I've been at this for years but making walls....

Moderators: Jason Susnjara, Larry Epplin, Clint Buechlein, Scott G Vaal

Leo Graywacz
Guru Member
Posts: 572
Joined: Tue, Jan 16 2007, 7:56PM
Company Name: LRG WoodCrafting
Location: Windsor Locks, CT
Contact:

I've been at this for years but making walls....

Postby Leo Graywacz » Sat, May 02 2015, 10:48AM

Is still a chore. Am I missing something? Is there a way to have the program continue on from the last point laid or do I need to manually set that.

I don't use the coordinate system when making walls for a room. I usually set my first point as 0,0 then move the mouse in the direction I want the wall to go and place in a length dimension. Then I have to zoom in close on that endpoint so I can connect the next wall to it. Is there a way for it to just start at that endpoint and continue on?
Dell Precision 7710
Intel Core i7-6820HQ @ 2.70GHz 16.00 GB RAM
NVIDIA Quadro M3000M
256 GB PCIe NVMe - M.2 SSD
Win 7 Pro 64-bit

http://lrgwood.com

Wally Schneeberger
Guru Member
Posts: 473
Joined: Tue, May 17 2005, 1:55PM

Re: I've been at this for years but making walls....

Postby Wally Schneeberger » Sat, May 02 2015, 2:49PM

Leo -- I make my walls clockwise and make sure that all 3 snaps are selected. I just did a quick layout and had no problems at all grabbing the ends.

11.jpg
Image

User avatar
Kerry Fullington
Wizard Member
Posts: 4566
Joined: Mon, May 09 2005, 7:33PM
Company Name: ProSource of Amarillo
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Amarillo, TX

Re: I've been at this for years but making walls....

Postby Kerry Fullington » Sat, May 02 2015, 3:47PM

Wally is on the right track but I would suggest only using Object snap if you are not drawing to a grid. You can use Angle Snap if you want to constrain walls to certain angles but you can always enter the angle you want after setting the wall length.

You might also make your pick box a little larger so it can find the corner node.

Kerry

Leo Graywacz
Guru Member
Posts: 572
Joined: Tue, Jan 16 2007, 7:56PM
Company Name: LRG WoodCrafting
Location: Windsor Locks, CT
Contact:

Re: I've been at this for years but making walls....

Postby Leo Graywacz » Sat, May 02 2015, 4:27PM

How do I turn on the snap function? Only asking cause I don't have my computer with me?
Dell Precision 7710
Intel Core i7-6820HQ @ 2.70GHz 16.00 GB RAM
NVIDIA Quadro M3000M
256 GB PCIe NVMe - M.2 SSD
Win 7 Pro 64-bit

http://lrgwood.com

User avatar
Kerry Fullington
Wizard Member
Posts: 4566
Joined: Mon, May 09 2005, 7:33PM
Company Name: ProSource of Amarillo
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Amarillo, TX

Re: I've been at this for years but making walls....

Postby Kerry Fullington » Sat, May 02 2015, 5:35PM

Leo,

In Custom Layout you can right click then check or uncheck Snap, Object Snap or Angle Snap

Leo Graywacz
Guru Member
Posts: 572
Joined: Tue, Jan 16 2007, 7:56PM
Company Name: LRG WoodCrafting
Location: Windsor Locks, CT
Contact:

Re: I've been at this for years but making walls....

Postby Leo Graywacz » Sat, May 02 2015, 5:57PM

Object snap.


That's the ticket. :beer:
Dell Precision 7710
Intel Core i7-6820HQ @ 2.70GHz 16.00 GB RAM
NVIDIA Quadro M3000M
256 GB PCIe NVMe - M.2 SSD
Win 7 Pro 64-bit

http://lrgwood.com


Return to “eCabinet Systems Software”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests