Where is V6?

Moderators: Jason Susnjara, Larry Epplin, Clint Buechlein, Scott G Vaal

User avatar
Gary Puckett
Wizard Member
Posts: 1324
Joined: Mon, May 19 2008, 1:39PM
Company Name: The Woodworkery
Location: Saint Charles, Missouri
Contact:

Where is V6?

Postby Gary Puckett » Sat, Mar 21 2009, 12:02PM

Is V6 in Beta Testing yet?

Gary
HP Pavilion
Vista home Premium 64bit S. pack 2
AMD Phenom-X4
9850 Quad-Core Processor
6.0GB/Go Memory
1 TB/To Hard Drive
Nividia GeForce 9800 GT

User avatar
DanEpps
Wizard Member
Posts: 5852
Joined: Thu, Jul 28 2005, 10:18AM
Company Name: Dan Epps
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Rocky Face GA

Re: Where is V6?

Postby DanEpps » Sat, Mar 21 2009, 12:48PM

Gary

See this thread by Ken Susnjara on March 2, 2009.

On March 4, 2009, Ken responded to the same question you just asked with this:

Ken Susnjara wrote:Gary, I just don't know. We had an estimate for spring, but in the past these things have slipped. It depends on what we run into. A lot of what we are doing touches much of the code so it depends a lot on how many problems pop up that we have to deal with. We are unwinding the store items from the software and they are much more pervasive than we first though. The plus side is that the overall performance of the software should improve, perhaps dramatically. I will try to keep you informed but I really can't give a probable release date quite yet.

Rick Palechuk
Wizard Member
Posts: 1896
Joined: Wed, May 18 2005, 7:54PM
Company Name: Milltech Millworks Ltd.
Country: CANADA
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Contact:

Re: Where is V6?

Postby Rick Palechuk » Sat, Mar 21 2009, 12:53PM

Patience Grasshopper.

User avatar
Gary Puckett
Wizard Member
Posts: 1324
Joined: Mon, May 19 2008, 1:39PM
Company Name: The Woodworkery
Location: Saint Charles, Missouri
Contact:

Re: Where is V6?

Postby Gary Puckett » Sat, Mar 21 2009, 12:57PM

Not asking about release, is it in Beta Testing.

Gary
HP Pavilion
Vista home Premium 64bit S. pack 2
AMD Phenom-X4
9850 Quad-Core Processor
6.0GB/Go Memory
1 TB/To Hard Drive
Nividia GeForce 9800 GT

User avatar
Gary Puckett
Wizard Member
Posts: 1324
Joined: Mon, May 19 2008, 1:39PM
Company Name: The Woodworkery
Location: Saint Charles, Missouri
Contact:

Re: Where is V6?

Postby Gary Puckett » Sat, Mar 21 2009, 1:03PM

Dan,

The thread you referred to was for the "Code Splitter" not V6. :beer:

Gary
HP Pavilion
Vista home Premium 64bit S. pack 2
AMD Phenom-X4
9850 Quad-Core Processor
6.0GB/Go Memory
1 TB/To Hard Drive
Nividia GeForce 9800 GT

User avatar
DanEpps
Wizard Member
Posts: 5852
Joined: Thu, Jul 28 2005, 10:18AM
Company Name: Dan Epps
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Rocky Face GA

Re: Where is V6?

Postby DanEpps » Sat, Mar 21 2009, 2:06PM

Read the ENTIRE thread Gary...you SPECIFICALLY asked about v6 beta testing and that is what Ken responded to.

Are you just forgetful? You seem to post the same questions multiple times a lot.

User avatar
Gary Puckett
Wizard Member
Posts: 1324
Joined: Mon, May 19 2008, 1:39PM
Company Name: The Woodworkery
Location: Saint Charles, Missouri
Contact:

Re: Where is V6?

Postby Gary Puckett » Sat, Mar 21 2009, 2:18PM

Sorry :oops: It must be old age setting in, Umm how old am I now :roll:

Gary
HP Pavilion
Vista home Premium 64bit S. pack 2
AMD Phenom-X4
9850 Quad-Core Processor
6.0GB/Go Memory
1 TB/To Hard Drive
Nividia GeForce 9800 GT

User avatar
DanEpps
Wizard Member
Posts: 5852
Joined: Thu, Jul 28 2005, 10:18AM
Company Name: Dan Epps
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Rocky Face GA

Re: Where is V6?

Postby DanEpps » Sat, Mar 21 2009, 2:49PM

Gary Puckett wrote:Sorry :oops: It must be old age setting in, Umm how old am I now :roll:

Gary


That's supposed to be MY line... :beer:

Joe Dusel
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 1117
Joined: Tue, May 17 2005, 9:40PM
Location: Vista, CA, U.S.A.
Contact:

Re: Where is V6?

Postby Joe Dusel » Sat, Mar 21 2009, 2:49PM

No Gary, it sounds more like you are getting younger. Are we there yet? No. Are we there yet? NO! :wink:

Gotta admit, I'm anxious myself.

Joe
CFT411 http://www.cft411.com
Intel i7 920 @ 2.67GHz, 6 GB RAM, Windows 7 64 bit, NVIDIA Geforce GT220 (1GB)

User avatar
DanEpps
Wizard Member
Posts: 5852
Joined: Thu, Jul 28 2005, 10:18AM
Company Name: Dan Epps
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Rocky Face GA

Re: Where is V6?

Postby DanEpps » Sat, Mar 21 2009, 3:35PM

Joe Dusel wrote:...Gotta admit, I'm anxious myself...


Ain't we all, Joe, ain't we all!!! :beer:

User avatar
Kerry Fullington
Wizard Member
Posts: 4593
Joined: Mon, May 09 2005, 7:33PM
Company Name: Double E Cabinets
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Amarillo, TX

Re: Where is V6?

Postby Kerry Fullington » Sat, Mar 21 2009, 6:58PM

What is everyone hoping to find in Version 6?

Kerry

User avatar
Gary Puckett
Wizard Member
Posts: 1324
Joined: Mon, May 19 2008, 1:39PM
Company Name: The Woodworkery
Location: Saint Charles, Missouri
Contact:

Re: Where is V6?

Postby Gary Puckett » Sat, Mar 21 2009, 9:24PM

I am just hoping that if they make the program vista compatible that I will be able to use the camara option again for starters.
Among other things improvement with the line drawing editor, maybe auto dim. or being able to get a dim. by clicking anywhere on two lines instead of a noed.

Gary
HP Pavilion
Vista home Premium 64bit S. pack 2
AMD Phenom-X4
9850 Quad-Core Processor
6.0GB/Go Memory
1 TB/To Hard Drive
Nividia GeForce 9800 GT

Rick Palechuk
Wizard Member
Posts: 1896
Joined: Wed, May 18 2005, 7:54PM
Company Name: Milltech Millworks Ltd.
Country: CANADA
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Contact:

Re: Where is V6?

Postby Rick Palechuk » Sat, Mar 21 2009, 9:56PM

My big thrill will be User Defined Moldings, and a smoother LDE.

User avatar
Neville Bastian
Guru Member
Posts: 609
Joined: Fri, May 20 2005, 6:48PM
Company Name: Classic Cabinetry
Location: Albany Western Australia
Contact:

Re: Where is V6?

Postby Neville Bastian » Sat, Mar 21 2009, 10:44PM

Beta version of V6 is promising a lot. As there seems to be a few Beta testers saying it hasn't got to them I guess its not out there yet.

I hoping we can take any drawer part and any cabinet part including rails and modify it. That would be very handy.
I would bring up MDF doors but I'm pretty sure that missed out on the V6 improvements.

The ability to add hardware items to drilling patterns such waste bins, tea towell racks, metal baskets and chrome pullout pantries would be neat. I saw those in Cad kitchen programs years ago and are a essential sales tool plus need to be in the machining then costing side.

The increase in speed of drawing kitchens and the time changes take to regenerate modifications will be fantastic if that's quicker. It will reduce the amount of coffee I consume waiting for a redraw.

The proposal, material/inventory and job cost is overdue for a tidy up. If this is too hard, get a third party firm to write a link in to their software and sell it via Thermwood bringing in some funds to Ecabinets division. Cabinetplus is one program some users are using and there may be others?

Regards
Neville
Neville Australia

User avatar
DanEpps
Wizard Member
Posts: 5852
Joined: Thu, Jul 28 2005, 10:18AM
Company Name: Dan Epps
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Rocky Face GA

Re: Where is V6?

Postby DanEpps » Sun, Mar 22 2009, 7:53AM

Kerry Fullington wrote:What is everyone hoping to find in Version 6?

Kerry


I (think) Kerry is saying that everyone should not have high expectations that v6 will be a completely different product with tons of new features.

Personally, I do not think there will be a huge difference between v5.2 and v6 because of the complexity in removing the store from all of the code.

It will probably be Vista-compatible (big changes in code there). User defined doors, drawer fronts, hardware and moldings will likely be included (as a result of removing the link to the store), but I can't see much else as it will be a major rewrite. With any major rewrite, fewer new features means fewer introduced problems.


Return to “eCabinet Systems Software”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests