Error Messages

Moderators: Jason Susnjara, Larry Epplin, Clint Buechlein, Scott G Vaal

Roger Kirkpatrick
Senior Member
Posts: 113
Joined: Fri, Jul 08 2005, 2:25PM
Company Name: The WoodCrafting Company
Location: Hesperia, California

Error Messages

Postby Roger Kirkpatrick » Mon, Apr 20 2009, 10:12PM

I am getting -
Could not find file 'c:\program files\thermwood\ecabinet systems\DOORS\conestogaz\facetemp.txt'.
when I tried to run a nest and run a post.
Then it hangs the program and I have to kill the process.
The 1 cabinet job I am working with doesn't even have a door on it.
The WoodCrafter

Kenneth Rychlik
Senior Member
Posts: 161
Joined: Thu, May 04 2006, 11:09AM
Location: Southwest Houston
Contact:

Re: Error Messages

Postby Kenneth Rychlik » Tue, Apr 21 2009, 7:32AM

Roger, I'm not one of the experts, but if you post the file I am pretty sure one of the ecab folks or a guru user will help figure out why. Also knowing which library the cabinets came from will help. The answer is always something simple.

Kenneth

Roger Kirkpatrick
Senior Member
Posts: 113
Joined: Fri, Jul 08 2005, 2:25PM
Company Name: The WoodCrafting Company
Location: Hesperia, California

Re: Error Messages

Postby Roger Kirkpatrick » Tue, Apr 21 2009, 1:18PM

Thanks Kenneth, but this is not a file problem.
It does it with any file I try to nest.
It does it with existing files from jobs I have completed also.

It seems to be a program problem.
The WoodCrafter

User avatar
DanEpps
Wizard Member
Posts: 5852
Joined: Thu, Jul 28 2005, 10:18AM
Company Name: Dan Epps
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Rocky Face GA

Re: Error Messages

Postby DanEpps » Tue, Apr 21 2009, 2:52PM

That is a temporary file that gets created anytime you create a nest and automatically deleted when you exit eCabinets. With eCabinets not running, browse to that folder (in Windows Explorer) and see if the file is there. If it is, delete it and you should be abot to nest.

Roger Kirkpatrick
Senior Member
Posts: 113
Joined: Fri, Jul 08 2005, 2:25PM
Company Name: The WoodCrafting Company
Location: Hesperia, California

Re: Error Messages

Postby Roger Kirkpatrick » Tue, Apr 21 2009, 7:15PM

Thanks Dan.
That is exactly the type of fix I am looking for.
Unfortunately that file has not been left in the director.

Any other ideas?

Since the error says it can't find it I think I'll make a blank one.
The WoodCrafter

User avatar
Larry Epplin
Thermwood Team
Posts: 657
Joined: Tue, May 17 2005, 12:44PM
Location: Thermwood

Re: Error Messages

Postby Larry Epplin » Tue, Apr 21 2009, 7:50PM

I don't think making a blank file will help. You should try to run the update again and select repair. If you are running on Vista make sure you right click the update and select run as administrator.

Roger Kirkpatrick
Senior Member
Posts: 113
Joined: Fri, Jul 08 2005, 2:25PM
Company Name: The WoodCrafting Company
Location: Hesperia, California

Re: Error Messages

Postby Roger Kirkpatrick » Tue, Apr 21 2009, 8:08PM

Thanks Larry.
You are right, the blank file didn't work.

I did download 5.2.5 again and ran it.
I do not get the option to REPAIR.
It has chosen REMOVE automatically and don't get an option to do anything else.

If I do REMOVE, will I lose my librarys and materials?

No Vista Here.
The WoodCrafter

User avatar
Larry Epplin
Thermwood Team
Posts: 657
Joined: Tue, May 17 2005, 12:44PM
Location: Thermwood

Re: Error Messages

Postby Larry Epplin » Tue, Apr 21 2009, 8:17PM

Remove won't cause you to lose anything. It merely removes the update msi. Go ahead and select Remove. Then when the Remove is complete run it again. It should go through the full update process again.

User avatar
Gary Puckett
Wizard Member
Posts: 1324
Joined: Mon, May 19 2008, 1:39PM
Company Name: The Woodworkery
Location: Saint Charles, Missouri
Contact:

Re: Error Messages

Postby Gary Puckett » Tue, Apr 21 2009, 8:18PM

Roger,

Go ahead and chose to uninstall the program. Then reinstall, thats just the way it works for some reason it uninstalls then when you reinstall it again it takes. It should do this automaticly but it doesn't.
You will not lose anything.

Gary
HP Pavilion
Vista home Premium 64bit S. pack 2
AMD Phenom-X4
9850 Quad-Core Processor
6.0GB/Go Memory
1 TB/To Hard Drive
Nividia GeForce 9800 GT

User avatar
Larry Epplin
Thermwood Team
Posts: 657
Joined: Tue, May 17 2005, 12:44PM
Location: Thermwood

Re: Error Messages

Postby Larry Epplin » Tue, Apr 21 2009, 8:24PM

If re-running the update fails to solve your problem then you need to use the disc. When you run the disc you SHOULD get a Repair option. After running through all it's processes you will need to go through the process of running the update (Remove then Run) again.

Now if that also fails to solve your problem, then your next option is to go through a complete uninstall then reinstall. If you go through this process use the backup feature to store your settings first. Then once complete you can do a restore.

Roger Kirkpatrick
Senior Member
Posts: 113
Joined: Fri, Jul 08 2005, 2:25PM
Company Name: The WoodCrafting Company
Location: Hesperia, California

Re: Error Messages

Postby Roger Kirkpatrick » Tue, Apr 21 2009, 9:43PM

Thanks for the help everyone.

The only thing that worked was using the disk (fortunately I had one), repairing then reinstalling.
The WoodCrafter


Return to “eCabinet Systems Software”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 42 guests