Selecting Multiple Objects in PE

Moderators: Jason Susnjara, Larry Epplin, Clint Buechlein, Scott G Vaal

Nat Wheatley
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 489
Joined: Wed, Apr 15 2009, 8:22PM
Company Name: Plymouth Custom Closets
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Plympton, MA

Selecting Multiple Objects in PE

Postby Nat Wheatley » Thu, Apr 16 2009, 7:58PM

I have a number of boring patterns that I'm trying to apply cut depths to in PE. What's the easiest way to select a group of holes that will be assigned the same depth value? I'm sure I'm just missing something, my head is aching trying to select muliple 5mm holes one at a time. Thanks.
http://www.plymouthcustomclosets.com

Dell Precision 490/ Intel Xeon 3.20 Ghz/3 GB RAM/ Nvidia Quadro FX 3450/ Windows XP, sp 3

jerry johnson
Junior Member
Posts: 90
Joined: Wed, Dec 26 2007, 7:52PM

Re: Selecting Multiple Objects in PE

Postby jerry johnson » Mon, Apr 20 2009, 9:31AM

Hi, Nat. What kind of patterns are you trying to create? If you are wanting to do a full height line boring thing an easy way to do it is with an adjustable shelf with no holes on one side of the shelf and a bunch of holes on the other. You can set the depth when you add the shelf and you do not have to go to the part editor. I have used this method to create connecting bolt holes too. Is this the kind of thing you are looking for? 8)

User avatar
Kerry Fullington
Wizard Member
Posts: 4566
Joined: Mon, May 09 2005, 7:33PM
Company Name: Double E Cabinets
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Amarillo, TX

Re: Selecting Multiple Objects in PE

Postby Kerry Fullington » Mon, Apr 20 2009, 11:51AM

Nat,
In the part editor click on the select tool (the arrow) then right click and choose Cut Pocket Using Closed Contour then click on all the holes you want to pocket the same depth to select them. (You may have to click on the F9 key to turn off grid snap to be a ble to select them)
Click on the Next button and set your hole depth.

Kerry

User avatar
Kerry Fullington
Wizard Member
Posts: 4566
Joined: Mon, May 09 2005, 7:33PM
Company Name: Double E Cabinets
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Amarillo, TX

Re: Selecting Multiple Objects in PE

Postby Kerry Fullington » Mon, Apr 20 2009, 12:00PM

Sorry Nat,

I just re-read your post and realized it isn't a problem selecting it is that you want to select a group of objects. I don't think you can do that where you want in the part editor. You will have to select holes one at a time.

Kerry

David Egnoski
Senior Member
Posts: 192
Joined: Tue, May 17 2005, 1:05PM
Company Name: Richmond Cabinet
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Delavan, WI

Re: Selecting Multiple Objects in PE

Postby David Egnoski » Mon, Apr 20 2009, 1:31PM

It doesn't look as though you can select a group. But you can set them all to the same depth in one shot. After you right click and select "Cut pocket using closed contour", just select all your pockets one at a time. When they all turn green, click next and set the depth or cut through.
Dave Egnoski
Richmond Cabinet & Millwork

Nat Wheatley
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 489
Joined: Wed, Apr 15 2009, 8:22PM
Company Name: Plymouth Custom Closets
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Plympton, MA

Re: Selecting Multiple Objects in PE

Postby Nat Wheatley » Mon, Apr 20 2009, 4:04PM

Thanks guys. It does look like I'll need to select them one at a time.

The patterns are generally 2 rows of shelf holes, top to bottom. The hitch is that each opening has several adjustable shelves. From what I could tell, the only way to do this, within the program, was to position each shelf at just the right height no that the holes assigned to each shelf lined up to form one continous row of holes.

Instead of doing that I chose to bring in the hole patterns as a DXF, lay them on the parts, choose each hole, then assign a cut depth to the group. These cabinets won't be changed in height or depth, so they won't need intelligence.

I'm not sure it was easier to do it this way, but it did go fairly quickly once I got started.
http://www.plymouthcustomclosets.com

Dell Precision 490/ Intel Xeon 3.20 Ghz/3 GB RAM/ Nvidia Quadro FX 3450/ Windows XP, sp 3

Jon Kenworthy
Junior Member
Posts: 43
Joined: Thu, Mar 27 2008, 6:00PM
Company Name: darrells Carpenter Shop
Location: Marana, AZ

Re: Selecting Multiple Objects in PE

Postby Jon Kenworthy » Mon, Apr 20 2009, 8:27PM

When you're in the shelf/partition editor, you can figure out about how many shelf holes it will take to get them all the way up the cabinet and enter this in for the amount of shelf holes up, place the first shelf, then uncheck the box in the construction settings where it says Apply Shelf holes and add as many more shelves as you want. Then press the Control key on you're keyboard and click on each section between your shelves to highlight them and click on the Equalize box on the left side of the screen and you have one set of shelf holes with the same spacing and the shelves for the cut list.

Nat Wheatley
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 489
Joined: Wed, Apr 15 2009, 8:22PM
Company Name: Plymouth Custom Closets
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Plympton, MA

Re: Selecting Multiple Objects in PE

Postby Nat Wheatley » Mon, Apr 20 2009, 8:43PM

Much easier than what I've been doing. Looking forward to trying that tommorrow.
http://www.plymouthcustomclosets.com

Dell Precision 490/ Intel Xeon 3.20 Ghz/3 GB RAM/ Nvidia Quadro FX 3450/ Windows XP, sp 3

Leo Graywacz
Guru Member
Posts: 590
Joined: Tue, Jan 16 2007, 7:56PM
Company Name: LRG WoodCrafting
Location: Windsor Locks, CT
Contact:

Re: Selecting Multiple Objects in PE

Postby Leo Graywacz » Tue, Apr 21 2009, 12:08PM

Jon Kenworthy wrote:When you're in the shelf/partition editor, you can figure out about how many shelf holes it will take to get them all the way up the cabinet and enter this in for the amount of shelf holes up, place the first shelf, then uncheck the box in the construction settings where it says Apply Shelf holes and add as many more shelves as you want.



You made me learn something today, ouch, my brain hurts now. :beer:
Dell Precision 7710
Intel Core i7-6820HQ @ 2.70GHz 16.00 GB RAM
NVIDIA Quadro M3000M
256 GB PCIe NVMe - M.2 SSD
Win 7 Pro 64-bit

http://lrgwood.com

Jon Kenworthy
Junior Member
Posts: 43
Joined: Thu, Mar 27 2008, 6:00PM
Company Name: darrells Carpenter Shop
Location: Marana, AZ

Re: Selecting Multiple Objects in PE

Postby Jon Kenworthy » Tue, Apr 21 2009, 2:43PM

3 cheers for the E-cabinets school. Dennis showed me how to do that a couple of years ago when I went to the training in Indiana.


Return to “eCabinet Systems Software”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 21 guests