will all types of items produce CNC code?

Moderators: Jason Susnjara, Larry Epplin, Clint Buechlein, Scott G Vaal

Ray Jorgensen
Senior Member
Posts: 199
Joined: Sat, Jul 29 2006, 9:11AM
Company Name: Classic Custom Wood
Location: NC Iowa
Contact:

will all types of items produce CNC code?

Postby Ray Jorgensen » Mon, Jan 29 2007, 8:45PM

I remember reading that some type of items: display cubes or something else, won't show up in cut lists. Are there items that won't allow code to be generated for the cnc?

User avatar
DanEpps
Wizard Member
Posts: 5852
Joined: Thu, Jul 28 2005, 10:18AM
Company Name: Dan Epps
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Rocky Face GA

Postby DanEpps » Mon, Jan 29 2007, 9:06PM

You're right Ray, display cubes are for display only and do not nest or show in cut lists.

Anything made from sheet stock including display panels should produce CNC code.

Ray Jorgensen
Senior Member
Posts: 199
Joined: Sat, Jul 29 2006, 9:11AM
Company Name: Classic Custom Wood
Location: NC Iowa
Contact:

Postby Ray Jorgensen » Mon, Jan 29 2007, 10:54PM

Thanks Dan

Mark Taylor
Guru Member
Posts: 309
Joined: Sat, Feb 04 2006, 5:13PM
Location: Hilton Head / Bluffton SC

Postby Mark Taylor » Tue, Jan 30 2007, 9:04AM

what about display boards...they can be machined as well can't they?

Mark

User avatar
DanEpps
Wizard Member
Posts: 5852
Joined: Thu, Jul 28 2005, 10:18AM
Company Name: Dan Epps
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Rocky Face GA

Re:

Postby DanEpps » Tue, Jan 30 2007, 9:19AM

Mark Taylor wrote:what about display boards...they can be machined as well can't they?

Mark


According to the documentation, only display panels are added to CNC output. Since I don't have a router I can't verify this.

Basically what the documentations says is:

Display panels are added to the nest diagram, cut list and CNC output.

Display boards are added to the cut list.

Display cubes are for display purposes only and NOT added to the cut list, nest diagram or CNC output.

Mark Taylor
Guru Member
Posts: 309
Joined: Sat, Feb 04 2006, 5:13PM
Location: Hilton Head / Bluffton SC

Postby Mark Taylor » Tue, Jan 30 2007, 11:01AM

FYI - while I didn't actually mill it, I could take a display board - cut a profile shape on it and send it to the profile modeler on the controller for the router. It did write the CNC file, so I'm assuming it would have cut the profile.

Mark

User avatar
DanEpps
Wizard Member
Posts: 5852
Joined: Thu, Jul 28 2005, 10:18AM
Company Name: Dan Epps
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Rocky Face GA

Postby DanEpps » Tue, Jan 30 2007, 11:20AM

That is useful knowledge. Without a router all I have to go on is the documentation or the knowledge of folks here that do have a router.

Thanks!

User avatar
Jason Susnjara
Thermwood Team
Posts: 1722
Joined: Tue, May 10 2005, 1:26PM
Location: Thermwood
Contact:

Postby Jason Susnjara » Tue, Jan 30 2007, 12:12PM

Hi Mark,

Display panels and boards will cut on the cnc router. The display cube will not.


Return to “eCabinet Systems Software”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests