Screen Freezes

Off-topic discussion that doesn't pertain to the other forums.

Moderator: Jason Susnjara

User avatar
Georgi Baltov
Guru Member
Posts: 341
Joined: Sat, Mar 10 2007, 7:31PM
Company Name: Top Notch Cabinets
Country: CANADA
Location: Oakville, Ontario
Contact:

Screen Freezes

Postby Georgi Baltov » Wed, Feb 08 2012, 9:49AM

I've been experiencing some screen freezing mainly in eCabinets but also in Solidworks. When I have a cabinet opened and say at some point I want to rotate it the screen is unresponsive. I have to minimize eCabinets screen or go to construction settings and then cancel. I don't even need to rebuild to get out of it. I know that the problem is not in eCabinets. I've been updating my video card drivers regularly. I check the nVidia web site once a week. I've tried googleing the problem but I just can't formulate a good search phrase.

Has any of you guys encountered this problem. Do you have a solution that you can point to?

Thanks

Rick Palechuk
Wizard Member
Posts: 1896
Joined: Wed, May 18 2005, 7:54PM
Company Name: Milltech Millworks Ltd.
Country: CANADA
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Contact:

Re: Screen Freezes

Postby Rick Palechuk » Wed, Feb 08 2012, 10:44AM

Maybe try this: Open the Nvidia control panel> manage 3d settings> restore, and then apply. See if that helps.

User avatar
Georgi Baltov
Guru Member
Posts: 341
Joined: Sat, Mar 10 2007, 7:31PM
Company Name: Top Notch Cabinets
Country: CANADA
Location: Oakville, Ontario
Contact:

Re: Screen Freezes

Postby Georgi Baltov » Wed, Feb 08 2012, 12:29PM

Doesn't work Rick. I never actually changed anything in the nVidia control panel. It's strange.

FredHirsch
Senior Member
Posts: 167
Joined: Tue, Oct 03 2006, 6:51PM
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Contact:

Re: Screen Freezes

Postby FredHirsch » Mon, Mar 26 2012, 6:08PM

Georgi,
Did you ever find a solution to this?
Having the same problems. GeForce 9500.

I can fix by changing the windows theme to one of the ones with the transparency stuff. I was running classic that had all the title bars solid, but if I change to those transparent title bars in all the apps it works fine. Go figure....

Thx
fred
Fred Hirsch

User avatar
Kerry Fullington
Wizard Member
Posts: 4566
Joined: Mon, May 09 2005, 7:33PM
Company Name: ProSource of Amarillo
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Amarillo, TX

Re: Screen Freezes

Postby Kerry Fullington » Mon, Mar 26 2012, 6:59PM

Georgi,

Make sure you have installed the latest drivers from the manufacturer for your graphics card.

FredHirsch
Senior Member
Posts: 167
Joined: Tue, Oct 03 2006, 6:51PM
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Contact:

Re: Screen Freezes

Postby FredHirsch » Tue, Mar 27 2012, 9:33AM

Keri,
I tried the new drivers. Even went through the setting in Nvidia panel one by one with no luck. I don't think it is the 3D... I think for some reason it is not "seeing" that it needs a screen refresh. Kindof weird, all other video cards in shop work fine.
Thx
Fred
Fred Hirsch

FredHirsch
Senior Member
Posts: 167
Joined: Tue, Oct 03 2006, 6:51PM
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Contact:

Re: Screen Freezes

Postby FredHirsch » Wed, Mar 28 2012, 12:38AM

Kerry,
Sorry totally misspelled your name. I did not intend to do that... my brain is in chaos mode right now. I apologize.
Fred
Fred Hirsch

User avatar
Georgi Baltov
Guru Member
Posts: 341
Joined: Sat, Mar 10 2007, 7:31PM
Company Name: Top Notch Cabinets
Country: CANADA
Location: Oakville, Ontario
Contact:

Re: Screen Freezes

Postby Georgi Baltov » Tue, Nov 20 2012, 2:21PM

I still have the problem. I am really punctual on the latest upgrades 'cause every time I hope it'll fix my problem. Still no luck. Had no issue under XP. It started happening in W7. Although there's one thing I need to check and that is if it happens on both screens. I have dual 24" and I always run eCabinets on the second screen. Will let you know.

Thanks


Return to “Lounge”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests