Catalog Cabinets

Moderators: Jason Susnjara, Larry Epplin, Clint Buechlein, Scott G Vaal

User avatar
Kerry Fullington
Wizard Member
Posts: 4566
Joined: Mon, May 09 2005, 7:33PM
Company Name: ProSource of Amarillo
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Amarillo, TX

Catalog Cabinets

Postby Kerry Fullington » Sat, Oct 22 2016, 9:25AM

When you save a cabinet as a Catalog Cabinet it locks the dimensions when placed in a Batch of Custom Layout but I also need dimensions locked in the Cabinet Editor so that the locks cannot be turned off. I need cabinets where dimensions cannot be altered anywhere in the software.
Any Ideas.

Mark McCallum
Senior Member
Posts: 229
Joined: Thu, Jun 16 2005, 7:53PM
Location: Sydney Aust

Re: Catalog Cabinets

Postby Mark McCallum » Sat, Oct 22 2016, 7:04PM

Hi Kerry.
I haven't played with this section and you probably already know about it,
But there is a section under file>design lock>add design lock or remove design lock that sort of looks a bit like what you are describing.
Mark

User avatar
Kerry Fullington
Wizard Member
Posts: 4566
Joined: Mon, May 09 2005, 7:33PM
Company Name: ProSource of Amarillo
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Amarillo, TX

Re: Catalog Cabinets

Postby Kerry Fullington » Sat, Oct 22 2016, 7:30PM

Thanks Mark,

I thought you might be right but The Design Lock feature only limits access to certain files to a specific group of users. It doesn't lock the design itself.

Mark McCallum
Senior Member
Posts: 229
Joined: Thu, Jun 16 2005, 7:53PM
Location: Sydney Aust

Re: Catalog Cabinets

Postby Mark McCallum » Sat, Oct 29 2016, 6:09PM

Hi Kerry
I think I see where you are coming from here.
You give out a catalogue of cabinets with standard prices to a designer and they (probably inadvertently) screw around with sizes and fitting types in the CE and it wouldn't show up until it hits the machine.
Then I would imagine its wasting material, time and money.
Sometimes I would imagine you would like to lock even cabinet widths so you can stock standard size doors that take longer to prepare.

Is this anywhere close to your reasoning?
Mark

User avatar
Kerry Fullington
Wizard Member
Posts: 4566
Joined: Mon, May 09 2005, 7:33PM
Company Name: ProSource of Amarillo
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Amarillo, TX

Re: Catalog Cabinets

Postby Kerry Fullington » Sun, Oct 30 2016, 11:02AM

Mark,

You are correct. I have some cabinets like curved vent hoods that have added parts (the outer skins) that are not easy to re-size automatically so I want the cabinet completely locked. I also have many cabinets that are appliance specific (Drawer Microwaves, Built in Refrigerators etc.) and some that are hardware specific (Blum Space Corners, spice rack pullouts etc.) that I don't want to allow any changes to. There are also cabinets that have arches with panel profiles included. Changes in these cause problems with the profile cuts.
Some of my cabinets can't even have the material thickness changed when writing the twd file because it causes them to lose part editor cuts.

I am looking for a way to create a true catalog cabinet that cannot be changed in any way except by me.


Return to “eCabinet Systems Software”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests