Cabinet Editor suggestion

Moderators: Jason Susnjara, Larry Epplin, Clint Buechlein, Scott G Vaal

Rolf Bergstrom
Senior Member
Posts: 222
Joined: Thu, May 19 2005, 2:12PM
Location: Glendale, AZ
Contact:

Cabinet Editor suggestion

Postby Rolf Bergstrom » Fri, Jan 26 2007, 6:08PM

Wouldn't it make more sense to have parts associated to the cabinet by default?
It seems (to me anyway) that when you add a display panel or board, molding, whatever to a cabinet in the cabinet editor that you usually want that part associated with the cabinet. Personally, I can't think of a situation where I would not want the part associated with the cabinet. If for some reason you did not want the part associated you could always disassociate it.
I know I have lost work many times by forgetting this little step (I just did about an hours worth of mitered moldings and part editor cuts on parts and guess what...? Yep). At least if you forget to disassociate the part you can go back and fix it easily.

User avatar
DanEpps
Wizard Member
Posts: 5852
Joined: Thu, Jul 28 2005, 10:18AM
Company Name: Dan Epps
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Rocky Face GA

Postby DanEpps » Fri, Jan 26 2007, 6:18PM

If you have a cabinet selected when adding parts, they are automatically associated.

Now having said that, I agree with you because I forget to select the cabinet before adding parts. It certainly would be nice to have parts automatically associated whether the cabinet is selected or not (unless it was a multiple cabinet assembly of course).

User avatar
Kerry Fullington
Wizard Member
Posts: 4566
Joined: Mon, May 09 2005, 7:33PM
Company Name: ProSource of Amarillo
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Amarillo, TX

Postby Kerry Fullington » Fri, Jan 26 2007, 6:41PM

I think that assemblies are where the problem lies. The part wouldn't know which cabinet to associate to.
Kerry

Rolf Bergstrom
Senior Member
Posts: 222
Joined: Thu, May 19 2005, 2:12PM
Location: Glendale, AZ
Contact:

Postby Rolf Bergstrom » Fri, Jan 26 2007, 6:50PM

I guess I can see a possible issue there. If you have multiple cabinets making an assembly there would be no way to know which cabinet it should be assocated with.
However, once it becomes an assembly the added parts do become part of the assembly and don't need to be assocated with a cabinet to be retained.
Though that may make it a bit more difficult to engineer, the CE does know the difference between a cabinet and an assembly so it should not be too tough.
Anyone know of an example with a single cabinet in CE where you would NOT want an added part to be associated with the cabinet by default?

User avatar
DanEpps
Wizard Member
Posts: 5852
Joined: Thu, Jul 28 2005, 10:18AM
Company Name: Dan Epps
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Rocky Face GA

Re:

Postby DanEpps » Fri, Jan 26 2007, 7:25PM

Rolf Bergstrom wrote:Anyone know of an example with a single cabinet in CE where you would NOT want an added part to be associated with the cabinet by default?


I can't think of any.


Return to “eCabinet Systems Software”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 15 guests