Added option to import DXF polylines as lines or as arcs (Enhanced)

Moderators: Jason Susnjara, Larry Epplin, Clint Buechlein, Scott G Vaal

Scott Marshburn
Guru Member
Posts: 744
Joined: Sat, Mar 05 2011, 7:29AM
Company Name: Heritage WoodWorks
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Jacksonville Nc
Contact:

Added option to import DXF polylines as lines or as arcs (Enhanced)

Postby Scott Marshburn » Wed, May 17 2017, 3:35PM

I tried to use this option but the geometry is still imported as line segments. has anyone used this feature?
Yes! Oh Yes! I Think We Are Going to make It!
https://www.youtube.com/user/ecabinetstips

Clint Buechlein
Thermwood Team
Posts: 182
Joined: Fri, May 15 2015, 1:21PM
Company Name: Thermwood Corp
Country: UNITED STATES

Re: Added option to import DXF polylines as lines or as arcs (Enhanced)

Postby Clint Buechlein » Thu, May 18 2017, 7:19AM

Scott Marshburn wrote:I tried to use this option but the geometry is still imported as line segments. has anyone used this feature?


Scott,

If your geometry coming in is line segments, it won't convert them to arcs. There was an issue found that sometimes when bringing in a DXF, the reader for DXFs would break some arcs into line segments. If we did a full update on the reader, polylines wouldn't work as they were previously. So to keep everyone happy, a toggle was added in.

-Clint-

David Giesbrecht
Junior Member
Posts: 67
Joined: Thu, Mar 03 2011, 10:40PM
Company Name: Silverpine Cabinets
Country: CANADA

Re: Added option to import DXF polylines as lines or as arcs (Enhanced)

Postby David Giesbrecht » Thu, May 18 2017, 2:15PM

Just wondering were to find the toggle, could someone post a screen shot? Is it just when poly lines are detected?
David Giesbrecht
Inter(R) Core(TM) i7-7700CPU OC@ 4.8 GHz
8.00 GB DDR5 2133MHz
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 970 4GB
Z270x-Gaming 5 MOBO
1TB Samsung 960PRO SSD

David Giesbrecht
Junior Member
Posts: 67
Joined: Thu, Mar 03 2011, 10:40PM
Company Name: Silverpine Cabinets
Country: CANADA

Re: Added option to import DXF polylines as lines or as arcs (Enhanced)

Postby David Giesbrecht » Thu, May 18 2017, 2:23PM

So this is the poly line I am trying to bring in, and it breaks it into short lines.
Capture.JPG
David Giesbrecht
Inter(R) Core(TM) i7-7700CPU OC@ 4.8 GHz
8.00 GB DDR5 2133MHz
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 970 4GB
Z270x-Gaming 5 MOBO
1TB Samsung 960PRO SSD

User avatar
Brad McIntosh
Guru Member
Posts: 484
Joined: Wed, May 18 2005, 6:59PM
Company Name: CNC Automation
Location: St. Zotique, Québec, Canada
Contact:

Re: Added option to import DXF polylines as lines or as arcs (Enhanced)

Postby Brad McIntosh » Thu, May 18 2017, 2:39PM

The polyline has to be originally created with line and arc segments. A "spline" like you have illustrated will be broken into small lines as there are no original arc entities which define it.

Clint Buechlein
Thermwood Team
Posts: 182
Joined: Fri, May 15 2015, 1:21PM
Company Name: Thermwood Corp
Country: UNITED STATES

Re: Added option to import DXF polylines as lines or as arcs (Enhanced)

Postby Clint Buechlein » Thu, May 18 2017, 3:05PM

David Giesbrecht wrote:Just wondering were to find the toggle, could someone post a screen shot? Is it just when poly lines are detected?


It is available in two places, Contour Mode of Part Editor, and Shape Manager.

Contour Mode.JPG


Shape Manager.JPG


-Clint-

User avatar
Brad McIntosh
Guru Member
Posts: 484
Joined: Wed, May 18 2005, 6:59PM
Company Name: CNC Automation
Location: St. Zotique, Québec, Canada
Contact:

Re: Added option to import DXF polylines as lines or as arcs (Enhanced)

Postby Brad McIntosh » Thu, May 18 2017, 3:14PM

Here is an example of a polyline created with arc and line segments. Note: You need a panel of x=42, y=60.

PolyLine-Example-With Arcs.jpg
PolyLine-Example-With Arcs.jpg (12.72 KiB) Viewed 932 times
Attachments
Polyline Test.dxf.txt
Remove the .txt extension.
(22.61 KiB) Downloaded 23 times

David Giesbrecht
Junior Member
Posts: 67
Joined: Thu, Mar 03 2011, 10:40PM
Company Name: Silverpine Cabinets
Country: CANADA

Re: Added option to import DXF polylines as lines or as arcs (Enhanced)

Postby David Giesbrecht » Thu, May 18 2017, 3:27PM

Thanks Brad and Clint. Also Ecabinets, great feature. The top one was a poly line the bottom was a spline.
David Giesbrecht
Inter(R) Core(TM) i7-7700CPU OC@ 4.8 GHz
8.00 GB DDR5 2133MHz
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 970 4GB
Z270x-Gaming 5 MOBO
1TB Samsung 960PRO SSD


Return to “eCabinet Systems Software”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests