pictures or drawings of cabinets for assemblers

Moderators: Jason Susnjara, Larry Epplin, Clint Buechlein, Scott G Vaal

Neal Reeves
Junior Member
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat, Aug 18 2007, 9:43PM
Location: Bonifay, FL

pictures or drawings of cabinets for assemblers

Postby Neal Reeves » Tue, Sep 18 2007, 8:28PM

I do not have a cnc router. I have table saws, radial arm saws, drill presses, and the like. My cutlists are working out fine for my cut man; however, my assembler needs a picture of the cabinet he ( or she) is building. Do I have to print off each cabinet through the line drawing editor, or is there a better, easier way. It would be nice to have a cut list and a drawing for each cabinet on the same sheet of paper. Is this possible?

Also, while I'm asking for the moon, in the drawings I am asking for, is there any way of getting measurements listed about each piece that will have dados as to where the dados are supposed to be located without manually pulling the measurements from the line drawing editor?

Pushing my luck,

Neal
Neal Reeves
Country Cabinets, Inc.
Bonifay, FL

Michael Yeargain
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 1738
Joined: Tue, May 17 2005, 8:33PM
Company Name: Timeless Cabinetry and Mantles
Location: South East
Contact:

Postby Michael Yeargain » Tue, Sep 18 2007, 9:17PM

Neal,

At this time, unfortunately there is not a way to get this without takeing each cabinet into the LDE. You can take all the cabinets in the LDE from detail room by selecting all the cabinets (S,S,C) short cut. And going into the LDE. When you get there you will have to orient every one to an elevation position and pull measurments.

You will also have to take the manual measurements for the dados as well.
Windows 7 Pro/10 Pro 64 bit
AMD Phenom 9650 Quad-Core Processor 2.3Ghz 8GRAM 1TB
NVIDIA GeForce GT 220 1GB

Roger Kirkpatrick
Senior Member
Posts: 113
Joined: Fri, Jul 08 2005, 2:25PM
Company Name: The WoodCrafting Company
Location: Hesperia, California

Postby Roger Kirkpatrick » Tue, Sep 18 2007, 9:53PM

Neal,
My workaround for this is that I do it manually.
I print out a picture of each cabinet then manually dimension the face frame, mark where the hinges go, finished end and spec out the slide.
I out source the cabinet boxes so my guys don't need to cut them.

If you semi-standardize like face frame is always 1\" larger than the box you should be able to work out a system and train your people to build from your print outs with just face frame measurements and just a few notes.

Not the best solution but that is what I came up with.
The WoodCrafter

Michael Yeargain
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 1738
Joined: Tue, May 17 2005, 8:33PM
Company Name: Timeless Cabinetry and Mantles
Location: South East
Contact:

Postby Michael Yeargain » Wed, Sep 19 2007, 5:04AM

Here's an idea to help you understand a little about the software.
Attachments
iviewcapture_date_19_09_2007_time_06_03_50.jpg
iviewcapture_date_19_09_2007_time_06_03_50.jpg (110.3 KiB) Viewed 3167 times
Windows 7 Pro/10 Pro 64 bit
AMD Phenom 9650 Quad-Core Processor 2.3Ghz 8GRAM 1TB
NVIDIA GeForce GT 220 1GB

Michael Yeargain
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 1738
Joined: Tue, May 17 2005, 8:33PM
Company Name: Timeless Cabinetry and Mantles
Location: South East
Contact:

Postby Michael Yeargain » Wed, Sep 19 2007, 5:09AM

Here you can see I copied and pasted from a text document the information of our imaginary friends...
Attachments
iviewcapture_date_19_09_2007_time_06_08_00.jpg
iviewcapture_date_19_09_2007_time_06_08_00.jpg (92.63 KiB) Viewed 3168 times
iviewcapture_date_19_09_2007_time_06_07_53.jpg
iviewcapture_date_19_09_2007_time_06_07_53.jpg (16 KiB) Viewed 3166 times
Windows 7 Pro/10 Pro 64 bit
AMD Phenom 9650 Quad-Core Processor 2.3Ghz 8GRAM 1TB
NVIDIA GeForce GT 220 1GB

Dennis Englert

Postby Dennis Englert » Thu, Sep 20 2007, 8:55AM

Great tip on pasting the info in.

You can also copy and paste the info from the Cut List. One small piece of info is that you must be in the NOTE mode prior to pasting the info. The text from the document file or spreadsheet file will take on the properties that are set for the text, i.e., color, size, font, etc.

Another concept that I think is worth considering. Since most cabinet's are generally alike, I would create a line drawing for a cabinet. Then save the line drawing as a job, so that the drawings for that particular cabinet type can be accessed again w/o having to do all the LDE work again.

Michael Yeargain
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 1738
Joined: Tue, May 17 2005, 8:33PM
Company Name: Timeless Cabinetry and Mantles
Location: South East
Contact:

Postby Michael Yeargain » Thu, Sep 20 2007, 10:00AM

Dennis,

When I do major kitchens, and just as I have that kitchen the way the customer likes it. I save it as a CustomerNameLDE. Then I delete all the cabinets in the room. and save it again.

I can use the LDE, quickly adding elevations by selecting a wall from the custom lay out view, and pasteing it into a new page, and it doesn't slow down my computer at all!
Windows 7 Pro/10 Pro 64 bit
AMD Phenom 9650 Quad-Core Processor 2.3Ghz 8GRAM 1TB
NVIDIA GeForce GT 220 1GB

User avatar
Jeremy Schiffer
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 1071
Joined: Tue, May 10 2005, 9:36PM
Location: Carnesville, GA
Contact:

Postby Jeremy Schiffer » Thu, Sep 20 2007, 12:33PM

It's not usually necessary to use the LDE to print dado information. The easiest way I've found to get dado information is to nest the job and then click on the parts with dadoes on them. The measurements are already worked out and shown, all you have to do is click print.
http://www.corlanecabinetry.com

Intel Core i7-5820 3.3GHz, 16GB RAM, NVidia Quadro K2200 4GB, Windows 8.1 Pro 64 bit


Return to “eCabinet Systems Software”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 40 guests