holes missing from cabinets

Moderators: Jason Susnjara, Larry Epplin, Clint Buechlein, Scott G Vaal

Chris Armstrong
Junior Member
Posts: 69
Joined: Tue, May 19 2015, 7:44PM
Company Name: Classic Cabinetry
Country: AUSTRALIA

holes missing from cabinets

Postby Chris Armstrong » Thu, Oct 13 2016, 9:35PM

recently we have been getting cabinets without hinge plate holes or drawer runner holes. also construction screw holes havent been added as well.

ive looked at the job in ecabinets and it is displaying the holes that should be there but the cut cabinets havent got the holes.

the patterns we use for our hinge plate and drawer runners and construction screw holes havent change and had been working flawlessly before.

the strange part is on cabinet in the same job has got the drawer runner holes.

attached is my assembly file

hancos issure.esa
(4.71 MiB) Downloaded 33 times


also below is a shared dropbox file which is the cnc file of the cabinets.
https://www.dropbox.com/s/p3cemzxcb2t1b0j/hancox%20kitchen.CNC?dl=0

any ideas as to why the 5mm holes are missing from the cnc file but displaying in the assembly file?

thanks

Clint Buechlein
Thermwood Team
Posts: 170
Joined: Fri, May 15 2015, 1:21PM
Company Name: Thermwood Corp
Country: UNITED STATES

Re: holes missing from cabinets

Postby Clint Buechlein » Fri, Oct 14 2016, 8:42AM

Chris,

Can you send an export of your Control Nesting and the .twd you nested to create this code? I loaded your assembly into eCabinets and wrote to CNC without doing any material thickness changes. Loading into Control Nesting with a random export I had, nesting along X, filtering out only the Mel 16 Pbd HMR material, and writing to CNC cuts all the holes. I want to try to reproduce using your settings.

Does it happen every time with these cabinets, or is it a random occurrence on different cabinets and assemblies?

-Clint-

Stuart Douglas
Junior Member
Posts: 67
Joined: Fri, Apr 10 2015, 7:57AM
Company Name: Bergman Custom Casework LLC
Country: UNITED STATES

Re: holes missing from cabinets

Postby Stuart Douglas » Fri, Oct 14 2016, 1:21PM

At the risk of sounding like a smarta$$, check your boring bit tips. If the pattern is there and the code is right, then you should see your machine try to make the moves, too. Witness the program as it cuts. I've had a bad bit twist the tip right off. Sometimes, the simplest answer is one overlooked.

Clint Buechlein
Thermwood Team
Posts: 170
Joined: Fri, May 15 2015, 1:21PM
Company Name: Thermwood Corp
Country: UNITED STATES

Re: holes missing from cabinets

Postby Clint Buechlein » Fri, Oct 14 2016, 2:08PM

Stuart Douglas wrote:At the risk of sounding like a smarta$$, check your boring bit tips. If the pattern is there and the code is right, then you should see your machine try to make the moves, too. Witness the program as it cuts. I've had a bad bit twist the tip right off. Sometimes, the simplest answer is one overlooked.


Unfortunately the file he has above does not have the code for the drills. I can generate a CNC file with the holes without issue, but I may not be doing the same thing he is.

-Clint-

Chris Armstrong
Junior Member
Posts: 69
Joined: Tue, May 19 2015, 7:44PM
Company Name: Classic Cabinetry
Country: AUSTRALIA

Re: holes missing from cabinets

Postby Chris Armstrong » Sat, Oct 15 2016, 3:46AM

We currently dont use the drill bank as we nees to adjust it as its out of place but havent had time

To make do we've set up a 5mm drill in the main tool section. Havent had an issue till now.

Its doing it on this assembly without fail but as mentioned it has not always been the case on other jobs.

I will get you an export monday as im currently away for the weekend.

Thanks

Chris

Chris Armstrong
Junior Member
Posts: 69
Joined: Tue, May 19 2015, 7:44PM
Company Name: Classic Cabinetry
Country: AUSTRALIA

Re: holes missing from cabinets

Postby Chris Armstrong » Mon, Oct 17 2016, 8:55PM

i resent again and renested, from what i can see the holes are now in.

it makes no sense. seems to be an occasional error.

here is a link to the export so you can have a look at it

https://www.dropbox.com/s/2y3fh0fnn4wu1px/ControlNest5-93.cab?dl=0

Chris Armstrong
Junior Member
Posts: 69
Joined: Tue, May 19 2015, 7:44PM
Company Name: Classic Cabinetry
Country: AUSTRALIA

Re: holes missing from cabinets

Postby Chris Armstrong » Mon, Oct 17 2016, 8:59PM


Clint Buechlein
Thermwood Team
Posts: 170
Joined: Fri, May 15 2015, 1:21PM
Company Name: Thermwood Corp
Country: UNITED STATES

Re: holes missing from cabinets

Postby Clint Buechlein » Tue, Oct 18 2016, 9:36AM

Chris Armstrong wrote:i resent again and renested, from what i can see the holes are now in.

it makes no sense. seems to be an occasional error.

here is a link to the export so you can have a look at it

https://www.dropbox.com/s/2y3fh0fnn4wu1px/ControlNest5-93.cab?dl=0


Do you have the original .twd from when the holes were missing? If I have that we should be able to tell if eCabinets didn't send the information for the holes, or if Control Nesting didn't find the information.

-Clint-

Chris Armstrong
Junior Member
Posts: 69
Joined: Tue, May 19 2015, 7:44PM
Company Name: Classic Cabinetry
Country: AUSTRALIA

Re: holes missing from cabinets

Postby Chris Armstrong » Tue, Oct 18 2016, 7:50PM

oringinal twd file is a whole kitchen

cabinets 2,4,6 are the main culprits.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/f5eeoeov9s849qw/5137%20-%20hancox%20kitchen.twd?dl=0

Clint Buechlein
Thermwood Team
Posts: 170
Joined: Fri, May 15 2015, 1:21PM
Company Name: Thermwood Corp
Country: UNITED STATES

Re: holes missing from cabinets

Postby Clint Buechlein » Wed, Oct 19 2016, 8:16AM

Chris,

Do you remember your exact steps when you created the original .twd? I'm sure I'm reaching but if you can remember it may help us narrow down whats happening. Are you loading the assembly into Cabinet Editor then writing to CNC, is it loaded in batch and wrote to CNC, is it in a room layout and wrote to CNC, do you say yes to material thickness change then OK without making changes, etc? I know you said it has been more random, but if we can narrow down repeatability we should be able to correct the issue.

-Clint-

Chris Armstrong
Junior Member
Posts: 69
Joined: Tue, May 19 2015, 7:44PM
Company Name: Classic Cabinetry
Country: AUSTRALIA

Re: holes missing from cabinets

Postby Chris Armstrong » Wed, Oct 19 2016, 11:00PM

i save the assembly then i go to batch assembly, then i save the esj, then cnc file down to thermwood.

i click no to change material thickness as its set to the correct depth


Return to “eCabinet Systems Software”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 10 guests