fit clearances, over/under, accuracy

Moderators: Jason Susnjara, Larry Epplin, Clint Buechlein, Scott G Vaal

KyleHepp

fit clearances, over/under, accuracy

Post by KyleHepp »

I'm VERY new to ecab as well as CNC processing. Immediately, I have a few questions regarding accuracy and tolerances.

It seems as though everything's accounted for with relation to the \"generic\" material selected. -Of course I rarely receive .7500000 inch sheet stock! Where do I go to calibrate for my actual material being used?
Also, what is the most sensible way to deal with factory edges?

Blind dado appears to be KING, and I wish to use it everywhere I can. I have some real concerns over fit clearances... Are there any good writeups regarding FIT CLEARANCES someone could direct me to? I primarily build with .75\" veneer core/solid FF's. Considering the potential and price point of the nest based puzzle joint, I'm strongly considering eliminating solid stock from my boxes... to K.I.S.S., I'll keep my question about fit clearances to the blind dados for now though. Aside from case clamp/RF gluing, and WITHOUT metal fasteners, what procedures/clearances work best? By \"best\" I want the cleanest and strongest joint possible. (slip fit, quick glue application, little or no runout)

Lastly (for now) Concerning flip-ops, what kind of inaccuracies are we talking about?
Flip-ops -vs- manual processing are my consideration here.
Justin Melhiser

Post by Justin Melhiser »

Kyle
The material thickness can be set in the settings and preferences under define stock materials. Knowing that sheet material is hardly ever the correct size, there is a button when creating the twd file for the machine called \"Change Material Thickness\". This allows you to automatically change the sheet material thickness to specify the correct size and everything will come out correct. This way you do not have to store numerous materials because of thickness changes.