Hardware Hole Editor - Drill Operation or

Moderators: Jason Susnjara, Larry Epplin, Clint Buechlein, Scott G Vaal

J Sidney Smith
New Member
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri, Sep 18 2009, 1:00PM
Company Name: Lomans Fine Custom Cabinetry
Country: CANADA
Location: Halifax, Nova Scotia
Contact:

Hardware Hole Editor - Drill Operation or

Postby J Sidney Smith » Tue, Jul 08 2014, 8:09AM

Is a 5mm hole created with the hardware hole editor recognized as a drill operation that can be set up to drill with a 5mm drill tool?

Daniel Odom
Senior Member
Posts: 204
Joined: Thu, Oct 20 2011, 12:52PM
Company Name: Carlton Kitchen and Bath
Country: UNITED STATES

Re: Hardware Hole Editor - Drill Operation or

Postby Daniel Odom » Tue, Jul 08 2014, 10:56AM

If the machine has a 5mm drill set up @ the machine in the control nesting settings then it will try and drill with that, otherwise it will pocket it with the next possible tool.

J Sidney Smith
New Member
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri, Sep 18 2009, 1:00PM
Company Name: Lomans Fine Custom Cabinetry
Country: CANADA
Location: Halifax, Nova Scotia
Contact:

Re: Hardware Hole Editor - Drill Operation or

Postby J Sidney Smith » Tue, Jul 08 2014, 11:31AM

We have 5mm drill set up at machine; this is smallest diameter tool. It is drilling 5mm adjustable shelf holes on same job but does not seem to be recognized as an available tool for the 5mm dowel holes created in hardware hole editor for lock dado connectors.

User avatar
Josh Rayburn
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 1260
Joined: Wed, Jul 01 2009, 2:19PM
Company Name: Halls Edge Inc
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Stamford, CT USA
Contact:

Re: Hardware Hole Editor - Drill Operation or

Postby Josh Rayburn » Tue, Jul 08 2014, 3:46PM

Check your tolerance setting in Control Nesting - it should be at least 0.001" and I leave mine at 0.002" to be safe. It could be a rounding error.
Hope this helps,
jnr
Josh Rayburn
Hall's Edge, Inc.
CNC Machining Service


Dell Precision T3400
Win7 Professional 64 Bit/Core2Duo E8400 3ghz/4 GB Ram/NVIDIA Quadro FX570

User avatar
Gerry A Brown
Senior Member
Posts: 135
Joined: Fri, May 27 2005, 8:56AM
Company Name: Old Style Woodwork
Country: CANADA
Location: Southern Alberta

Re: Hardware Hole Editor - Drill Operation or

Postby Gerry A Brown » Wed, Jul 09 2014, 11:15AM

Hi,
I found if the drill bits are listed in the tool manager before the other tools CN will choose them first.

Gerry

J Sidney Smith
New Member
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri, Sep 18 2009, 1:00PM
Company Name: Lomans Fine Custom Cabinetry
Country: CANADA
Location: Halifax, Nova Scotia
Contact:

Re: Hardware Hole Editor - Drill Operation or

Postby J Sidney Smith » Fri, Jul 11 2014, 9:43AM

Setting tool tolerance to 0.001" was the fix.

Thanks to all.


Return to “eCabinet Systems Software”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests