Trouble with Tool

Moderators: Jason Susnjara, Clint Buechlein

User avatar
Gary Puckett
Wizard Member
Posts: 1324
Joined: Mon, May 19 2008, 1:39PM
Company Name: The Woodworkery
Location: Saint Charles, Missouri
Contact:

Trouble with Tool

Postby Gary Puckett » Sat, Jan 31 2009, 12:09AM

I am having trouble turning a cube into a column.

I made a tool , but I can't get it to put the profile on the cube. Can someone tell me what I'm doing wrong.

Gary
Attachments
Column Tool.tol
(11.14 KiB) Downloaded 424 times
HP Pavilion
Vista home Premium 64bit S. pack 2
AMD Phenom-X4
9850 Quad-Core Processor
6.0GB/Go Memory
1 TB/To Hard Drive
Nividia GeForce 9800 GT

Rick Palechuk
Wizard Member
Posts: 1896
Joined: Wed, May 18 2005, 7:54PM
Company Name: Milltech Millworks Ltd.
Country: CANADA
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Contact:

Re: Trouble with Tool

Postby Rick Palechuk » Sat, Jan 31 2009, 1:35AM

Gary, your tool needs to be created vertically.

User avatar
Gary Puckett
Wizard Member
Posts: 1324
Joined: Mon, May 19 2008, 1:39PM
Company Name: The Woodworkery
Location: Saint Charles, Missouri
Contact:

Re: Trouble with Tool

Postby Gary Puckett » Sat, Jan 31 2009, 9:18AM

Rick,

Thanks but I just realized I drew the tool wrong, this is my first attempt at making a tool of this nature. This is what I am trying to get the tool to do.

Gary
Attachments
507-U42[2].jpg
507-U42[2].jpg (7.03 KiB) Viewed 5818 times
HP Pavilion
Vista home Premium 64bit S. pack 2
AMD Phenom-X4
9850 Quad-Core Processor
6.0GB/Go Memory
1 TB/To Hard Drive
Nividia GeForce 9800 GT

Rick Palechuk
Wizard Member
Posts: 1896
Joined: Wed, May 18 2005, 7:54PM
Company Name: Milltech Millworks Ltd.
Country: CANADA
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Contact:

Re: Trouble with Tool

Postby Rick Palechuk » Sat, Jan 31 2009, 9:38AM

The easiest way to draw that is with your cad program Gary. Then save it as a DXF. You can then import it to the Shape Manager.

User avatar
DanEpps
Wizard Member
Posts: 5852
Joined: Thu, Jul 28 2005, 10:18AM
Company Name: Dan Epps
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Rocky Face GA

Re: Trouble with Tool

Postby DanEpps » Sat, Jan 31 2009, 10:32AM

Just follow the step-by-step instructions I posted when you asked the same question about a week ago!

Here.

User avatar
Gary Puckett
Wizard Member
Posts: 1324
Joined: Mon, May 19 2008, 1:39PM
Company Name: The Woodworkery
Location: Saint Charles, Missouri
Contact:

Re: Trouble with Tool

Postby Gary Puckett » Sat, Jan 31 2009, 10:38AM

Dan,

I did but when I plunged the tool into the cube it did nothing. Rick said I had to draw the tool vertical. I take it you are referring to the instructions on the rosette tool.

Gary
HP Pavilion
Vista home Premium 64bit S. pack 2
AMD Phenom-X4
9850 Quad-Core Processor
6.0GB/Go Memory
1 TB/To Hard Drive
Nividia GeForce 9800 GT

User avatar
DanEpps
Wizard Member
Posts: 5852
Joined: Thu, Jul 28 2005, 10:18AM
Company Name: Dan Epps
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Rocky Face GA

Re: Trouble with Tool

Postby DanEpps » Sat, Jan 31 2009, 11:02AM

No, I even provided a link (above, named "Here") to the post...you asked exactly the same question a week ago except you wanted someone to give you a ready-made post.

Just make sure your tool has the profile on the LEFT side of the tool as shown in the instructions.

I make tools so they don't need a plunge set. In this case the top right of the tool would be at 0,0 and the bottom left would be at (if the tool were say, 36 x 1) -1,-36. Do not enter a diameter when you create the tool.

Making the tool in this manner allows you to profile an edge without having to dink around with offsets and plunge values.


Return to “Customer Tools”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest