den wall unit

Moderators: Jason Susnjara, Clint Buechlein

Greg Smith
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 121
Joined: Mon, May 09 2005, 9:38PM
Location: Novar, Ontario, Canada

den wall unit

Postby Greg Smith » Fri, Feb 10 2006, 4:57PM

Here's a few pics of a wall unit I've been working on. Its almost all drawn with eCab. I almost had the curved doors drawn but it wouldn't let me do what I needed to, so I drew them in another program and imported them in. The other parts are all in eCab though (except the corbels and display items). The black is hard to see details, but thats the colour the customer is after.
I did struggle with making alot of the custom parts. Many took 4 or 5 tries to get what I wanted. Even now some aren't perfect but are OK for selling the job.
All in all I'm happy.
Attachments
library 21b.jpg
library 21b.jpg (33.95 KiB) Viewed 3283 times
library 22b.jpg
library 22b.jpg (33.18 KiB) Viewed 3283 times
library 26b.jpg
library 26b.jpg (23.11 KiB) Viewed 3283 times

Greg Smith
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 121
Joined: Mon, May 09 2005, 9:38PM
Location: Novar, Ontario, Canada

Postby Greg Smith » Fri, Feb 10 2006, 4:59PM

another pic
Attachments
library 27b.jpg
library 27b.jpg (26.22 KiB) Viewed 3281 times

User avatar
DanEpps
Wizard Member
Posts: 5852
Joined: Thu, Jul 28 2005, 10:18AM
Company Name: Dan Epps
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Rocky Face GA

Postby DanEpps » Fri, Feb 10 2006, 5:02PM

I like everything but the black, but if that's what the customer want's...

Very nice design.

User avatar
Audrey Racine
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 141
Joined: Tue, May 17 2005, 6:31AM
Location: Canada, Quebec city

Postby Audrey Racine » Fri, Feb 10 2006, 5:47PM

Hi Greg,
I really like your unit it is beautifull.... I'm sure you tokes lot of times to get this.... Keep on the good work!

Audrey

User avatar
Jean G Voyer
Guru Member
Posts: 527
Joined: Tue, May 17 2005, 1:38PM
Company Name: Janot Interiors Ltd
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Contact:

Postby Jean G Voyer » Fri, Feb 10 2006, 11:36PM

Dan,

It must be a Canadian thing.
Everybody wants black for some reason in my neck of the wood.
Jean-Gabriel Voyer
Janot Interiors Ltd
www.customcabinetscalgary.com
Dell Precision PWS490, Intel Xeon CPU,3.00 GB Ram, Window XP Pro, Quadro Fx 3500

User avatar
DanEpps
Wizard Member
Posts: 5852
Joined: Thu, Jul 28 2005, 10:18AM
Company Name: Dan Epps
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Rocky Face GA

Postby DanEpps » Sat, Feb 11 2006, 11:02AM

I know what you mean Jean-Gabriel, everything here absolutely has to be some shade of white. Of course, that is fine with me because I can use MDF instead of wood and get a great finish on it without much work.

That said, I prefer to use wood and give it a good hand-rubbed finish but people just don't want to pay for that much quality :wink:

Greg Smith
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 121
Joined: Mon, May 09 2005, 9:38PM
Location: Novar, Ontario, Canada

Postby Greg Smith » Sun, Feb 12 2006, 12:52AM

The final finish on this will be a black toned, clear satin laquer over maple ( you will still be able to see some grain thru the finish). And then antiqued at the edges (rubbed off). So it will still have the look of wood but in black. The antiqued black is to match a desk already in that room.

Robert J. Brown
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon, Feb 20 2006, 9:34PM
Location: Northport, Mi
Contact:

Nice work.

Postby Robert J. Brown » Mon, Feb 20 2006, 10:10PM

How many man hours do you figure for the cabinet? Nice work.
Robert J. Brown
rjbdesigns.net

Greg Smith
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 121
Joined: Mon, May 09 2005, 9:38PM
Location: Novar, Ontario, Canada

Postby Greg Smith » Thu, Feb 23 2006, 8:03AM

To build it or design it? I would guess I had about 15 hours or so in the eCab work. but alot of that was from having to retry alot of methods to get the curved parts to work, or making custom mouldings and mitreing them. I never had to figure how long for building it, this customer is a long time repeat customer and we just draw it, build it and then give him the bill. I will guess we will have about 2 weeks for 2 guys to build and laquer this piece. And yes we do have the go ahead to build it now. If I remember, I'll post how long it took once we're done.

Robert J. Brown
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon, Feb 20 2006, 9:34PM
Location: Northport, Mi
Contact:

NEW MEMBER

Postby Robert J. Brown » Thu, Feb 23 2006, 4:59PM

Thanks for the info, I am a new member. I build cabinetry and I am a designer and I work with Chief Architect software. It is an excellent program, however, I have been exploring new cabinetry software to dial in certain aspects of my plans. I haven't received my e-cabinet software yet but I am anxious to see how much control it has over layout and design as compared to Chief. If it is more detailed than what I am using, I would like to import the cabinets into Chief and use them in my plans. I can see why they offer it for free now. They expect you to buy tooling and equipment through them. Thats fine. How is it working out for you?

If you would like to check out Chief Architect go to http://www.chiefarchitect.com

Regards, Rob
Robert J. Brown

rjbdesigns.net

Greg Smith
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 121
Joined: Mon, May 09 2005, 9:38PM
Location: Novar, Ontario, Canada

Postby Greg Smith » Thu, Feb 23 2006, 7:45PM

eCab works great for me. There are areas that don't do what I want. But they are always adding and making it better. Alot of the time there is a work around to get what is needed in the drawing. And I feel the final product is great. Customers love it. And I still haven't set up to get the most out of the program.
I don't think there is anyway you would be able to import these cabinets into your program. Its just not the way things are set up.

Robert J. Brown
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon, Feb 20 2006, 9:34PM
Location: Northport, Mi
Contact:

Sample Cabinet

Postby Robert J. Brown » Fri, Feb 24 2006, 11:58PM

Here is a sample of what chief can do. I have a rendering and a \"raytrace\" which adds radiosity, shadows and reflections. I made this in about 30 minutes. If I did elevation drawings and dimensioned it is would take a little longer.

Rob
Attachments
test cabinet.jpg
test cabinet.jpg (44.8 KiB) Viewed 2999 times
testcabinetrt.jpg
testcabinetrt.jpg (57.57 KiB) Viewed 2999 times
Robert J. Brown

rjbdesigns.net

Robert J. Brown
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon, Feb 20 2006, 9:34PM
Location: Northport, Mi
Contact:

photo quaility

Postby Robert J. Brown » Sat, Feb 25 2006, 12:06AM

The quality of the graphics did not transfer very well, especially with the raytrace. In the oringinal there are no jagged lines. Sorry it is not what it should be. The original is photo-realistic quality.
Robert J. Brown

rjbdesigns.net

User avatar
Kerry Fullington
Wizard Member
Posts: 4566
Joined: Mon, May 09 2005, 7:33PM
Company Name: ProSource of Amarillo
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Amarillo, TX

Postby Kerry Fullington » Sat, Feb 25 2006, 8:19AM

Robert,
I use HD Pro (low end Chief product) for drawing floor plans and I used to use it for quick cabinet design layouts for the customer. It was fast and easy to get the basic design but then I had to draw the whole thing in eCabinets to get cutlists, bill of materials, the ability to create custom moldings and a truly great render for the final presentation, so I now just start everything in eCabinets.
I still use HD Pro for full house floor plans then I draw all the cabinets in eCabinets. I will eventually upgrade to Chief for the floor plans (if enough work keeps coming in). I want to be able to use ray-tracing for exterior renders.
Have you seen what some are doing with Chief designs when they export them to Artlantis to get what truly is a Photo realistic view? When that is done you do get close to the quality of an eCabs render. You still won't get a cutlist though

Here are some links to job presentation drawings done in eCabinets

Kitchen 1

Kitchen 2

Kitchen and Baths

General stuff for slow internet connection

General Stuff for High speed connection

David Norton
Guru Member
Posts: 710
Joined: Thu, May 19 2005, 11:01AM
Company Name: Custom Trim and Millwork
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Lawrenceburg,Tennessee

Postby David Norton » Sat, Feb 25 2006, 10:59AM

Robert,

I doubt that Ecabs will import to CA. I am familiar with Chief Architect in version 9.5 and before. Unless CA 10 has the abiltility to import .hsf files you might be stuck.
Dave Norton


Return to “Customer Images”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests