Editing Doors/Drawers That are Already Added

Moderators: Jason Susnjara, Larry Epplin, Clint Buechlein, Scott G Vaal

Jeff Whippo
New Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue, Jan 09 2007, 8:19AM

Editing Doors/Drawers That are Already Added

Postby Jeff Whippo » Thu, Jan 11 2007, 8:07AM

Hi

My first project with ECab is a set of base/upper cabinets for my garage/workshop. Had it all designed using 3/4 plywood for everything (ok, it's a garage). Last night I decided that I'd rather use MDF for the drawer fronts and doors. I could not find a way to change the material for these pieces (total 15 doors/drawers) without removing them all in the cabinet editor and then reinstalling. This would have taken several hours because I took some time to get all the insets/overlays just right. My motivation for changing the design was to reoptimize the cut sheet layouts (where it lays out all the pieces on the 4x8 sheet goods for best yield) placing the doors/drawer fronts on MDF.

Seems to me there would be a simple way to edit the existing doors/drawers but the only way I've been able to do this is to remove and reinstall. Not complaining - software seems very capable at this point! Any ideas?

Jeff

Forrest Chapman
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 1091
Joined: Mon, May 30 2005, 2:26PM
Location: Anderson SC.
Contact:

Postby Forrest Chapman » Thu, Jan 11 2007, 8:55AM

Jeff,

In Detail room right click, choose all cabs. Right click again and choose edit cabs-change-Doors. This will take you to the door selections.

Forrest

Jeff Whippo
New Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue, Jan 09 2007, 8:19AM

Postby Jeff Whippo » Thu, Jan 11 2007, 1:19PM

Great - thanks Forrest - how about this one: Is it possible to change the dimensions of a cabinet and have the drawer (and drawer boxes) resize automatically keeping the same overlays/insets as specified while adding them?

User avatar
Denis L'Heureux
Guru Member
Posts: 398
Joined: Tue, May 17 2005, 12:41PM
Location: In the Boonies near Oromocto, NB, Canada

Postby Denis L'Heureux » Thu, Jan 11 2007, 1:22PM

You can do that also from the detail layout. Dbl click on the cabinet...right click and select Resize Cabinet. A box will pop up where you can select the new size and whether you want it to resize from left, right or both sides. You can also change the height and depth.

Doors, drawer fronts and drawer boxes will resize also.

Hope this helps.
Image

User avatar
Denis L'Heureux
Guru Member
Posts: 398
Joined: Tue, May 17 2005, 12:41PM
Location: In the Boonies near Oromocto, NB, Canada

Postby Denis L'Heureux » Thu, Jan 11 2007, 1:25PM

You can do that also from the detail layout. Dbl click on the cabinet...right click and select Resize Cabinet. A box will pop up where you can select the new size and whether you want it to resize from left, right or both sides. You can also change the height and depth.

Doors, drawer fronts and drawer boxes will resize also.

Hope this helps.
Image

Jeff Whippo
New Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue, Jan 09 2007, 8:19AM

Postby Jeff Whippo » Fri, Jan 12 2007, 7:36AM

Thanks - I've used that feature, could of sworn that the d boxes did not resize. I'll check again...

User avatar
Denis L'Heureux
Guru Member
Posts: 398
Joined: Tue, May 17 2005, 12:41PM
Location: In the Boonies near Oromocto, NB, Canada

Postby Denis L'Heureux » Fri, Jan 12 2007, 9:19AM

I might be mistaking here but I think if the d box was added with the d front, it will resize...it may not if it was added by itself.

Again, not sure but mine normally re-size /me thinks
Image


Return to “eCabinet Systems Software”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 7 guests