Creating a soffit

Moderators: Jason Susnjara, Larry Epplin, Clint Buechlein, Scott G Vaal

Sergio Fetter
Junior Member
Posts: 92
Joined: Tue, Jan 23 2007, 12:29PM
Company Name: Two Mile
Location: NC
Contact:

Creating a soffit

Postby Sergio Fetter » Tue, Mar 03 2009, 6:27PM

Hello everyone,
I am working on a project where there is a soffit right above some cabinets. How do I create that in my drawing?

Thanks in advance

Fetter!
Sergio Fetter
Designer Specialist

Dell Vostro 230 - Intel(R) Core(TM)2 2 Duo CPU E7500 @ 2.93GHz 2.93 GHz
Ram 3GB - Windows 7 32-bit

User avatar
Gary Puckett
Wizard Member
Posts: 1324
Joined: Mon, May 19 2008, 1:39PM
Company Name: The Woodworkery
Location: Saint Charles, Missouri
Contact:

Re: Creating a soffit

Postby Gary Puckett » Tue, Mar 03 2009, 8:47PM

Hi Sergio,

I am working on drawing a bathroom and I am going to have to put a soffit over the tub area. Any way what I am going to do is create a cube the size of the soffit I need texture it the color of the wall and then place it in the room on the wall and move it to the top of that wall.

Gary
HP Pavilion
Vista home Premium 64bit S. pack 2
AMD Phenom-X4
9850 Quad-Core Processor
6.0GB/Go Memory
1 TB/To Hard Drive
Nividia GeForce 9800 GT

Leo Graywacz
Guru Member
Posts: 627
Joined: Tue, Jan 16 2007, 7:56PM
Company Name: LRG WoodCrafting
Location: Windsor Locks, CT
Contact:

Re: Creating a soffit

Postby Leo Graywacz » Tue, Mar 03 2009, 9:52PM

I would do it the same way Gary mentioned.
Dell Precision 7710
Intel Core i7-6820HQ @ 2.70GHz 16.00 GB RAM
NVIDIA Quadro M3000M
512 GB PCIe NVMe - M.2 SSD
Win 7 Pro 64-bit

http://lrgwood.com

Nick M Singer
Guru Member
Posts: 828
Joined: Fri, Jun 17 2005, 12:23AM
Location: South Africa

Re: Creating a soffit

Postby Nick M Singer » Tue, Mar 03 2009, 11:58PM

I use a wall unit without all the parts except the top, then it is simply a matter of adjusting the size, material and the placement high. You will also find it easier to add cornice moulding this way.

Sergio Fetter
Junior Member
Posts: 92
Joined: Tue, Jan 23 2007, 12:29PM
Company Name: Two Mile
Location: NC
Contact:

Re: Creating a soffit

Postby Sergio Fetter » Wed, Mar 04 2009, 8:23AM

Thank you guys....
I think I can get something going from your help.

I appreciated...
Sergio Fetter
Designer Specialist

Dell Vostro 230 - Intel(R) Core(TM)2 2 Duo CPU E7500 @ 2.93GHz 2.93 GHz
Ram 3GB - Windows 7 32-bit

Leo Graywacz
Guru Member
Posts: 627
Joined: Tue, Jan 16 2007, 7:56PM
Company Name: LRG WoodCrafting
Location: Windsor Locks, CT
Contact:

Re: Creating a soffit

Postby Leo Graywacz » Wed, Mar 04 2009, 9:11AM

Good point about the molding application. Just remember to filter the soffit out of your nesting. :beer:
Dell Precision 7710
Intel Core i7-6820HQ @ 2.70GHz 16.00 GB RAM
NVIDIA Quadro M3000M
512 GB PCIe NVMe - M.2 SSD
Win 7 Pro 64-bit

http://lrgwood.com

User avatar
George Davidson
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 1585
Joined: Tue, May 17 2005, 1:16PM
Location: Norwood Pa.

Re: Creating a soffit

Postby George Davidson » Wed, Mar 04 2009, 1:26PM

Here is the soffit I use
They are ALL hsf resize and change each wall color and bottom
You can get them at Customer 3D Files
Attachments
12 in over hang.JPG
12 in over hang.JPG (30.46 KiB) Viewed 2724 times
Soffit 14 in Soffit.jpg
Soffit 14 in Soffit.jpg (54.35 KiB) Viewed 2644 times
hsf file.jpg
hsf file.jpg (29.09 KiB) Viewed 2645 times

Dennis Englert

Re: Creating a soffit

Postby Dennis Englert » Thu, Mar 05 2009, 8:44AM

Just out of curiosity, after installing cabinets, I added additional walls after changing the wall thickness to match the soffit depth. If the attachment comes through, I started the two walls from the inside corner. Initially, the walls may come in overlapping the original walls, so the walls build would need to be reversed. Then I cut a rectangle from the wall that removed the entire bottom of the wall up to the top of the upper cabinet.

If a soffit length needed to be changed, it could be, but the cutout for the soffit would have to be redone. The wall texture can easily match the current walls or the texture changed to a different texture. The texture would also automatically scale, so there would be less issues with skewed or out-of-scale textures.

I did notice that the hot key to edit the wall did not work. Either that or I was just impatient, since I did notice a slow-down on my computer when I saved the attached .jpg. I, also noted and indicated in the first paragraph that you should install the cabinets first. It did not want to align a corner cabinet at the corner of wall 1 and 2 with the soffit wall #3 in place.

While this method is not without problems, it is a method. I could imagine doing additional cutouts like an arched soffit over a range or other feature and adding lights. Though this could probably be achieved with some of the other methods indicated.

Anyways, you have another choice.

Dennis
Attachments
Soffit.jpg
Soffit.jpg (64.16 KiB) Viewed 2589 times


Return to “eCabinet Systems Software”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 41 guests