selecting an item

Moderators: Jason Susnjara, Larry Epplin, Clint Buechlein, Scott G Vaal

Clint Barden
New Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri, Aug 10 2007, 9:10PM

selecting an item

Postby Clint Barden » Tue, Aug 21 2007, 6:58PM

How do you select a specific item?
I cannot select an item in the detail room that is covered by another item. Specifically a cabinet under a countertop or an appliance under a cabinet.
Thanks.

User avatar
DanEpps
Wizard Member
Posts: 5852
Joined: Thu, Jul 28 2005, 10:18AM
Company Name: Dan Epps
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Rocky Face GA

Postby DanEpps » Tue, Aug 21 2007, 7:18PM

Clint

Change to elevation view (double-click the wall) and you should be able to select the cabinet underneath the countertop.

User avatar
Kerry Fullington
Wizard Member
Posts: 4623
Joined: Mon, May 09 2005, 7:33PM
Company Name: Double E Cabinets
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Amarillo, TX

Postby Kerry Fullington » Tue, Aug 21 2007, 7:45PM

Clint,
You can use the Page up and Page down keys on your keyboard to \"tip\" the room in Detail Room and allow you to select some cabinets under counter-tops.
Kerry

Rick Palechuk
Wizard Member
Posts: 1896
Joined: Wed, May 18 2005, 7:54PM
Company Name: Milltech Millworks Ltd.
Country: CANADA
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Contact:

Postby Rick Palechuk » Tue, Aug 21 2007, 8:01PM

I DIDN'T KNOW THAT!!! You need to hold the shift key while doing that. 8) :D

User avatar
Kerry Fullington
Wizard Member
Posts: 4623
Joined: Mon, May 09 2005, 7:33PM
Company Name: Double E Cabinets
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Amarillo, TX

Postby Kerry Fullington » Tue, Aug 21 2007, 8:21PM

Rick,
You shouldn't have to hold the shift key for the page up and down.
Kerry

User avatar
Jean G Voyer
Guru Member
Posts: 527
Joined: Tue, May 17 2005, 1:38PM
Company Name: Janot Interiors Ltd
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Contact:

Postby Jean G Voyer » Tue, Aug 21 2007, 8:37PM

I didn't know that either but Kerry, Rick is right. It doesn't work if you don't whole the shift key. I tried with the caps lock but it doesn't work either.
You must have another secret that we don't know.
Jean-Gabriel Voyer
Janot Interiors Ltd
www.customcabinetscalgary.com
Dell Precision PWS490, Intel Xeon CPU,3.00 GB Ram, Window XP Pro, Quadro Fx 3500

User avatar
Al Navas
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 443
Joined: Fri, Feb 17 2006, 5:22AM
Location: Near St Joseph, Missouri, USA
Contact:

Postby Al Navas » Tue, Aug 21 2007, 8:54PM

No need to hold the SHIFT key, folks.

Are you using MACs, by any chance??? :roll:
























GOTCHA, right?



Al



P.S.: I wonder if there is SOME setting in the eCabinets.ini file that accounts for these differences?

User avatar
Kerry Fullington
Wizard Member
Posts: 4623
Joined: Mon, May 09 2005, 7:33PM
Company Name: Double E Cabinets
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Amarillo, TX

Postby Kerry Fullington » Tue, Aug 21 2007, 8:54PM

I have the special limited edition eCabinets that doesn't require you to hold the shift key.
Really I don't know. I don't have to.
Kerry

Gene Kimmi
Senior Member
Posts: 106
Joined: Sun, May 07 2006, 9:24PM
Location: Huron, KS
Contact:

Postby Gene Kimmi » Tue, Aug 21 2007, 9:05PM

You can also use the show/hide feature to hide the countertops and other items. I use this a lot when I have to rework cabinets after I have put the counters on.
Gene Kimmi
Lenovo W540 windows 8.1 Pro
Intel Core i-7 4800MQ @ 2.7GHz 8 GB ram
Intel HD & NVIDIA Quadro K2100M Graphics
Samsung 256 SSD Drive

Clint Barden
New Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri, Aug 10 2007, 9:10PM

Postby Clint Barden » Tue, Aug 21 2007, 9:28PM

Thanks for that tip. I don't need to hold the shift key, but holding it doesn't affect it either.

Nick M Singer
Guru Member
Posts: 828
Joined: Fri, Jun 17 2005, 12:23AM
Location: South Africa

Postby Nick M Singer » Tue, Aug 21 2007, 10:37PM

Thanks for the tip (no pun intended) but it only tips the room in one direction. pity. Any way this brings me to a feature I would like to see added and perhaps others would too, it would help with the problem raised in this thread and in other respects as well. Could an object tree be included then items could be selected from the list and the properties edited there?

Rick Palechuk
Wizard Member
Posts: 1896
Joined: Wed, May 18 2005, 7:54PM
Company Name: Milltech Millworks Ltd.
Country: CANADA
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Contact:

Postby Rick Palechuk » Tue, Aug 21 2007, 11:17PM

Your right Kerry. I was using the up/down on the num pad which require the shift key. I think a second article in the E-cab magazine is required. Kerry's tips and tricks.

Rick Palechuk
Wizard Member
Posts: 1896
Joined: Wed, May 18 2005, 7:54PM
Company Name: Milltech Millworks Ltd.
Country: CANADA
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Contact:

Postby Rick Palechuk » Tue, Aug 21 2007, 11:25PM

Here's another tidbit I just found: In DR, ctrl click and drag a zoom window, then press home to view extents, then press end and it will bring you back to the zoom window.

Gene Kimmi
Senior Member
Posts: 106
Joined: Sun, May 07 2006, 9:24PM
Location: Huron, KS
Contact:

Postby Gene Kimmi » Tue, Aug 21 2007, 11:43PM

When you control, click, and draw your box to zoom, is there a fast way to return to the whole view in the detail room? I always click done, return to the main custom layout area and click reset view, then return to the detail room to continue. Just wondering if there is a faster way.
Gene Kimmi
Lenovo W540 windows 8.1 Pro
Intel Core i-7 4800MQ @ 2.7GHz 8 GB ram
Intel HD & NVIDIA Quadro K2100M Graphics
Samsung 256 SSD Drive

Rick Palechuk
Wizard Member
Posts: 1896
Joined: Wed, May 18 2005, 7:54PM
Company Name: Milltech Millworks Ltd.
Country: CANADA
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Contact:

Postby Rick Palechuk » Tue, Aug 21 2007, 11:48PM

Press the home key Gene.


Return to “eCabinet Systems Software”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 39 guests