File Transfer

Moderators: Jason Susnjara, Larry Epplin, Clint Buechlein, Scott G Vaal

Russell Walker
New Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon, Apr 03 2006, 9:09PM
Location: LAUNCESTON Tasmania

File Transfer

Postby Russell Walker » Sat, Jul 07 2007, 2:43PM

Hi All

I have a problem. When I save a cabinet or job on my desk top to a jump drive to use in my laptop; it dosen't work. When I try to access the file on the jump drive in the laptop, the file is visable as an ECab file but won't open for use.

It's the same from laptop to desk top. Any valid reason why this is so.

Cheers to all from Tasmania, Russell

Michael Yeargain
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 1738
Joined: Tue, May 17 2005, 8:33PM
Company Name: Timeless Cabinetry and Mantles
Location: South East
Contact:

Postby Michael Yeargain » Sat, Jul 07 2007, 5:27PM

The speed of the drive is limiting access to the files. Simply copy the files to your hard drive and open from there. This should solve this.

Thanks
Windows 7 Pro/10 Pro 64 bit
AMD Phenom 9650 Quad-Core Processor 2.3Ghz 8GRAM 1TB
NVIDIA GeForce GT 220 1GB

User avatar
Al Navas
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 443
Joined: Fri, Feb 17 2006, 5:22AM
Location: Near St Joseph, Missouri, USA
Contact:

Re: File Transfer

Postby Al Navas » Sat, Jul 07 2007, 6:38PM

Russell Walker wrote:Hi All

I have a problem. When I save a cabinet or job on my desk top to a jump drive to use in my laptop; it doesn't work. When I try to access the file on the jump drive in the laptop, the file is visable as an ECab file but won't open for use.

It's the same from laptop to desk top. Any valid reason why this is so.

HOW are you trying to open the file? Just want to make sure HOW you are doing it - please, don't be insulted by the following questions...

1. Are you double-clicking on the file you want to open? This won't work.

2. Or are you trying to open from within eCabs? This is the only way the files will open properly.

3. Where do you place the files when moving them from laptop back to the desktop? The files must be within the eCabs folder, in their respective directories. I attach an image, below.

On the other hand, as Mike already mentioned, it is possible the files just won't open from the jump drive. If this is the case, is it strictly a speed issue on the drive, or something else, such as temp files that must be created, etc.?



.
Attachments
eCabs file locations.jpg
eCabs file locations.jpg (200.2 KiB) Viewed 4749 times
Al
http://sandal-woodsblog.com
Sandal Woods - Fine Woodworking

Gene Kimmi
Senior Member
Posts: 106
Joined: Sun, May 07 2006, 9:24PM
Location: Huron, KS
Contact:

Postby Gene Kimmi » Sat, Jul 07 2007, 11:11PM

I save all my job files on a 1 GB Memorex Traveldrive. When I open a job on it, E-Cabinets opens with the job loaded.

I don't have to do anything special, just insert the Traveldrive, double click the job, and it opens.
Gene Kimmi
Lenovo W540 windows 8.1 Pro
Intel Core i-7 4800MQ @ 2.7GHz 8 GB ram
Intel HD & NVIDIA Quadro K2100M Graphics
Samsung 256 SSD Drive

User avatar
Al Navas
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 443
Joined: Fri, Feb 17 2006, 5:22AM
Location: Near St Joseph, Missouri, USA
Contact:

Postby Al Navas » Sun, Jul 08 2007, 8:32AM

Interesting, Gene. I believe you are saying that you CAN double-click on an *.hsf file, and the file opens properly in eCabs? It appears that we might be addressing different issues...

I previously thought that it could NOT be done, and Kerry confirmed it in this post: http://www.thermwood.com/forums/viewtop ... uble+click . At least, I cannot double-click on a cabinet file (*.hsf) and open it - I MUST do it from within eCabs - the error is always \"Invalid file type\". I believe this is true for everything saved from the Cabinet / Assembly Editor.

Assembly files appear to not even be associated with anything in the system, as the image I posted above shows; as a result, when I double-click them, I always get a dialog box requesting to identify a program to open the file. These must always be opened from within eCabs too.

On the other hand, for a job, or *.esj files saved from Custom Layout, I CAN double-click on it and it will open eCabs and launch properly.



.
Attachments
SavingCabinets.jpg
Cabinets and assemblies must be saved from the Editor area, not in the Custom Layout area
SavingCabinets.jpg (198.46 KiB) Viewed 4682 times
Last edited by Al Navas on Sun, Jul 08 2007, 8:58AM, edited 1 time in total.
Al
http://sandal-woodsblog.com
Sandal Woods - Fine Woodworking

Michael Yeargain
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 1738
Joined: Tue, May 17 2005, 8:33PM
Company Name: Timeless Cabinetry and Mantles
Location: South East
Contact:

Postby Michael Yeargain » Sun, Jul 08 2007, 8:55AM

Interestingly enough, All files made from within e_cabinets (except esj) can only be opened within e_cabinets. This includes tol., x_t., ptn., hsf...

Job files (esj) on the other hand, can be opened at double click, (or \"single click\" web browsing set up). So long as the computer is recognizing this file type. This requires telling your computer that it needs to open this type of file with this software. As mentioned before.
Windows 7 Pro/10 Pro 64 bit
AMD Phenom 9650 Quad-Core Processor 2.3Ghz 8GRAM 1TB
NVIDIA GeForce GT 220 1GB

User avatar
DanEpps
Wizard Member
Posts: 5852
Joined: Thu, Jul 28 2005, 10:18AM
Company Name: Dan Epps
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Rocky Face GA

Postby DanEpps » Sun, Jul 08 2007, 1:47PM

Out of the box this is true, but you can change it. :D

Right-click on the file type you want you open in eCabinets by double-clicking the file...HSF in this case.

Select \"Properties\" from the context menu. Notice there is no \"Opens With\" association.

Click the \"Change\" button and select eCabinets from the list. If it is not in the list, click the \"Browse\" button and navigate to eCabinets.exe.

Click the \"OK\" button.

Your file can now be opened by double-clicking it. :D
Attachments
file Association 3.jpg
file Association 3.jpg (34.59 KiB) Viewed 4695 times
file Association 2.jpg
file Association 2.jpg (39.12 KiB) Viewed 4657 times
file Association 1.jpg
file Association 1.jpg (40.11 KiB) Viewed 4657 times

Russell Walker
New Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon, Apr 03 2006, 9:09PM
Location: LAUNCESTON Tasmania

File Transfer

Postby Russell Walker » Sun, Jul 08 2007, 2:18PM

Hi All

Thank you for all your advice with this problem; I will try again as per advice as soon as I have the time to get to it.

I will let you know the outcome.

Cheers Russell

User avatar
Al Navas
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 443
Joined: Fri, Feb 17 2006, 5:22AM
Location: Near St Joseph, Missouri, USA
Contact:

Re:

Postby Al Navas » Mon, Jul 09 2007, 7:35AM

DanEpps wrote:Out of the box this is true, but you can change it. :D ...


Dan,

I still get the error message "Invalid file type". After I associate the file types, and then I double-click on a cabinet file with *.hsf file type, eCabs launches and opens at the main menu page, but this error still shows up - nothing comes up.

The same is true of all other file types, except for *.esj :? .


Al

User avatar
DanEpps
Wizard Member
Posts: 5852
Joined: Thu, Jul 28 2005, 10:18AM
Company Name: Dan Epps
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Rocky Face GA

Postby DanEpps » Mon, Jul 09 2007, 9:19AM

Hmmm...me too. I didn't test it (oops) to see if it would actually work :oops: .

It looks like eCabinets is expecting only an ESJ file to be opened in this manner or is expecting a missing parameter to be supplied in the \"Opens With\" value.

Rick Deskins
Thermwood Team
Posts: 855
Joined: Tue, May 17 2005, 12:47PM
Company Name: Thermwood
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Thermwood

Postby Rick Deskins » Mon, Jul 09 2007, 9:24AM

eCabinet Systems only works that way with *.esj files. you can not do that with *.esa or *.hsf files.
Rick Deskins
eCabinet Systems Programmer
Dell Precision / Xeon E3-1240 / 8GB RAM/ AMD FirePro V4900

User avatar
Al Navas
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 443
Joined: Fri, Feb 17 2006, 5:22AM
Location: Near St Joseph, Missouri, USA
Contact:

Postby Al Navas » Mon, Jul 09 2007, 9:46AM

Then it is hard-wired into the program code. No problemo!

It really is no problem at all. What IS important: That people ARE aware of this, and don't get too frustrated when doing it any other way. In fact, this is exactly the reason for this forum being here - it IS a terrific resource!


Al


Return to “eCabinet Systems Software”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 58 guests