Holy #*&% !!!!!!!

Moderators: Jason Susnjara, Larry Epplin, Clint Buechlein, Scott G Vaal

User avatar
Kerry Fullington
Wizard Member
Posts: 4619
Joined: Mon, May 09 2005, 7:33PM
Company Name: Double E Cabinets
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Amarillo, TX

Postby Kerry Fullington » Thu, Jun 15 2006, 8:50PM

Very nice detail Mike,
I can see why you are excited. It is the little things that make a drawing stand out.
Kerry

Mike Seisser
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 544
Joined: Wed, Feb 22 2006, 11:40PM
Company Name: NCB Inc.
Country: UNITED STATES

Postby Mike Seisser » Thu, Jun 15 2006, 9:51PM

Tom,

No. And with a CNC you can easily perform eased stops and starts too. Which is my next trick, I hope....although because I'm working with a virtual router I don't think it can happen.

Maybe v5? 6 weeks......

Mike
Proper Planning Prevents Poor Production.

User avatar
Tom Houser
Senior Member
Posts: 165
Joined: Wed, May 18 2005, 8:26PM
Location: Coos Bay, Or.
Contact:

Postby Tom Houser » Thu, Jun 15 2006, 10:15PM

Thats the way I have set up to do it on the pin router. 1 1/4\" ease in and out. It's one of those subtle things that makes a piece.
Thom Houser
http://www.thouser.com
A person who never made a mistake
never tried anything new.
A. Einstein

Michael Yeargain
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 1738
Joined: Tue, May 17 2005, 8:33PM
Company Name: Timeless Cabinetry and Mantles
Location: South East
Contact:

Postby Michael Yeargain » Sun, Jun 18 2006, 9:03AM

No Tom,

The Thermwood router will cut flutes as it should. However, you should note that the display cube is for display purposes. But, If you apply this to an actual part, the flutes will be cut \"wrong\". It will route with the flute bit the same way so the outcome will not be what you want. If you use the router and apply this to a part you will only need to create the lines not the arcs on either end.

hope this makes sense.

mike

By the way that is an ingenious method to make the flutes to look right in the software. good job.
Windows 7 Pro/10 Pro 64 bit
AMD Phenom 9650 Quad-Core Processor 2.3Ghz 8GRAM 1TB
NVIDIA GeForce GT 220 1GB

User avatar
Tom Houser
Senior Member
Posts: 165
Joined: Wed, May 18 2005, 8:26PM
Location: Coos Bay, Or.
Contact:

Postby Tom Houser » Sun, Jun 18 2006, 9:50AM

Thank you Michael. I figured that something as simple as a flute would be a piece of cake for a CNC machine.
Thom Houser

http://www.thouser.com

A person who never made a mistake

never tried anything new.

A. Einstein

Mike Farrington
New Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed, Mar 28 2007, 9:31AM

Flute tools?

Postby Mike Farrington » Wed, Dec 12 2007, 12:29PM

I am haveing trouble cutting the three point arcs. There seems to be a little point in the \"middle\" of the three point arc. The tool is not removing all the material from the round end of the flute. When I use a 1/4 diameter tool it leaves the \"point\". When I use the 1/2 dia tool it says the operation is not possible. I have tried offsetting the tool as well and I cant get the correct results. Im not sure what the problem is. My guess is that its right infront of my face and I just cant see it.

Please Help! I need to have this design done soon!

Geo Noeth
Senior Member
Posts: 168
Joined: Fri, Jul 15 2005, 6:35PM
Location: Charlotte NC

Postby Geo Noeth » Wed, Dec 12 2007, 12:50PM

I needed some fluted columns for a job a while back. I just drew them up sent the file to Chapman cabinets and received fluted columns when I picked up the parts. Didn't realize it was a big deal. Forrest did you have this problem?

User avatar
Jody Wilmes
Guru Member
Posts: 252
Joined: Tue, May 17 2005, 2:06PM
Company Name: Thermwood
Country: UNITED STATES
Contact:

Postby Jody Wilmes » Wed, Dec 12 2007, 12:51PM

You'll need to post either the cabinet/assembly/part that you're talking about so we can look into it. Thanks.
Image

Mike Farrington
New Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed, Mar 28 2007, 9:31AM

pics: what is wrong?

Postby Mike Farrington » Wed, Dec 12 2007, 4:40PM

Well after about 3 hours of trying to figure this out I decided to ask you guys. Any help would be great.
Attachments
Fluted Leg pic.jpg
I really cant figure out what is going on.
Fluted Leg pic.jpg (14.92 KiB) Viewed 4803 times

User avatar
DanEpps
Wizard Member
Posts: 5852
Joined: Thu, Jul 28 2005, 10:18AM
Company Name: Dan Epps
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Rocky Face GA

Postby DanEpps » Wed, Dec 12 2007, 5:14PM

Mike

Two things...first, you only posted a JPG...you need to post the .HSF file.

Second, and most importantly, are you having the part cut on a CNC or is this just for display purposes? If you are cutting the part on a CNC you DO NOT NEED THE 3-POINT ARCS.

Mike Farrington
New Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed, Mar 28 2007, 9:31AM

Postby Mike Farrington » Wed, Dec 12 2007, 5:27PM

I am doing this for display purposes. I need this to look very good. I know how to do stop flutes with a squared off ends and yes I know that a CNC will cut them that way. However I would like to figure out how to make things look really spiffy. As far as the jpg vs the hsf. I only posted this picture to see if it would help someone figure out the problem. Im not really sure what an hsf file is. Is it a pic of the part editor?

User avatar
DanEpps
Wizard Member
Posts: 5852
Joined: Thu, Jul 28 2005, 10:18AM
Company Name: Dan Epps
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Rocky Face GA

Postby DanEpps » Wed, Dec 12 2007, 5:33PM

A .HSF file is the cabinet, .ESA is an assembly and .ESJ is a job file.

I'm not exactly sure what you are having problems with from the picture you posted. Are you following Mike's instructions to the letter?

Mike Farrington
New Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed, Mar 28 2007, 9:31AM

Postby Mike Farrington » Wed, Dec 12 2007, 5:58PM

If you look at the top (rounded) part of the flute. There is a little point that is not being \"excavated\" by the tool. In other words, as the tool goes around the arc its not hollowing out the center. If you look at the pic I posted, you can see a little shadow line near the top of the flute. That is what is giving me trouble.

User avatar
DanEpps
Wizard Member
Posts: 5852
Joined: Thu, Jul 28 2005, 10:18AM
Company Name: Dan Epps
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Rocky Face GA

Postby DanEpps » Wed, Dec 12 2007, 6:10PM

Exit the Part Editor and post a picture of the part from the Cabinet Editor. Things don't look exactly correct in the Part Editor.

User avatar
DanEpps
Wizard Member
Posts: 5852
Joined: Thu, Jul 28 2005, 10:18AM
Company Name: Dan Epps
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Rocky Face GA

Postby DanEpps » Wed, Dec 12 2007, 6:21PM

I think I see what you are talking about now. Is the attached picture like what you see?
Attachments
fluted Column.jpg
fluted Column.jpg (43.46 KiB) Viewed 4763 times


Return to “eCabinet Systems Software”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests