re-sizing errors

Moderators: Jason Susnjara, Larry Epplin, Clint Buechlein, Scott G Vaal

Rick Fulgham
New Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue, Nov 07 2006, 1:29PM

re-sizing errors

Postby Rick Fulgham » Sat, Mar 10 2007, 12:15PM

I use a T-mold for my frameless cabinets that eCabinets sees as a face frame. When I change the width of a side stile to allow for scribe, the doors and drawers don't resize properly. My only fix has been to delete and reinstall the doors and drawers - too much time.

To change the size of the stile, in the Cabinet Editor, I go to construction settings:Face frames and change both the size of the stile (page 2) and the outside scribe (page 1). It doesn't seem to matter whether I am in the main Cabinet Editor or Face frame area.

Second unrelated question: Is there a way to globally change the doors and drawer fronts or add a finished end panel in a batch job like you can in a custom layout?

Thanks,

Rick Fulgham
New World Craftsman

Michael Yeargain
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 1738
Joined: Tue, May 17 2005, 8:33PM
Company Name: Timeless Cabinetry and Mantles
Location: South East
Contact:

Postby Michael Yeargain » Sat, Mar 10 2007, 7:37PM

Just curious Rick. What is a T mold?
Windows 7 Pro/10 Pro 64 bit
AMD Phenom 9650 Quad-Core Processor 2.3Ghz 8GRAM 1TB
NVIDIA GeForce GT 220 1GB

User avatar
Perry Pravettone
Senior Member
Posts: 148
Joined: Tue, May 17 2005, 2:15PM
Company Name: Unemployed Manager
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Harrison Township, MI

Re:

Postby Perry Pravettone » Sat, Mar 10 2007, 7:42PM

Michael Yeargain wrote:Just curious Rick. What is a T mold?


Michael look here http://www.outwater.com/promo/tees/?gcl ... WAodEBKrqQ

Rick correct me if I'm wrong.

Perry Pravettone

Michael Yeargain
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 1738
Joined: Tue, May 17 2005, 8:33PM
Company Name: Timeless Cabinetry and Mantles
Location: South East
Contact:

Postby Michael Yeargain » Sat, Mar 10 2007, 7:43PM

Very interesting Perry, thanks...
Windows 7 Pro/10 Pro 64 bit
AMD Phenom 9650 Quad-Core Processor 2.3Ghz 8GRAM 1TB
NVIDIA GeForce GT 220 1GB

Joe Soto
Guru Member
Posts: 333
Joined: Thu, May 19 2005, 7:50PM
Company Name: Fancyridge Wood Products LLC
Location: Greensburg, Ky

Postby Joe Soto » Sat, Mar 10 2007, 9:18PM

Rick, I was going to suggest using edge banding to represent the t-mold, but I'm not clear about what you are doing with the stiles for scribe. Also how did you add the doors? With the door editor or did you place them manually?
Joe

Michael Yeargain
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 1738
Joined: Tue, May 17 2005, 8:33PM
Company Name: Timeless Cabinetry and Mantles
Location: South East
Contact:

Postby Michael Yeargain » Sun, Mar 11 2007, 9:24AM

Rick Fulgham,

Currently there is not a easy button for this. In batch mode you need to edit the cabinets. And add a door to batch for the finished ends.

You can also take the end panel to the part editor and cut a panel. I'm sure you may already know that.
Windows 7 Pro/10 Pro 64 bit
AMD Phenom 9650 Quad-Core Processor 2.3Ghz 8GRAM 1TB
NVIDIA GeForce GT 220 1GB

Rick Fulgham
New Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue, Nov 07 2006, 1:29PM

Postby Rick Fulgham » Sun, Mar 11 2007, 3:48PM

Oops! I typed in a reply earlier but didn't send it, got delayed, and the system kicked me off. Guess I'll try again.

I make a wooden T-mold to match my cabinets. Typically it's 13/16 wide with a 1/4 x 7/16 tongue. That way I get a solid edge that I can make wider for scribes, bottom light rail, extra space at top for crown, etc. I use spacers between dado blades with the chippers on the outside (see below). Then I cut a 1/4 slot in the edge of the sides, deck, stretchers or whatever, glue and tap in. The other bonus is that I can stain and finish before it is installed and don't have to worry about the melamine interiors

I added the doors and drawers in the door editor.

thanks, Rick

1/8 chipper ____ Profile:
left dado blade ___[ ] something like this
washers and shims [__ ]
right dado blade [____]
1/4 chipper
____
or ___[ ]
[__ ] hopefully you get
[ ] the idea
__[ ]
[ ]
[_______]

Rick Fulgham
New Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue, Nov 07 2006, 1:29PM

Postby Rick Fulgham » Sun, Mar 11 2007, 3:53PM

Oh man! my little ASCII drawing at the bottom of my message got totally screwed up in translation. If anyone is curious about the Tmold, I'll try to find a way to draw it for you.

Rick

Joe Soto
Guru Member
Posts: 333
Joined: Thu, May 19 2005, 7:50PM
Company Name: Fancyridge Wood Products LLC
Location: Greensburg, Ky

Postby Joe Soto » Sun, Mar 11 2007, 4:41PM

Rick, your drawing is clear..............as mud :wink: No, I understand, that's a neat idea. I can't reproduce the problem you are having with the doors. When you delete and reinstall them do you have to change any settings for them to re-size? I might be a glitch, I would start over with a seed cabinet from the standard directory to see .
Joe

Michael Yeargain
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 1738
Joined: Tue, May 17 2005, 8:33PM
Company Name: Timeless Cabinetry and Mantles
Location: South East
Contact:

Postby Michael Yeargain » Sun, Mar 11 2007, 5:09PM

Rick,

Just a far shot. Do you by chance have any constraints; or partitions, shelf, top, or deck insets on this cabinet?


By the way when you said e_cabinets sees it as a faceframe, are your cabinets framed or frameless?
Windows 7 Pro/10 Pro 64 bit
AMD Phenom 9650 Quad-Core Processor 2.3Ghz 8GRAM 1TB
NVIDIA GeForce GT 220 1GB


Return to “eCabinet Systems Software”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 18 guests