Virtual Hard Drive

Moderators: Jason Susnjara, Larry Epplin, Clint Buechlein, Scott G Vaal

Leo Graywacz
Guru Member
Posts: 572
Joined: Tue, Jan 16 2007, 7:56PM
Company Name: LRG WoodCrafting
Location: Windsor Locks, CT
Contact:

Virtual Hard Drive

Postby Leo Graywacz » Wed, Jul 29 2009, 6:22PM

Is there a way to make a virtual hard drive, using ram memory as a temporary HD, and run eCabs within it? Was hoping to try to speed things up. :mrgreen:
Dell Precision 7710
Intel Core i7-6820HQ @ 2.70GHz 16.00 GB RAM
NVIDIA Quadro M3000M
256 GB PCIe NVMe - M.2 SSD
Win 7 Pro 64-bit

http://lrgwood.com

Bryan J Tanner
Guru Member
Posts: 270
Joined: Wed, Mar 18 2009, 4:51AM
Company Name: Decor Designz
Location: Paeroa NZ
Contact:

Re: Virtual Hard Drive

Postby Bryan J Tanner » Wed, Jul 29 2009, 8:30PM

I may be just missing something, but if you've got that much RAM ecabinets wont need to access the virtual memory. That is the speed killer.
HP Pavilion DV6
2.27 gigahertz Intel Core i5 M 430
3064 Megabytes Usable Installed Memory
NVIDIA GeForce GT 230M
Windows 7 Home Premium

jason galbraith
Senior Member
Posts: 249
Joined: Wed, Dec 10 2008, 3:29PM
Company Name: Eastcoast Ultimate
Country: AUSTRALIA
Contact:

Re: Virtual Hard Drive

Postby jason galbraith » Thu, Jul 30 2009, 1:07AM

You could try getting a solid state hard drive, which should be quicker than a normal drive, even a WD raptor, but no, i don't think you'll be able to do what you are after just using your RAM. In vista, you can use your memory stick as a speed boost, but don't know if that will help either
Core i7-2600 @ 3.70Ghz - 8 GB ram - Win 7 Ultimate 64bit - 2 x 24" ASUS monitors - Nvidia 600 Quadro 1GB graphics
www.eastcoastultimate.com.au

User avatar
DanEpps
Wizard Member
Posts: 5852
Joined: Thu, Jul 28 2005, 10:18AM
Company Name: Dan Epps
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Rocky Face GA

Re: Virtual Hard Drive

Postby DanEpps » Thu, Jul 30 2009, 6:35AM

Leo Graywacz wrote:Is there a way to make a virtual hard drive, using ram memory as a temporary HD, and run eCabs within it? Was hoping to try to speed things up. :mrgreen:


Since eCabinets has to be installed to a static path, I wouldn't think this is possible. Do you have virtual memory set to a static size or do you "let Windows decide?"

Bryan J Tanner wrote:I may be just missing something, but if you've got that much RAM ecabinets wont need to access the virtual memory. That is the speed killer.


Accessing virtual memory is not the problem, expanding virtual memory is a problem. This is why you should set virtual memory to 3072MB minimum and 4096MB maximum.

jason galbraith wrote:You could try getting a solid state hard drive, which should be quicker than a normal drive, even a WD raptor, but no, i don't think you'll be able to do what you are after just using your RAM. In vista, you can use your memory stick as a speed boost, but don't know if that will help either


SSDs typically have very low capacities...40-60GB. The WD Raptor is not an SSD, it is a 10,000 RPM internal disk. Using a memory stick to boost Vista performance only works for storing the working set when the system goes into hibernation. Vista can look for the contents of RAM on a memory stick when returning from hibernation.

User avatar
Peter Walsh
Guru Member
Posts: 460
Joined: Thu, May 19 2005, 3:15PM
Location: Palm Springs, Ca
Contact:

Re: Virtual Hard Drive

Postby Peter Walsh » Thu, Jul 30 2009, 11:28AM

Leo,
There have been many recent technical and product changes regarding this subject and SSD's.
Here is a very interesting article to read on the status of things that sets it all out nicely: http://www.computerworld.com/s/article/9135885/Opinion_Windows_7_Will_Scream_With_New_SSD_Drives?taxonomyId=149
Since Windows 7 is the first OS to provide effective management of SSD's (solid state hard drives) it may all be heading where you want to go.
I jumped on the 50% off sale on windows 7 Pro, and when it arrives in the fall, I may add an SSD since they are now up to 160Gig in size and run my Operating system and eCabs there. We'll see how it all goes. Fun, fun, fun. Now, the question is.......how well will eCabs run on windows 7?
regards,

User avatar
Neville Bastian
Guru Member
Posts: 589
Joined: Fri, May 20 2005, 6:48PM
Company Name: Classic Cabinetry
Location: Albany Western Australia
Contact:

Re: Virtual Hard Drive

Postby Neville Bastian » Sat, Oct 17 2009, 5:04AM

Hi Peter,
I am looking at a SSD purchase which are quite cheap now. Did you get around to trying this with Ecabinets?
Regards

Neville
Neville Australia

User avatar
Peter Walsh
Guru Member
Posts: 460
Joined: Thu, May 19 2005, 3:15PM
Location: Palm Springs, Ca
Contact:

Re: Virtual Hard Drive

Postby Peter Walsh » Sat, Oct 17 2009, 3:32PM

Neville,
I haven't yet bought an SSD. I got sidetracked and spent the money elsewhere. I will have to wait.
regards,

User avatar
Neville Bastian
Guru Member
Posts: 589
Joined: Fri, May 20 2005, 6:48PM
Company Name: Classic Cabinetry
Location: Albany Western Australia
Contact:

Re: Virtual Hard Drive

Postby Neville Bastian » Sun, Oct 18 2009, 8:09AM

No worries Peter.
I believe the new version of windows does support the SSD and they are about $180 for a 64 gig. The 128 Gig is also available for about $100 more I think in my neck of the woods.
I believe Ecabinets version 6 will work with Windows 7 so it could be what Ecabinets users need.
If Dean is reading this maybe he knows if the purchase is worth while?

All the best

Neville
Neville Australia

User avatar
Dean Fehribach
Site Admin
Posts: 482
Joined: Mon, May 09 2005, 2:10PM
Company Name: Thermwood Corporation
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Thermwood

Re: Virtual Hard Drive

Postby Dean Fehribach » Mon, Oct 19 2009, 1:31PM

I've been following SSD development for a little while now and have not decided to move any of our equipment (servers or desktops) to SSD's just yet. This is a fairly new technology, while not far removed from the typical USB flash drive, they are quite different beasts. SSD's must keep track of the reads and the writes to every cell to help balance use evenly throughout the drive. Performance of SSD's also varies significantly among vendors and models. What's got me most worried is if an SSD fails, can I extract any data from it like I can with disk drive recovery companies?

Personally, I'm keeping a watch for now. Probably for about another year.
Dean Fehribach
I.S. Mgr., Thermwood
Dell Workstation T1650 / XEON E3 / 8GB RAM / 1GB nVidia Quadro 600 / Windows 8 Pro x64

User avatar
Neville Bastian
Guru Member
Posts: 589
Joined: Fri, May 20 2005, 6:48PM
Company Name: Classic Cabinetry
Location: Albany Western Australia
Contact:

Re: Virtual Hard Drive

Postby Neville Bastian » Mon, Oct 19 2009, 7:12PM

Thanks Dean for your point of view. The failure may be a issue of the SSD so maybe a background hourly backup program may be the requirement so only a few hours of data is lost.
Maybe when you do start testing the SSD's Dean you could share your results the same way you have with the video cards.
I guess Microsoft has invited you to the big party this Thursday?

He he
Regards
Neville
Neville Australia


Return to “eCabinet Systems Software”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests