Second Computer Installation

Moderators: Jason Susnjara, Larry Epplin, Clint Buechlein, Scott G Vaal

Brandan Hanz
New Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon, Nov 03 2008, 7:31AM
Company Name: H H Woodworks
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Contact:

Second Computer Installation

Postby Brandan Hanz » Sun, Apr 12 2009, 8:20PM

My shop is out in the country and I currently do not have an internet connection there. Is there any way I can install ECabs on my shop computer and have it run properly without the application having to access the internet after installation? I'm getting busy now and really need the application at two different locations.

Thanks,
Brandan

brandan@hnhwoodworks.com
http://www.hnhwoodworks.com
Brandan Hanz
H & H Woodworks
San Antonio, Texas
www.hnhwoodworks.com
brandan@hnhwoodworks.com

User avatar
Jeremy Schiffer
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 944
Joined: Tue, May 10 2005, 9:36PM
Location: Carnesville, GA
Contact:

Re: Second Computer Installation

Postby Jeremy Schiffer » Sun, Apr 12 2009, 9:44PM

Hi Brandan,

Unless something has changed with the latest release, there is no way to use ecabs without hooking up to the internet on the first run so it can register. My suggestion is to carry your shop computer home or whereever you may have internet access and let it register from there.

No internet access is required from there on. Updates can be downloaded on another computer and brought to the shop computer.
http://www.corlanecabinetry.com

Intel Core i7-5820 3.3GHz, 16GB RAM, NVidia Quadro K2200 4GB, Windows 8.1 Pro 64 bit

User avatar
DanEpps
Wizard Member
Posts: 5852
Joined: Thu, Jul 28 2005, 10:18AM
Company Name: Dan Epps
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Rocky Face GA

Re: Second Computer Installation

Postby DanEpps » Mon, Apr 13 2009, 5:28AM

Jeremy Schiffer wrote:...No internet access is required from there on. Updates can be downloaded on another computer and brought to the shop computer.


I'm not sure, but I think it checks for updates on startup. I see a "Checking for updates..." popup every once in a while.

User avatar
Jeremy Schiffer
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 944
Joined: Tue, May 10 2005, 9:36PM
Location: Carnesville, GA
Contact:

Re: Second Computer Installation

Postby Jeremy Schiffer » Mon, Apr 13 2009, 11:40AM

True, Dan. But if it doesn't detect an internet connection it pops up an error telling you there is no connection, and asks to either retry or cancel. If you cancel, the program starts normally.
http://www.corlanecabinetry.com

Intel Core i7-5820 3.3GHz, 16GB RAM, NVidia Quadro K2200 4GB, Windows 8.1 Pro 64 bit

User avatar
Jeremy Schiffer
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 944
Joined: Tue, May 10 2005, 9:36PM
Location: Carnesville, GA
Contact:

Re: Second Computer Installation

Postby Jeremy Schiffer » Mon, Apr 13 2009, 11:42AM

Just to add to my last post...

It doesn't check for updates (and therefore pop up an error message) every time you start the program. Only occasionally, like once a month or less.
http://www.corlanecabinetry.com

Intel Core i7-5820 3.3GHz, 16GB RAM, NVidia Quadro K2200 4GB, Windows 8.1 Pro 64 bit

User avatar
DanEpps
Wizard Member
Posts: 5852
Joined: Thu, Jul 28 2005, 10:18AM
Company Name: Dan Epps
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Rocky Face GA

Re: Second Computer Installation

Postby DanEpps » Mon, Apr 13 2009, 12:46PM

I wasn't sure what would happen if you weren't connected when it checked. I did know that it does not check every startup but I didn't know how often it was.


Return to “eCabinet Systems Software”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 5 guests