how do i convert files using accutrans?

Moderators: Jason Susnjara, Larry Epplin, Clint Buechlein, Scott G Vaal

davidklehn

how do i convert files using accutrans?

Post by davidklehn »

I want to convert DXF files to a format that is usable on ecabs using accutrans? I have never tried accutrans before and it looks confusing.So if someone could take me through the steps of taking donwloadable cad files and converting them i would appreciate it

Thanks David
Al Navas
eCabinets Beta Tester

Post by Al Navas »

I just started using Accutrans, David. This is what I do:

1. Start the program.
2. Click once on the left-most folder - if you hover over it with the mouse, it will show \"Read file...\".
3. A dialog box opens. Navigate to the folder that contains the dxf file(s).
4. Select the file you want, and click on OPEN.
5. From the pull-down menu, select File | Save with options...
6. Select one layer per file, on the left-most edge and near the middle of the dialog box.
7. Select a name that makes sense to you, and make sure to use the suffix *.stl (StereoLithography ASCII).
8. NOW you have a file that eCabinets will read as a display object.
9. From the cabinet editor, click on Load Item icon (the open folder).
10. The Place Items dialog box opens - select the Display Objects radio button.
11. Navigate to the folder that contains the file you just saved.
12. Select the file you just saved. VOILÀ!

You have done it! Let us now how you make out.

Al
http://sandal-woodsblog.com
Sandal Woods - Fine Woodworking
davidklehn

Post by davidklehn »

worked grat thanks alot, one more ? the 30 day trial for accutran, when its up does it stop working or is it up to you to stop using?
Al Navas
eCabinets Beta Tester

Post by Al Navas »

David,

Accutrans is Shareware. I don't believe it will be disabled after the 30-day trial period. However, it is cheap enough that it encourages us as Users to pay the $20 license fee, as it IS such a useful program.