:56PM

Jason Rains,

post one of the jobs that won't open and we can see if it is a corrupt job file or a computer specific problem.

I agree with Jason Galbraith, try turning off the anti-virus.

What operating system and what anti-virus are you running?

Kerry

Jason Rains
New Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue, Mar 18 2008, 1:08PM

Re: Unstable ecabs

Postby Jason Rains » Wed, Jun 15 2011, 9:48AM

We are using Win XP. It will do it with just about any job not anyone specific. It may open the job once then not the second time you try to open it. Same deal with the cabinets on Cab editor when trying to save. I am running Windows Security Essentials AV. Could that be the problem maker? Just seems like it's happening more frequently recently.

JohnLashuay
Guru Member
Posts: 645
Joined: Mon, Nov 20 2006, 3:39PM
Company Name: Rylex Custom Cabinetry-Close
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Pine Island, New York
Contact:

Re: Unstable ecabs

Postby JohnLashuay » Wed, Jun 15 2011, 11:03AM

When I was using McAfee it was causing odd things to happen at odd times. Working with Scott Vaal we came to that conclusion. I have since used AVG which worked great and now I am using Vipre which is really good.
Rylex Custom Cabinetry & Closets
http://www.rylexonline.com
Thermwood CS 43

jason galbraith
Senior Member
Posts: 249
Joined: Wed, Dec 10 2008, 3:29PM
Company Name: Eastcoast Ultimate
Country: AUSTRALIA
Contact:

Re: Unstable ecabs

Postby jason galbraith » Wed, Jun 15 2011, 3:43PM

Post with how you go, I had two identical computers running side by side with Ecabs and one had this issue and the other didn't. Since got rid of that computer and got the one in my specs below. SOmone in Canada I think on the forums had similar issues.
Core i7-2600 @ 3.70Ghz - 8 GB ram - Win 7 Ultimate 64bit - 2 x 24" ASUS monitors - Nvidia 600 Quadro 1GB graphics
www.eastcoastultimate.com.au


Return to “eCabinet Systems Software”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 8 guests