Applied End Trouble

Moderators: Jason Susnjara, Larry Epplin, Clint Buechlein, Scott G Vaal

Nicolas Barbeito
New Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu, Jan 26 2012, 9:36AM
Company Name: Zimmerman Furniture Co
Country: UNITED STATES

Applied End Trouble

Postby Nicolas Barbeito » Wed, Feb 15 2012, 8:28AM

Sometimes when I add an applied end to a cabinet it will install it a 1/2" below the base of the cab. Is this a bug? The only fix I have is to adjust insets (-1/2" at bottom and + 1/2" at the top). Is there anything better out there?


Thanks

User avatar
Kerry Fullington
Wizard Member
Posts: 4566
Joined: Mon, May 09 2005, 7:33PM
Company Name: ProSource of Amarillo
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Amarillo, TX

Re: Applied End Trouble

Postby Kerry Fullington » Wed, Feb 15 2012, 8:34AM

Nicolas,

Post the job you are having trouble with. Is your applied end a door or panel material? If it is a door, which door?

Nicolas Barbeito
New Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu, Jan 26 2012, 9:36AM
Company Name: Zimmerman Furniture Co
Country: UNITED STATES

Re: Applied End Trouble

Postby Nicolas Barbeito » Wed, Feb 15 2012, 8:55AM

I have never uploaded anything before. Let me know if this is what you need. The problem occurs with either doors or panels (as shown in the file).

Thanks,

Nicolas
Attachments
Panel Ends.hsf
(156.02 KiB) Downloaded 96 times

User avatar
Kerry Fullington
Wizard Member
Posts: 4566
Joined: Mon, May 09 2005, 7:33PM
Company Name: ProSource of Amarillo
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Amarillo, TX

Re: Applied End Trouble

Postby Kerry Fullington » Wed, Feb 15 2012, 1:16PM

Nicolas,

I think your cabinet files are corrupted. I can't place the cabinets in a room and when I open them in the cab editor I get this.

Clipboard04.jpg

Nicolas Barbeito
New Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu, Jan 26 2012, 9:36AM
Company Name: Zimmerman Furniture Co
Country: UNITED STATES

Re: Applied End Trouble

Postby Nicolas Barbeito » Wed, Feb 15 2012, 3:51PM

It seems to be something with my export selection. I cannot get any cabinet to load properly using that. Even the generic cabinet goes all yellow on me when I export and then attempt to reload. But I take it that the original problem in not all that common then.

User avatar
Scott G Vaal
Thermwood Team
Posts: 1741
Joined: Tue, May 17 2005, 12:44PM
Company Name: Thermwood Corporation
Location: Thermwood Corp: Dale, Indiana
Contact:

Re: Applied End Trouble

Postby Scott G Vaal » Fri, Feb 17 2012, 9:12AM

Nicolas,

The export selection feature is not what you want to use here. On a day to day basis, you will very rarely use this feature and is ONLY used if you want to convert something into a display object. After you export something in this fashion, you need to take it to the display part editor and apply texture, mapping, etc.. If you save display objects in a cabinet directory location, and try to load it, it will indeed not understand what is loading (it wants and expects a cabinet, not a display object).

What we really need from you is your cabinet or assembly saved directly from the cabinet editor. Cabinets will have the *.hsf extension and assemblies will have *.esa. These files will exist in your user data path location under \cabinets or \assemblies. Another way is to give us a job file, which is a custom layout or batch that contains cabs/assms and will have *.esj extension. Hope this helps...
Regards,

Scott Vaal
-Thermwood/eCabinet Systems-
Dell Precision / Xeon E3-1240 / 8GB RAM /NVIDIA Quadro K2000

Nicolas Barbeito
New Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu, Jan 26 2012, 9:36AM
Company Name: Zimmerman Furniture Co
Country: UNITED STATES

Re: Applied End Trouble

Postby Nicolas Barbeito » Mon, Feb 27 2012, 10:27AM

Ok, I finally got around to posting this. Here should be a file that can be opened. You will see the trouble on the both sides of the dishwasher. It happens to me on both applied panels and applied doors.

Thanks,

Nicolas
Attachments
Hoover Test.esj
(3.54 MiB) Downloaded 94 times

Rick Palechuk
Wizard Member
Posts: 1896
Joined: Wed, May 18 2005, 7:54PM
Company Name: Milltech Millworks Ltd.
Country: CANADA
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Contact:

Re: Applied End Trouble

Postby Rick Palechuk » Mon, Feb 27 2012, 11:27PM

Nicolas, can you tell us step by step, how you added the Applied End to your cabinet.

User avatar
Kerry Fullington
Wizard Member
Posts: 4566
Joined: Mon, May 09 2005, 7:33PM
Company Name: ProSource of Amarillo
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Amarillo, TX

Re: Applied End Trouble

Postby Kerry Fullington » Tue, Feb 28 2012, 7:40AM

Nicolas,

I am not seeing the problem you describe. Cabinet Ends apply to your cabinets as expected

Nicolas Barbeito
New Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu, Jan 26 2012, 9:36AM
Company Name: Zimmerman Furniture Co
Country: UNITED STATES

Re: Applied End Trouble

Postby Nicolas Barbeito » Tue, Feb 28 2012, 7:58AM

Sorry, I deleted the wrong cabinets on the job. The uppers were the only ones giving trouble. Here is another file.

I apply them by selecting the cabinet in the floorplan, right click, pressing J then C, select what, side select what end, add a negative inset to the front ( to fit into the dadoe) and press apply.
Attachments
Hoover Test.esj
(6.37 MiB) Downloaded 86 times

User avatar
Scott G Vaal
Thermwood Team
Posts: 1741
Joined: Tue, May 17 2005, 12:44PM
Company Name: Thermwood Corporation
Location: Thermwood Corp: Dale, Indiana
Contact:

Re: Applied End Trouble

Postby Scott G Vaal » Wed, Feb 29 2012, 1:18PM

Nicolas,

Thanks for the post and getting us the job file. I have narrowed this issue down. It is caused by the bottom rail's deck float on the cabinet. I have added this to our issue list and should be fixed for a future release.
Regards,

Scott Vaal
-Thermwood/eCabinet Systems-
Dell Precision / Xeon E3-1240 / 8GB RAM /NVIDIA Quadro K2000


Return to “eCabinet Systems Software”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests