Bar Rail

Moderators: Jason Susnjara, Clint Buechlein

User avatar
Brian Shannon
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 979
Joined: Thu, May 19 2005, 10:50PM
Location: Los Alamos, CA

Bar Rail

Postby Brian Shannon » Sun, Feb 11 2007, 8:55PM

In order to machine the bar rail, I had to do the Top, then the Bottom separately. Otherwise, the bottom gave me errors in Profile Modeler. I also had to offset the bottom cutter by 2 1/2\". Let me know if there are any questions.


Brian

User avatar
Brian Shannon
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 979
Joined: Thu, May 19 2005, 10:50PM
Location: Los Alamos, CA

Postby Brian Shannon » Sun, Feb 11 2007, 9:05PM

More files

Zach Froble
Senior Member
Posts: 171
Joined: Tue, Jun 21 2005, 3:23PM
Location: Connellsville, PA

Re: Bar Rail

Postby Zach Froble » Mon, Jan 19 2009, 5:52PM

Brian,

Do you still have the bar rail .tol files. I have a design I have to complete and need to model some radiused bar rail. The files from your original post are not there.

Thanks,
Zach
Lyndan Designs
Machining and CAD Services

User avatar
Brian Shannon
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 979
Joined: Thu, May 19 2005, 10:50PM
Location: Los Alamos, CA

Re: Bar Rail

Postby Brian Shannon » Thu, Jan 22 2009, 12:44AM

Hey Zach,

Did the files I emailed to you work?


Brian

Zach Froble
Senior Member
Posts: 171
Joined: Tue, Jun 21 2005, 3:23PM
Location: Connellsville, PA

Re: Bar Rail

Postby Zach Froble » Thu, Jan 22 2009, 9:23AM

Brian,

The files you send did work. Thank you again.

I am still trying to figure out what problem I was having creating the tool from my dxf. The one I drew resembled yours, but for some reason I kept getting an error when I tried to create the tool.

Zach
Lyndan Designs

Machining and CAD Services

User avatar
Kerry Fullington
Wizard Member
Posts: 4566
Joined: Mon, May 09 2005, 7:33PM
Company Name: ProSource of Amarillo
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Amarillo, TX

Re: Bar Rail

Postby Kerry Fullington » Thu, Jan 22 2009, 9:41AM

Zach,

If your .dxf had any splines it won't work. Replace the splines with arcs.

Kerry

User avatar
Brian Shannon
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 979
Joined: Thu, May 19 2005, 10:50PM
Location: Los Alamos, CA

Re: Bar Rail

Postby Brian Shannon » Thu, Jan 22 2009, 10:25AM

Kerry is correct. I created my tool using splines and had to trace over the splines with arcs and lines to get it to work.

Zach Froble
Senior Member
Posts: 171
Joined: Tue, Jun 21 2005, 3:23PM
Location: Connellsville, PA

Re: Bar Rail

Postby Zach Froble » Fri, Jan 23 2009, 5:20PM

Kerry and Brian,

I checked the dxf file and it seems to be all arches and straight lines. I posted the dxf in the ecabinets forum if you want to take a look at it.

Zach
Lyndan Designs

Machining and CAD Services


Return to “Customer Tools”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests