Closet / Pantry racks or shelves

Moderators: Jason Susnjara, Larry Epplin, Clint Buechlein, Scott G Vaal

Tom Loner
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun, Mar 18 2007, 7:38AM

Closet / Pantry racks or shelves

Postby Tom Loner » Mon, Mar 19 2007, 10:24AM

Ok all, great site here. As you can tell, I am a virgin poster. So, I hope that everyone goes easy on me. I have been using the software for just a very short while. From what I can tell, I can not wait until I am proficient. In just the short while that I have used it, I have been just utterly amazed.

Now on to my question. My use of this system will be primarily in furniture and not kitchens. Enterntainment centers, custom funiture, maye china cabinets. And who knows, maybe eventually some kitchens. Project that I am wanting to cut my teeth on with this software is closet builtins. Alot of the closets that I work on will have those white wire racks/shelves. You see them alot in pantries as well (not custom, mind you). For the most part they are 12\" deep and various lenghts. Where can I find those 3d files to include them in my 'before' renditions. I would think that it would be very benificial to show the client what they currently have. It would make the final rendition of what you are desinging much more powerful. I would like to be able to use those racks/shelves and be able to adjust the lenght and possbily the widths. Are there any available?

Again, thanks and I am sure I will be asking alot more questions.

User avatar
Dean Fehribach
Site Admin
Posts: 482
Joined: Mon, May 09 2005, 2:10PM
Company Name: Thermwood Corporation
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Thermwood

Re: Closet / Pantry racks or shelves

Postby Dean Fehribach » Mon, Mar 19 2007, 11:02AM

Tom Loner wrote:...So, I hope that everyone goes easy on me....
This forum is unlike most Internet forums; everyone here is pretty darn courteous. As for answers, I'll leave that to the rest of the group.
Dean Fehribach
I.S. Mgr., Thermwood
Dell Workstation T1650 / XEON E3 / 8GB RAM / 1GB nVidia Quadro 600 / Windows 8 Pro x64

User avatar
Dean Fehribach
Site Admin
Posts: 482
Joined: Mon, May 09 2005, 2:10PM
Company Name: Thermwood Corporation
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Thermwood

Postby Dean Fehribach » Mon, Mar 19 2007, 11:07AM

Oh, and welcome, Tom!
Dean Fehribach
I.S. Mgr., Thermwood
Dell Workstation T1650 / XEON E3 / 8GB RAM / 1GB nVidia Quadro 600 / Windows 8 Pro x64

David Norton
Guru Member
Posts: 710
Joined: Thu, May 19 2005, 11:01AM
Company Name: Custom Trim and Millwork
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Lawrenceburg,Tennessee

Postby David Norton » Mon, Mar 19 2007, 6:53PM

Tom, guess the best way is to search some of the sites of downloadable
3d files. There is a prog called Accutrans that can take most 3d files and convert them to .stl files for use in Ecabs. Accutrans can also resize these objects too. Do a search for Accutrans here and you will find several threads
& probably the link.
Dave Norton

Tom Loner
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun, Mar 18 2007, 7:38AM

Thanks......

Postby Tom Loner » Wed, Mar 21 2007, 8:41AM

Thanks for the reply.......If I can use Accutrans to convert, the 3d files, what app can be used to create the 3d files if I can not find a suitable file? Maya? Any other suggestions? Does accutrans require a special file format?

Again, thank you very much.

User avatar
Denis L'Heureux
Guru Member
Posts: 404
Joined: Tue, May 17 2005, 12:41PM
Location: In the Boonies near Oromocto, NB, Canada

Postby Denis L'Heureux » Wed, Mar 21 2007, 9:49AM

Rhinoceros is pretty good. V4 is out now
Image


Return to “eCabinet Systems Software”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests