Quad Core or Core 2 Duo?

Moderators: Jason Susnjara, Larry Epplin, Clint Buechlein, Scott G Vaal

Jason Rains
New Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue, Mar 18 2008, 1:08PM

Quad Core or Core 2 Duo?

Postby Jason Rains » Thu, Jul 17 2008, 11:30AM

Many new workstation computers are offering Quad Core processors. Does Ecabs benefit at all from a quad core? More important, does it hurt the program (slow it down, etc.)? I have not been able to find any topics on this issue thus far.
Thanks

User avatar
Dean Fehribach
Site Admin
Posts: 482
Joined: Mon, May 09 2005, 2:10PM
Company Name: Thermwood Corporation
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Thermwood

Re: Quad Core or Core 2 Duo?

Postby Dean Fehribach » Thu, Jul 17 2008, 2:04PM

Jason,

The eCabinet Systems (eCS) web site has a recommended computer system page. In it, there is a note that states:
Note: The eCabinet Systems software does not benefit from multi-processor or multi-core processor systems.
Multiple processor cores does not adversely affect eCS, but they don't help, either.
Dean Fehribach
I.S. Mgr., Thermwood
Dell Workstation T1650 / XEON E3 / 8GB RAM / 1GB nVidia Quadro 600 / Windows 8 Pro x64

Jason Rains
New Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue, Mar 18 2008, 1:08PM

Re: Quad Core or Core 2 Duo?

Postby Jason Rains » Thu, Jul 17 2008, 4:14PM

Thanks Dean, I wanted to be sure I did not buy something that would hurt me.

Will Williamson
Guru Member
Posts: 396
Joined: Thu, Dec 08 2005, 6:10PM
Company Name: Williamson Finewoodwork
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Capac MI
Contact:

Re: Quad Core or Core 2 Duo?

Postby Will Williamson » Fri, Jul 18 2008, 12:54PM

My computer tech told me that you could setup e cab to run on one core and operating system to run on the other and this would be an advantage .
Dean
I have been forwarding him your posts reguarding these subjects and specificstions for new systemas we are in the process of building a new system .I notice that he has the same title as your self I. S. manager ever what that means
Thanks Will
Will

http://www.willmade.com

KEG/Intel Core i 7 CPU K875 @ 2.93 GHZ/12G Ram
Dual boot XP PRO/Windows 7 Nvidia Quatro 600 1Gig Ram

User avatar
Neville Bastian
Guru Member
Posts: 589
Joined: Fri, May 20 2005, 6:48PM
Company Name: Classic Cabinetry
Location: Albany Western Australia
Contact:

Re: Quad Core or Core 2 Duo?

Postby Neville Bastian » Fri, Jul 18 2008, 10:18PM

Hi Will,
We have recently set-up Ecabinets on a quad core with a single WD Raptor 10,000 rpm and she does sing like a bird.
The cost of the quad cores are pretty cheap being about $100 more than a core 2.
I think we all have a lot of programs fighting for use of the cpu such as virus checkers, operating system,outlook and Messenger/Skype type programs. To me Ecabinets is a bit of a spoilt child. It doesn't like sharing anything. Full stop.

If Dean can find the time and resources he should have a good play with a mid range quad Duo core and the top of the range Core 2 Duo and prove who is right here. I'd be interested if he could play around with std hard disks and high rpm disks also. Then the ultimate 2 and 4 raid disks configuration. I'm sure Thermwoods computer supplier could lend some gear for the trial.

Are you up to it Dean?

Regards

Neville
Neville Australia


Return to “eCabinet Systems Software”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests