glass Doors how to

Moderators: Jason Susnjara, Larry Epplin, Clint Buechlein, Scott G Vaal

Will Williamson
Guru Member
Posts: 417
Joined: Thu, Dec 08 2005, 6:10PM
Company Name: Williamson Finewoodwork
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Capac MI
Contact:

glass Doors how to

Postby Will Williamson » Thu, Jul 11 2019, 8:48AM

How can you make, a one piece, mdf or slab door, open for glass? short of going into the part editor and drawing each door.
After 13 years of owning my machine, I am finally doing my first set of Kitchen Cabinets.
Will

http://www.willmade.com

KEG/Intel Core i 7 CPU K875 @ 2.93 GHZ/12G Ram
Dual boot XP PRO/Windows 7 Nvidia Quatro 600 1Gig Ram

User avatar
Jeremy Schiffer
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 1053
Joined: Tue, May 10 2005, 9:36PM
Location: Carnesville, GA
Contact:

Re: glass Doors how to

Postby Jeremy Schiffer » Thu, Jul 11 2019, 1:28PM

Use a cabinet part (the back is convenient), make your part editor cuts in it - two rectangles, one inside the other - cut the inner rectangle thru, and the outer rectangle 1/4" deep or so. Then take it to the constraint manager and constrain it to the dimensions you need. Save it, and use it as a seed.

glass door.JPG
Glass door made from cabinet back
http://www.corlanecabinetry.com

Intel Core i7-5820 3.3GHz, 16GB RAM, NVidia Quadro K2200 4GB, Windows 8.1 Pro 64 bit

Will Williamson
Guru Member
Posts: 417
Joined: Thu, Dec 08 2005, 6:10PM
Company Name: Williamson Finewoodwork
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Capac MI
Contact:

Re: glass Doors how to

Postby Will Williamson » Thu, Jul 11 2019, 2:57PM

Thanks Jeremy
Will

http://www.willmade.com

KEG/Intel Core i 7 CPU K875 @ 2.93 GHZ/12G Ram
Dual boot XP PRO/Windows 7 Nvidia Quatro 600 1Gig Ram

Leo Graywacz
Guru Member
Posts: 623
Joined: Tue, Jan 16 2007, 7:56PM
Company Name: LRG WoodCrafting
Location: Windsor Locks, CT
Contact:

Re: glass Doors how to

Postby Leo Graywacz » Thu, Aug 01 2019, 9:06PM

If you go into the door editor, then to the GENERAL tab, there is a check box to have a frame only, another to add glass and an area to add mullions.
Dell Precision 7710
Intel Core i7-6820HQ @ 2.70GHz 16.00 GB RAM
NVIDIA Quadro M3000M
512 GB PCIe NVMe - M.2 SSD
Win 7 Pro 64-bit

http://lrgwood.com

Will Williamson
Guru Member
Posts: 417
Joined: Thu, Dec 08 2005, 6:10PM
Company Name: Williamson Finewoodwork
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Capac MI
Contact:

Re: glass Doors how to

Postby Will Williamson » Wed, Aug 07 2019, 1:59PM

Thanks Leo, But it looks like that only applies if you are using Conestoga Doors
Will

http://www.willmade.com

KEG/Intel Core i 7 CPU K875 @ 2.93 GHZ/12G Ram
Dual boot XP PRO/Windows 7 Nvidia Quatro 600 1Gig Ram

Justin Bellows
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun, Aug 09 2015, 2:59PM
Company Name: Miracle Millworks
Country: UNITED STATES

Re: glass Doors how to

Postby Justin Bellows » Mon, Feb 17 2020, 8:55AM

Ok so I'm trying to create a basic shaker door cut for glass. The door & drawer creator doesn't seem to want to cooperate. Any suggestions?

Leo Graywacz
Guru Member
Posts: 623
Joined: Tue, Jan 16 2007, 7:56PM
Company Name: LRG WoodCrafting
Location: Windsor Locks, CT
Contact:

Re: glass Doors how to

Postby Leo Graywacz » Mon, Feb 17 2020, 9:07AM

How's it not cooperating?
Dell Precision 7710
Intel Core i7-6820HQ @ 2.70GHz 16.00 GB RAM
NVIDIA Quadro M3000M
512 GB PCIe NVMe - M.2 SSD
Win 7 Pro 64-bit

http://lrgwood.com

User avatar
Brad McIntosh
Guru Member
Posts: 536
Joined: Wed, May 18 2005, 6:59PM
Company Name: CNC Automation
Country: CANADA
Location: St. Zotique, Québec, Canada
Contact:

Re: glass Doors how to

Postby Brad McIntosh » Mon, Feb 17 2020, 9:28AM

Just so everyone is on the same page...

When discussing "How to make 'glass doors'...?", one has to specify if one's aim is "For display purposes within eCabinet Systems only" or you need to be able to "Send MDF 'glass' doors to the machine to be cut".
Brad McIntosh
CNC Automation

Home: http://www.cncautomation.com
Twitter: @bmcncautomation

Will Williamson
Guru Member
Posts: 417
Joined: Thu, Dec 08 2005, 6:10PM
Company Name: Williamson Finewoodwork
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Capac MI
Contact:

Re: glass Doors how to

Postby Will Williamson » Mon, Feb 17 2020, 11:10AM

In my case, I want both.
My last adventure, I cut solid doors and them used Aspire, to cut the glass opening and the rebates.
Very pron. to making errors.
On my doors I needed a flip operation
as I profile the glass opening edge, in addition to rebating, the back for glass
Will

http://www.willmade.com

KEG/Intel Core i 7 CPU K875 @ 2.93 GHZ/12G Ram
Dual boot XP PRO/Windows 7 Nvidia Quatro 600 1Gig Ram

Leo Graywacz
Guru Member
Posts: 623
Joined: Tue, Jan 16 2007, 7:56PM
Company Name: LRG WoodCrafting
Location: Windsor Locks, CT
Contact:

Re: glass Doors how to

Postby Leo Graywacz » Mon, Feb 17 2020, 11:20AM

Sorry, I'm out. I can tell you how to make them show up in the program for the rendering but I can't tell you what to do to get them to the machine. Good luck. :beer:
Dell Precision 7710
Intel Core i7-6820HQ @ 2.70GHz 16.00 GB RAM
NVIDIA Quadro M3000M
512 GB PCIe NVMe - M.2 SSD
Win 7 Pro 64-bit

http://lrgwood.com

Forrest Chapman
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 1148
Joined: Mon, May 30 2005, 2:26PM
Location: Anderson SC.
Contact:

Re: glass Doors how to

Postby Forrest Chapman » Tue, Feb 18 2020, 11:22AM

Unfortunately Will it can't be done until they give us the option to make part edits on doors and save them off to a library so they can be applied on a global level. Been asking for that for well over 10 years. What I've been doing is taking my door list and create a batch file in the same job using the modified cabinet back such as Jeremy posted. Total pain in the butt and mistakes can happen but it's the only workaround we have.

Forrest


Return to “eCabinet Systems Software”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 36 guests