SB Link Printer Setup

Moderators: Jason Susnjara, Larry Epplin, Clint Buechlein, Scott G Vaal

Nat Wheatley
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 443
Joined: Wed, Apr 15 2009, 8:22PM
Company Name: Plymouth Custom Closets
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Plympton, MA

SB Link Printer Setup

Postby Nat Wheatley » Wed, Apr 06 2016, 7:20AM

In the SB LInk how do I permanently assign a printer to print labels? Each time I open the program it comes up the default printer for the computer to print them. I change it each time, but the changes don't stick.

Thanks
http://www.plymouthcustomclosets.com

Dell Precision 490/ Intel Xeon 3.20 Ghz/3 GB RAM/ Nvidia Quadro FX 3450/ Windows XP, sp 3

Donald Thomson
Guru Member
Posts: 672
Joined: Thu, May 14 2009, 11:41PM
Company Name: Diamond Lake Custom Woodworks
Location: Newport, WA
Contact:

Re: SB Link Printer Setup

Postby Donald Thomson » Wed, Apr 06 2016, 2:22PM

Hi Nat,

I struggled with this as SBLink does not behave like a normal Windows application. I found out you need to setup the printer in the Windows printer setup routine. Then SBLink will recognize it.
Sincerely,

Don Thomson
Diamond Lake Custom Woodworks, LLC
509-671-6230
Newport, WA
http://www.dlwoodworks.com

Nat Wheatley
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 443
Joined: Wed, Apr 15 2009, 8:22PM
Company Name: Plymouth Custom Closets
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Plympton, MA

Re: SB Link Printer Setup

Postby Nat Wheatley » Wed, Apr 06 2016, 2:34PM

I've got it set up and working, I just have to manually select that printer each time I open the Link. Wondering how I save it's automatically selected when I want to print labels.
http://www.plymouthcustomclosets.com

Dell Precision 490/ Intel Xeon 3.20 Ghz/3 GB RAM/ Nvidia Quadro FX 3450/ Windows XP, sp 3

Nat Wheatley
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 443
Joined: Wed, Apr 15 2009, 8:22PM
Company Name: Plymouth Custom Closets
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Plympton, MA

Re: SB Link Printer Setup

Postby Nat Wheatley » Fri, Apr 08 2016, 9:47AM

Anyone? It can be done, I had it setup correctly on my old computer, but have just replaced it.
http://www.plymouthcustomclosets.com

Dell Precision 490/ Intel Xeon 3.20 Ghz/3 GB RAM/ Nvidia Quadro FX 3450/ Windows XP, sp 3

Nat Wheatley
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 443
Joined: Wed, Apr 15 2009, 8:22PM
Company Name: Plymouth Custom Closets
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Plympton, MA

Re: SB Link Printer Setup

Postby Nat Wheatley » Fri, Jun 03 2016, 5:32AM

Does anyone know how to do this (Thermwood?) There's 9 keystrokes involved in manually selecting the printer and printing labels...
http://www.plymouthcustomclosets.com

Dell Precision 490/ Intel Xeon 3.20 Ghz/3 GB RAM/ Nvidia Quadro FX 3450/ Windows XP, sp 3

Ralph Balanik
Senior Member
Posts: 137
Joined: Fri, Jul 30 2010, 5:33PM
Company Name: Ralph Balanik
Country: CANADA

Re: SB Link Printer Setup

Postby Ralph Balanik » Fri, Jun 03 2016, 3:31PM

Is your printer that you are trying to use set up as the default printer in the devices printers setting in control panel on the computer that you are using? I have had this happen to me because I use different printers and the default gets changed on occasion ands it is not my fault :lol:

Nat Wheatley
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 443
Joined: Wed, Apr 15 2009, 8:22PM
Company Name: Plymouth Custom Closets
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Plympton, MA

Re: SB Link Printer Setup

Postby Nat Wheatley » Fri, Jun 03 2016, 3:37PM

I've got PDF factory setup as my default printer, because I believe if I setup the Dymo printer as default, then the extra steps would just switch over to printing the sheet layouts when I went to print those.
http://www.plymouthcustomclosets.com

Dell Precision 490/ Intel Xeon 3.20 Ghz/3 GB RAM/ Nvidia Quadro FX 3450/ Windows XP, sp 3

Ralph Balanik
Senior Member
Posts: 137
Joined: Fri, Jul 30 2010, 5:33PM
Company Name: Ralph Balanik
Country: CANADA

Re: SB Link Printer Setup

Postby Ralph Balanik » Fri, Jun 03 2016, 4:03PM

I checked it out. I created a nest and then selected print on th SB link. When the print screen came up I had the option of printing sheets or printing labels. I chose print labels and another pop up box presented and gave me the option to print to print the report to a window, to export, or to print to a printer. I chose printer and in printer options I chose the printer to print my labels. I only nested a couple of parts, so I hit the print button and my label printer which I chose, printed the labels. I closed out and then checked to see if when I chose print sheets that I had an appropriate printer. I use an epson as the default printer for documents and that was the correct printer for sheets.
I then closed the link, reopened it, and then created a new nest. I chose print and my label printer was still the default for labels and my document printer was the default for sheets.

Nat Wheatley
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 443
Joined: Wed, Apr 15 2009, 8:22PM
Company Name: Plymouth Custom Closets
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Plympton, MA

Re: SB Link Printer Setup

Postby Nat Wheatley » Fri, Jun 03 2016, 4:06PM

Those are the steps I'm following too, but it's not remembering the printer I'm choosing to print the labels for some reason.
http://www.plymouthcustomclosets.com

Dell Precision 490/ Intel Xeon 3.20 Ghz/3 GB RAM/ Nvidia Quadro FX 3450/ Windows XP, sp 3

Ralph Balanik
Senior Member
Posts: 137
Joined: Fri, Jul 30 2010, 5:33PM
Company Name: Ralph Balanik
Country: CANADA

Re: SB Link Printer Setup

Postby Ralph Balanik » Fri, Jun 03 2016, 4:34PM

What version of the link are you using ? Did you have to reinstall a bunch of stuff or were you fortunate enough to setup before your old system crashed?

Nat Wheatley
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 443
Joined: Wed, Apr 15 2009, 8:22PM
Company Name: Plymouth Custom Closets
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Plympton, MA

Re: SB Link Printer Setup

Postby Nat Wheatley » Fri, Jun 03 2016, 4:37PM

Should be the most recent version, but I'll check in the morning. I do still have the old control computer, so may take a look on there to see how things were setup. Thanks
http://www.plymouthcustomclosets.com

Dell Precision 490/ Intel Xeon 3.20 Ghz/3 GB RAM/ Nvidia Quadro FX 3450/ Windows XP, sp 3

Nat Wheatley
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 443
Joined: Wed, Apr 15 2009, 8:22PM
Company Name: Plymouth Custom Closets
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Plympton, MA

Re: SB Link Printer Setup

Postby Nat Wheatley » Mon, Jun 06 2016, 5:44AM

Most recent version of the Link is installed so not clear why it's not remembering my printer selection.
http://www.plymouthcustomclosets.com

Dell Precision 490/ Intel Xeon 3.20 Ghz/3 GB RAM/ Nvidia Quadro FX 3450/ Windows XP, sp 3

Ralph Balanik
Senior Member
Posts: 137
Joined: Fri, Jul 30 2010, 5:33PM
Company Name: Ralph Balanik
Country: CANADA

Re: SB Link Printer Setup

Postby Ralph Balanik » Mon, Jun 06 2016, 9:00AM

For the past month I have done nothing but overcome computer issues. Since you have just put a new computer into your system is there any thing new in terms of the preinstalled programs that might be interfering? There are a lot of programs that automatically update and they can have an effect on how certain programs work (or Don't). There is a beta version of the link 1.0.21 Beta 1 in case you are unaware though I am not sure that it will resolve printer issues. To the best of my knowledge that is the most current version but you need to contact the folks at Thermwood for a link to the link :D I am kinda grasping at straws here in an effort to help so I am sorry if I haven't anything worth while, I do understand the frustration.

Nat Wheatley
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 443
Joined: Wed, Apr 15 2009, 8:22PM
Company Name: Plymouth Custom Closets
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Plympton, MA

Re: SB Link Printer Setup

Postby Nat Wheatley » Mon, Jun 06 2016, 9:04AM

Thanks very much. I'm going to hook up my old control computer later on today (hopefully) and take a look at how things are setup there.
http://www.plymouthcustomclosets.com

Dell Precision 490/ Intel Xeon 3.20 Ghz/3 GB RAM/ Nvidia Quadro FX 3450/ Windows XP, sp 3


Return to “eCabinet Systems Software”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests