Combining Two Cabinets into One

Moderators: Jason Susnjara, Larry Epplin, Clint Buechlein, Scott G Vaal

Adam DAgosto
Junior Member
Posts: 62
Joined: Mon, Mar 16 2009, 8:28PM
Company Name: VCC

Combining Two Cabinets into One

Postby Adam DAgosto » Tue, Apr 14 2009, 5:31PM

Hello.

I created a big cabinet that was too tall (104" high). So now I created two cabinets and stacked them. I would like to blend them into one cabinet as far as editing goes because I can not get my face frames on correctly. I want the side rails to be 104" long and not see the joint line.

Is there a way to do this?

Thx.

User avatar
Damon Nabors
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 923
Joined: Wed, Apr 05 2006, 5:50PM
Location: Marion, Ar.
Contact:

Re: Combining Two Cabinets into One

Postby Damon Nabors » Tue, Apr 14 2009, 5:43PM

just set a bottom offset on the style for the upper cabinet so that they extend down the length of the lower cabinet.
Damon Nabors

Adam DAgosto
Junior Member
Posts: 62
Joined: Mon, Mar 16 2009, 8:28PM
Company Name: VCC

Re: Combining Two Cabinets into One

Postby Adam DAgosto » Tue, Apr 14 2009, 6:05PM

Well, that works.

I like it.

However, I'd still like to know if there is a way to combinet two cabinets into one entity. I think it's done with the Assembly editor, but I have not figured it out yet.

Thanks for the good idea!

User avatar
Kerry Fullington
Wizard Member
Posts: 4566
Joined: Mon, May 09 2005, 7:33PM
Company Name: ProSource of Amarillo
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Amarillo, TX

Re: Combining Two Cabinets into One

Postby Kerry Fullington » Tue, Apr 14 2009, 6:49PM

Adam,

Simply open both cabinets in the cabinet editor, manipulate them however you want and save them as an assembly then place the assembly in your room.

Assemblies behave differently than cabinets though. They won't snap to another cabinet or to a wall. They are always placed on the floor and must be maneuvered into place manually.

At this time there is no way to merge two cabinets into one.

Kerry

Adam DAgosto
Junior Member
Posts: 62
Joined: Mon, Mar 16 2009, 8:28PM
Company Name: VCC

Re: Combining Two Cabinets into One

Postby Adam DAgosto » Tue, Apr 14 2009, 11:32PM

Kerry,

I know this is probably basic and all, but you lost me. Try to avoid words like, "simply" and, "all you have to do..." :shock:

I'm just busting your chops, it's all good; I'll get there!

Back to business, "Simply open both cabinets in the cabinet editor, manipulate them however you want and save them as an assembly then place the assembly in your room."

Okay I tried that. I "simply" opened up both cabinets in the editor and one sat right "in" the other. I could not manipulate to much. And when you say, "manipulate", do you mean fix that and adjust that face frame and adjust that or do you mean I can have one cabinet physically moved in the editor so that it actually sits on top of the other cabinet you have loaded in there? That kind of manipulation?

Anyway, that's what I'm trying to do; stick an 80" cabinet on top of a 20" cabinet. Then I could have them look as one, build may face frames and shelves and start cutting wood.

So, did I follow you right or am I still out in left field?

Thanks Kerry.

Adam

Al dedenus
Guru Member
Posts: 267
Joined: Sun, Apr 29 2007, 8:53PM
Company Name: Creative Kitchens and Interior
Country: NEW ZEALAND
Location: Tauranga New Zealand

Re: Combining Two Cabinets into One

Postby Al dedenus » Wed, Apr 15 2009, 12:02AM

Hi Adam.load one cabinet>press T >hold ctrl and right click>move your mouse to move the 'target'>load your next cabinety>double click one cabinet (will have a green outline)>hold ctrl and right click>move mouse to roughly position your cabinet>double click on the cabinet thats not highlighted (both will now have green outline)>run cursor over corner of one cabinet till a blue node appears and click>do the same on the other cabinet till a red node appears and click>align items in bottom toolbar>choose align to zero and click.now you can save these two cabinets as an assembly. Hope this helps!
You can actually skip moving the target unless the cabinet is hidden in the first one.

Adam DAgosto
Junior Member
Posts: 62
Joined: Mon, Mar 16 2009, 8:28PM
Company Name: VCC

Re: Combining Two Cabinets into One

Postby Adam DAgosto » Wed, Apr 15 2009, 12:52AM

Okay we have a completion going now I see!

Kerry is da Bomb.

Leo is da Man

Al is the Sh%t!!!!! :beer:

Thank you so much! That worked perfectly. I had to admit, as I was reading your instructions I was thinking, "there is no way this is going to work. Everyone ALWAYS leaves out something important and it will screw me up!"

Not so friend. I followed your words to the T and there she was!

Thank you.

By the way, Leo, I still used your method to deal with the face frames, so I could do it without you, so yes, u da man!

You're all the best.

Thank you for progress!! :D

Al dedenus
Guru Member
Posts: 267
Joined: Sun, Apr 29 2007, 8:53PM
Company Name: Creative Kitchens and Interior
Country: NEW ZEALAND
Location: Tauranga New Zealand

Re: Combining Two Cabinets into One

Postby Al dedenus » Wed, Apr 15 2009, 1:14AM

Glad you got it sorted but I think I need a few more thousand posts to be in the same league as Kerry ! :joker:

User avatar
DanEpps
Wizard Member
Posts: 5852
Joined: Thu, Jul 28 2005, 10:18AM
Company Name: Dan Epps
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Rocky Face GA

Re: Combining Two Cabinets into One

Postby DanEpps » Wed, Apr 15 2009, 5:31AM

Adam DAgosto wrote:...Anyway, that's what I'm trying to do; stick an 80" cabinet on top of a 20" cabinet...


Ummm...careful, that tall cabinet on top of the short one will topple over. :joker: (Does that earn ME a title? :mrgreen: )


Return to “eCabinet Systems Software”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest